Opinion 2023 AFL Draft Prospects

Who do you want for our first pick at the AFL Draft?

McKercher really spreads well too.
I weirdly think he could be better than Harley Reid.
It could well play out that way. With Reid no doubt he will be a solid to star player, but do have the concern that he is an early developer that doesn't have much more growth in his game due to being at his physical peak already.
Would really like to see McKercher at the Dogs just can't see it happening.

My updated top 50 after the champs. It's likely I adjust it once more before the end of the year.
1. Harley Reid 185cm 85kg Utility
2. Nick Watson 170cm 66kg Fwd/Mid
3. Colby McKercher 181cm 76kg Mid
4. Jed Walters 195cm 91kg Fwd
5. Zane Duursma 189cm 79kg Mid
6. Connor O'Sullivan 198cm 92kg Def
7. Ryley Sanders 186cm 85kg Mid
8. Daniel Curtin 195cm 93kg Def
9. Darcy Wilson 185cm 73kg Mid
10. Ethan Read 202cm 87kg Ruck/Fwd
11. Jake Rogers 171cm 68kg Mid
12. James Leake 188cm 74kg Def
13. Nate Caddy 192cm 91kg Fwd
14. Caleb Windsor 184cm 74kg Mid
15. Charlie Edwards 190cm 82kg Mid
16. Jordan Croft 200cm 80kg Fwd
17. Ollie Murphy 200cm 85kg Def
18. Will McCabe 197cm 81kg Def
19. Riley Hardeman 188cm 80kg Def
20. Harry De Mattia 184cm 77kg Mid
21. Kynan Brown 181cm 72kg Mid
22. Caiden Cleary 180cm 81kg Mid
23. Mitchell Edwards 207cm 85kg Ruck
24. Will Patton 193cm 75kg Def
25. Luamon Lual 181cm 71kg Def
26. Lance Collard 179cm 65kg Fwd
27. Jack Callinan 179cm 77kg Fwd
28. Koen Sanchez 176cm 65kg Fwd
29. Billy Wilson 182cm 71kg Def/Mid
30. Archer Reid 203cm 93kg Ruck/Fwd
31. Jack Delean 181cm 75kg Fwd
32. Koltyn Tholstrup 188cm 80kg Fwd/Mid
33. Hugo Garcia 184cm 74kg Fwd/Mid
34. Joel Friejah 191cm 86kg Utility
35. Tew Jiath 187cm 71kg Def
36. George Stevens 189cm 84kg Mid
37. Kade De La Rue 184cm 77kg Mid/Fwd
38. Angus Hastie 189cm 77kg Def
39. Clay Hall 189cm 80kg Mid.
40. Will Green 204cm 89kg Ruck
41. Archie Roberts 184cm 77kg Def
42. Kane Mcaulliffe 187cm 90kg Mid
43. Harvey Johnston 184cm 76kg Mid/Fwd
44. Nathan Philactides 181cm 78kg Def
45. Cooper Simpson 182cm 76kg Mid
46. Kristian Ferronato 184cm 89kg Mid
47. Zane Zakostelsky 194cm 91kg Util
48. Arie Shoenmaker 194cm 89kg Def
49. Logan Morris 191cm 90kg Fwd
50. Brayden LaPlanche 189cm 90kg Util

My updated top 50 after the champs. It's likely I adjust it once more before the end of the year.
29. Jack Callinan 179cm 77kg Fwd
30. Billy Wilson 182cm 71kg Def/Mid
31. Archer Reid 203cm 93kg Ruck/Fwd
32. Jack Delean 181cm 75kg Fwd
33. Koltyn Tholstrup 188cm 80kg Fwd/Mid
34. Hugo Garcia 184cm 74kg Fwd/Mid
35. Joel Friejah 191cm 86kg Utility
36. Tew Jiath 187cm 71kg Def
37. George Stevens 189cm 84kg Mid
38. Kade De La Rue 184cm 77kg Mid/Fwd
39. Angus Hastie 189cm 77kg Def
40. Clay Hall 189cm 80kg Mid.
41. Will Green 204cm 89kg Ruck
42. Archie Roberts 184cm 77kg Def
43. Kane Mcaulliffe 187cm 90kg Mid
44. Harvey Johnston 184cm 76kg Mid/Fwd
45. Nathan Philactides 181cm 78kg Def
46. Cooper Simpson 182cm 76kg Mid
47. Kristian Ferronato 184cm 89kg Mid
48. Zane Zakostelsky 194cm 91kg Util
49. Arie Shoenmaker 194cm 89kg Def
50. Logan Morris 191cm 90kg Fwd

Jack Callinan is listed at 27 & 29

29. Billy Wilson 182cm 71kg Def/Mid
30. Archer Reid 203cm 93kg Ruck/Fwd
31. Jack Delean 181cm 75kg Fwd
32. Koltyn Tholstrup 188cm 80kg Fwd/Mid
33. Hugo Garcia 184cm 74kg Fwd/Mid
34. Joel Friejah 191cm 86kg Utility
35. Tew Jiath 187cm 71kg Def
36. George Stevens 189cm 84kg Mid
37. Kade De La Rue 184cm 77kg Mid/Fwd
38. Angus Hastie 189cm 77kg Def
39. Clay Hall 189cm 80kg Mid.
40. Will Green 204cm 89kg Ruck
41. Archie Roberts 184cm 77kg Def
42. Kane Mcaulliffe 187cm 90kg Mid
43. Harvey Johnston 184cm 76kg Mid/Fwd
44. Nathan Philactides 181cm 78kg Def
45. Cooper Simpson 182cm 76kg Mid
46. Kristian Ferronato 184cm 89kg Mid
47. Zane Zakostelsky 194cm 91kg Util
48. Arie Shoenmaker 194cm 89kg Def
49. Logan Morris 191cm 90kg Fwd
50. Brayden LaPlanche 189cm 90kg Util
Can I ask about your draft positions for the below 4, what have you heard about these players that are such a change in their power rankings? Form or BPA for the club picking?
2. Nick Watson A lot Higher than power rankings (7-9 range)
17. Ollie Murphy Lower A lot lower than power rankings (7-11 range)
32. Koltyn Tholstrup A lot lower than power rankings (22 - 25 range)
25. Luamon Lual A lot Higher than power rankings (35-42 range)

Can I ask about your draft positions for the below 4, what have you heard about these players that are such a change in their power rankings? Form or BPA for the club picking?
2. Nick Watson A lot Higher than power rankings (7-9 range)
17. Ollie Murphy Lower A lot lower than power rankings (7-11 range)
32. Koltyn Tholstrup A lot lower than power rankings (22 - 25 range)
25. Luamon Lual A lot Higher than power rankings (35-42 range)
These are just my personal opinions.
I'm very big on Watson although he is small he is the perfect modern day half forward. He can kick a mercurial goal, has plenty of x-factor, he is the guy you want kicking into you if you're a key forward and has speed.

Murphy like Croft has just been a victim of others rising.

Tholstrup has alot to like but also has big deficiencies, I'm just not sure where he fits in at the top level.

Lual is someone I've been big on all year Wether it's a more negating role or rebounding he has weapons in defence, but can also play on a wing and be damaging with his intercepting when dropping behind play or using his burst to surge the ball forward.

Other then Watson the one I'm biggest on this year and will claim as mine if we draft him is Leake. He has shown he can be a threat up forward, has preformed well in the middle with clean clearances and in what I think is his prefered position intercept mark and compete in defence.

These are just my personal opinions.
I'm very big on Watson although he is small he is the perfect modern day half forward. He can kick a mercurial goal, has plenty of x-factor, he is the guy you want kicking into you if you're a key forward and has speed.

Murphy like Croft has just been a victim of others rising.

Tholstrup has alot to like but also has big deficiencies, I'm just not sure where he fits in at the top level.

Lual is someone I've been big on all year Wether it's a more negating role or rebounding he has weapons in defence, but can also play on a wing and be damaging with his intercepting when dropping behind play or using his burst to surge the ball forward.

Other then Watson the one I'm biggest on this year and will claim as mine if we draft him is Leake. He has shown he can be a threat up forward, has preformed well in the middle with clean clearances and in what I think is his prefered position intercept mark and compete in defence.
Cheers mate, I'm not in Vic so i have to go off power rankings, highlight videos and big footy doggy supporters reviews.
Love seeing the Tassie boys rippin it up, 4 in the top 25 is a great year.
I'd be stoked with a haul of Wilson, Murphy and Croft for later picks.
Fingers crossed Scouts leave Lual alone for our NGA pick, great write ups on him.

Leake has 'late season bolter' all over him.
I think Windsor might surprise too - really good late season form.

I suspect we miss out on Lual but pick up de la Rue as our 'outside mid pick of the night', and probably bid on Collard if we miss out on Watson.

Leake has 'late season bolter' all over him.
I think Windsor might surprise too - really good late season form.

I suspect we miss out on Lual but pick up de la Rue as our 'outside mid pick of the night', and probably bid on Collard if we miss out on Watson.
Collard is NGA so if we pick him we get him. No way he makes it to 40.

trade a future pick in and grab someone in the 30s
Exactly right. Provided we don't get rid of our future first, or have multiple second rounders we will be able to jump back in to grab Lual if he isnt going to make it to 40 or for someone like De La Rue or Collard.

That's the thing... sounds like we will trade our first rounder so we need a second from somewhere

Holy Crap, i stand corrected, I would not have thought the hawks would offer pick 3 for Smithy.
If the dogs are going to pay 1 million for a star midfilder hook me up to Clayton Oliver. Can you imagine a midfield of The Bont, Libba and Oliver.
Pick 3 to the dee's and pick swaps to get the deal done.

I also can't believe the dee's are considering getting rid if Olivier to try to get Reid, there is no guarantee Reid will be good as Oliver and you are wasting the primes of Petracca and Gawn while you wait for Reid to get up to speed.

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Draft Picks before Trade Period: 10, 17, 37, 64, 67, 70

Rivals believe the Western Bulldogs are in the box seat to land Gold Coast’s prized top four pick, with pick 10, 17 and their future first round selection on the table. It makes sense for the Bulldogs given a bid for father-son key forward Jordan Croft, the son of Matthew, could come between their two first-round picks. Holding pick four could help them land a dynamic midfielder like Zane Duursma or Colby McKercher. Alternatively, livewire forward Nick Watson would spice up their forward line and form a mouthwatering combination with Cody Weightman and talls Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and Aaron Naughton. The Bulldogs’ list isn’t seriously lacking in one area but the club ranked last in the competition for defensive one-on-one wins and 14th for defensive half intercepts. It comes with a touch of irony that their Next Generation Academy talent Luamon Lual, who appears likely to attract a bid inside the top 40, would help address this need as a great one-on-one defender who is poised with ball-in-hand. But the Bulldogs have hit the jackpot in recent years with NGA top-pick Ugle-Hagan and father-son Sam Darcy.

He's an exciting player when on song, but I also find him a bit frustrating at the same time. Some of his kicking both field and goal kicking I'm not a fan of. His goal kicking in particular needs a bit of work. I was a little disappointed by his championship games and his games in the AFL academy. Don't think he has a lot of upside either.

Don't get me wrong I think he will be a good player, but I don't see star player which is why I have him a bit lower. I get I am in the minority though.
He is taller than curnow and his reach is that of someone 200cm. He needs to build his tank (upside) can also play midfield.
Has good speed agility and can jump.
Has had a few injuries also this year.
So again plenty of upside.

Opinion 2023 AFL Draft Prospects