Analysis 2023 All Australian Team Awards Night

Jeez, few headscratchers this year... More so than usual me thinks.

Not sure De Goey, Newcombe, Allen, Jackson or Quaynor have any real place in this squad looking at who missed out.

Shocked by Taranto's omission.

If you're going to give Jackson a nod, Gawn is stiff. Newman I feel is pretty stiff too, especially with Quaynor getting a look in. Sam Taylor hasn't played enough games, but I thought for sure they'd pick him.
Agree with most of these, Quaynor however was near unbeatable down back this year.

The fact Cripps, Dusty, De Goey, Newcombe made the side over the likes of Taylor (the best defender in the game, Taranto (may go close to the brownlow), Rankine (arguably the best small forward this year) proves that the VFL is very much alive and that some players are just chosen because of their name.

The usual feel good picks.
Tom Stewart. Why? He’s been crap all season.
Luke Ryan? Alrighty then. He actually had a down year.

But best of all.. Patrick Cripps. Just have to laugh really. Not even top 3 midfielder for Carlton. Adam Cerra have had a great year, no selection.

It is what it is

Oscar Allen and Patrick Cripps the two surprises for me

There’s more to footy than if someone has 0.1 contested marks more than someone else per game. As much as people love stats, it’s not everything, especially when it’s so tight.
Out of interest how many goals have each player had kicked on them? Then can we include goals from marks, contested and uncontested, marks where a 3rd party tried to spoil but failed when they shouldn’t have, free kicks, those that were they and weren’t, shots at goal from all angles, goals where that player may have been on the bench and was not their opponent. You get the drift.
I've actually got a mate from Champion Data who I've tried to get to tell me the reverse coleman statistics and for some reason its under lock and key, only the top dogs there have access to it for some reason. Can only assume that means Darcy 'AFL Love Child' Moore is leading the way in the RC so they don't want it released to the public.

While I don't disagree that its more complicated than the shithouse stats we get given by the AFL, I still think they are the best measures we have other than the eye test. With both players clearly guns in their respective roles it comes back to stats to decide it, or at least it does for me.

Not really. We saw how meh Carlton were last round without Cripps. Big reason they are 5th.
he had a pretty average start of the season too (against essendon it looked like he was carrying an injury).

i don't disagree with the selection it just doesn't make sense when there's others who played better than him that didn't get picked (ie: taranto)

Not really. We saw how meh Carlton were last round without Cripps. Big reason they are 5th.
They were pretty **** meh with him in the team for a large part of the year.

One of the worst selections in recent memory him getting in over Taranto

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

Neither does ranking 565th in the league for kicking efficiency (bottom 10 in the AFL of eligible players)
Just so people don't think I'm making that Taranto stat up:

Screenshot_20230828_174045_Chrome.jpg

Oscar Allen kicked 50.plus in one of the worst and dysfunctional teams I have ever seen. Full deserves at least being named to the squad

Probably only Lachie and Charlie makes it for us...Andrew's 5050 at best, Daniher no chance.

They may pick Daniher as the pseudo 2nd ruck/fwd

Not sure De Goey, Newcombe, Allen, Jackson or Quaynor have any real place in this squad looking at who missed out.

If you're going to give Jackson a nod, Gawn is stiff. Newman I feel is pretty stiff too, especially with Quaynor getting a look in. Sam Taylor hasn't played enough games, but I thought for sure they'd pick him.
Newcombe 100% deserved. Hawthorn underrated midfield actually dominated clearances all season long. Newcombe was cream above.

Allen deserves a mention. Kicked goals by himself in the worst team in decades. Curnow would struggle to kick goals Oscar did

Cripps getting selected is the hilarious one. Taranto easily better all year. But hey, what do we know

he had a pretty average start of the season too (against essendon it looked like he was carrying an injury).

i don't disagree with the selection it just doesn't make sense when there's others who played better than him that didn't get picked (ie: taranto)

Taranto had as many poor games as Cripps and they came 12th.

nah oscar allen deserves to be in the 44. he had a pretty good year given his side was shit.

not as good as nick larky mind you, but he still played well when i saw him.

ends a pretty grim season on a slightly higher note

They were pretty * meh with him in the team for a large part of the year.

One of the worst selections in recent memory him getting in over Taranto

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

Everyone is blinded by Taranto’s purple patch of 6 games or so. He’s nowhere near as good outside of that.

Newman should have been in over Cripps and Taranto
Not really comparable. I'll break it down later but they've generally go x amount of defenders, y amount of midfielders, z amount of forwards and s amount of rucks. Newman was competing with the likes of Quaynor, Redman etc whilst Cripps and Taranto were competing against each other.

Funny how you don’t name Cripps in your list of guys lucky to be in the squad.

Reckon Quaynor and De Goey are both more deserving of a spot than Cripps.

The usual feel good picks.
Tom Stewart. Why? He’s been crap all season.
Luke Ryan? Alrighty then. He actually had a down year.

But best of all.. Patrick Cripps. Just have to laugh really. Not even top 3 midfielder for Carlton. Adam Cerra have had a great year, no selection.

It is what it is
i disagree

Everyone is blinded by Taranto’s purple patch of 6 games or so. He’s nowhere near as good outside of that.
6 games? Rounds 1-18, I don't there would be too many midfielders in the competition that was more consistent I bet you he will be in the Brownlow count 16 rounds in..
he dropped off a bit to not be in the 22 but not miss the squad 40..

Analysis 2023 All Australian Team Awards Night