Oppo Camp 2023 Death Ride: Poorta dlelie Footbal Club Power (Est. 1997) - Port out in straight sets, NMFC get pick #14

Where will the 1997 boys finish next year?

• 15th - 18th

Votes: 68 19.9%
  • 9th - 14th

Votes: 158 46.3%
  • 5th - 8th

Votes: 67 19.6%
  • 1st - 4th

Votes: 48 14.1%

Just an interesting thought, but as it stands what would you trade back to port this year to get JHF back?

In my view clearly daicos shouldve been pick 1, but we made the correct choice at the time backing JHF in.

I'm curious what JHFs value is now - and it'll fluctuate throughout the year, last week probably more then what we got, this week alot less.

Ports first and our first is probably par? (so like pick 4 and 10 for instance) - but i wouldn't trade our picks for him.

I would trade those 2 for daicos though, and probably needs another player as well he is that good
I honestly wouldn't bother.

He doesn't chase. At all.

Its not even cos he was depressed and homesick with us.

Its cos he's a lazy campaigner.

Wherever he plays.

Just an interesting thought, but as it stands what would you trade back to port this year to get JHF back?

In my view clearly daicos shouldve been pick 1, but we made the correct choice at the time backing JHF in.

I'm curious what JHFs value is now - and it'll fluctuate throughout the year, last week probably more then what we got, this week alot less.

Ports first and our first is probably par? (so like pick 4 and 10 for instance) - but i wouldn't trade our picks for him.

I would trade those 2 for daicos though, and probably needs another player as well he is that good
You wouldn’t want this flog anywhere near your footy club.

Look at the issues he caused amongst the playing group last year.

He’s Port’s problem now. We can enjoy what Sheezel and Wardlaw deliver, without having to worry what dummy spit Mummy’s boy is going to have next, when it doesn’t go his way.

If Clarko saw no benefit in keeping the dickhead around, you know he must be an A Grade knob.

You wouldn’t want this flog anywhere near your footy club.

Look at the issues he caused amongst the playing group last year.

He’s Port’s problem now. We can enjoy what Sheezel and Wardlaw deliver, without having to worry what dummy spit Mummy’s boy is going to have next, when it doesn’t go his way.

If Clarko saw no benefit in keeping the dickhead around, you know he must be an A Grade knob.
It's an interesting thing to consider- ultimately the decision was ours to cut our losses so clearly Todd, Al and Brady didn't see a way for JHF to turn it around in the second half of his contract.

When they take a moment to catch their breath from whining, Port Power est 1997, and their media cheer leaders, probably need to reflect on their part in this.

If they conduct themselves with a little grace and professionalism, this situation could have been avoided.

They didn't, and here we are.

Ah well.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
I still can’t get over the ‘safe environment’ and ‘bad club’ messages he, the assistant coaches and recruiting managers of Port spilled to the media after the recruiting. One player out of a the whole list saying that and acting out in that manor. And that’s only JHF.

Port should have shut the **** up and just accepted that he wanted to go home and go to port. Instead their own list managers and players decided to take swipe at North when ever there was a camera in their face? Get ****ed. It’s on for old and young now.

Ultimately it comes down to who develops better. JHF or Wardlaw. Because we were never going to get both. (Sheezel has just proven to be too valuable)

I still can’t get over the ‘safe environment’ and ‘bad club’ messages he, the assistant coaches and recruiting managers of Port spilled to the media after the recruiting. One player out of a the whole list saying that and acting out in that manor. And that’s only JHF.

Port should have shut the * up and just accepted that he wanted to go home and go to port. Instead their own list managers and players decided to take swipe at North when ever there was a camera in their face? Get ****ed. It’s on for old and young now.
Only psychopaths don’t feel guilt. This is them trying to justify their dirty underhanded actions.

Way too early to be writing JHF off as a bust just as it was ridiculous from Port fans saying JHF was one of the best players in the the AFL.
He shows flashes, he's going to have up and down games but mentally I think this will be his toughest year.
Like I expected, he's going to cop it from neutral fans most of this year. You can bet the Crows fans will boo him, maybe even for the rest of his career.
Funny how the media puts so much attention on a young kid and then can't fathom why he's targeted by fans, you're partly to blame.

Way too early to be writing JHF off as a bust just as it was ridiculous from Port fans saying JHF was one of the best players in the the AFL.
He shows flashes, he's going to have up and down games but mentally I think this will be his toughest year.
Like I expected, he's going to cop it from neutral fans most of this year. You can bet the Crows fans will boo him, maybe even for the rest of his career.
Funny how the media puts so much attention on a young kid and then can't fathom why he's targeted by fans, you're partly to blame.
He won't have a bust career and I think most of the posters with half a brain realise that. He's just too talented for that.

But man is it cathartic to watch the fans of other teams get stuck into him. It's also comforting to see his lesser traits surface, despite the efforts of some 'journos' to make it appear that North were to blame for his deficiencies. One preseason at Port Power TM (est. 1997) does not a two way runner make.

I've never looked forward to a showdown so much.

There's a fable or if you prefer a fairy tale. As a kid I remember a story about a young boy called Jason who was rather a reckless lad.
His mother told him to take their male cow ( Fabian) to the market to sell as the milk it produced wasn't very palatable. On the way to the market, the cow ran on and Jason gave up and couldn't be farked chasing it, so he swapped it with a stranger for two first-round draft picks.

His mother on his return home was ropeable, starting booing him at every opportunity, Jase was confused as he thought two first round draft picks were a good deal for a cow.

So his mother in disgust throws the first round draft picks out their window and the blew all the way to Arden St. Where they started to sprout...

My thoughts to. 💯 pulled the trigger for the trade at the right time instead of holding him to he's contract.

I think we can't understate how good north have done since midway through last year
Yeah, even though there’s a few around here who think we should have wrung more out of the mega-trade, Gorgeous George and a mid-1st for Judas looks like a win to me. In hindsight I reckon we’ll be glad he pulled his shit after one year rather than stringing us along for 3 or 4. Keeps the talent pipeline in a better age group, and more of a talented core to come through together.

Yeah, even though there’s a few around here who think we should have wrung more out of the mega-trade, Gorgeous George and a mid-1st for Judas looks like a win to me. In hindsight I reckon we’ll be glad he pulled his s**t after one year rather than stringing us along for 3 or 4. Keeps the talent pipeline in a better age group, and more of a talented core to come through together.

Absolutely Rob, we got equal pick 3 for GG, and another first-rounder, you'd want to be a carey type to swap for two firsts imo.

Yeah JHF will be a great player, just like LDU, Sheezel, Wardlaw. Of course, JHF while being a great footballer that doesn't mean he will be a great teammate.

Like the other lot will be.

Port should have shut the * up and just accepted that he wanted to go home and go to port. Instead their own list managers and players decided to take swipe at North when ever there was a camera in their face? Get ****ed. It’s on for old and young now.

Ultimately it comes down to who develops better. JHF or Wardlaw. Because we were never going to get both. (Sheezel has just proven to be too valuable)
Sure someone will point out that we also have Port’s first this year.

So ultimately we are comparing that pick + Wardlaw to JsookF.

Yeah I think thats right.

Any reason GG's highlights aren't in this thread as yet?

He was part of the deal and I'm sure our Poort fans would like to see 50% of what they gave up.
ive been resisting the impulse lol.

i figure its a bit early. but if we get another couple weeks of corn stinking it up as george increases his game time.... could be fun.

I vocally disagreed with this approach at the time and think this has since been vindicated.

You draft to get the best overall draft hand and list you can. If we ranked Daicos as #1 we should've called him.

I disagreed with "bluff" calling Daicos' name. But the romantic idea of calling JHFF's name just to make him happy never sat easy and that was way before he turncoated himself all the way back to his milking bulls.

I vocally disagreed with this approach at the time and think this has since been vindicated.

You draft to get the best overall draft hand and list you can. If we ranked Daicos as #1 we should've called him.

I disagreed with "bluff" calling Daicos' name. But the romantic idea of calling JHFF's name just to make him happy never sat easy and that was way before he turncoated himself all the way back to his milking bulls.
I agree, emphasis on the "if" though. I was always of the view that you select based on how you rate the talent and your squad.

Hinkley has done him no favours sooking about it, feigning surprise this must be a "Melbourne" thing - as you say, it just invites everyone to do it because it's now obvious it will affect his performance, and thus if you're playing Port it's an opportunity for opposing fans to put him off his game.

Dumb coaching
Silvagni demonstrated how easy he is to rattle....he's only going to get targeted more by opposition players and crowds.....belted Kelly last season, given away 11 frees in 2 games this season, no accountability for his opponent at centre bounces. 1 tackle, 1 clearance, 3 turnovers on the weekend, clearly his self discipline is no better. What will be interesting is how Kenny and Port respond, especially with Kenny under pressure he has a lot riding on it.

Oppo Camp 2023 Death Ride: Poorta dlelie Footbal Club Power (Est. 1997) - Port out in straight sets, NMFC get pick #14