Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion - Part II

Luke Dunstan acknowledging the Saints in his retirement is a nice and gracious touch by him.
homer simpson GIF

Exactly. Doesn’t hurt to thank supporters and other people that stood by him at the club. Total contrast to other recent departures. ;)

Well done Luke, best wishes.

I think his beef was with the one that you are alluding too, not the club or fans.

Should never have left St.Kilda. Totally misguided by his agent who led him to believe he'd be playing regular senior footy at a side who just won a premiership.

I'm sure a side like West Coast or North could've used him. Maybe he tries again after the ACL recovery. Too young to pack it in.

Should never have left St.Kilda. Totally misguided by his agent who led him to believe he'd be playing regular senior footy at a side who just won a premiership.

I'm sure a side like West Coast or North could've used him. Maybe he tries again after the ACL recovery. Too young to pack it in.

I think he just wanted out no matter where he went. Was happy to retire if he couldn't get a spot. The knee probably puts him too far behind. He might as well get his career going outside AFL.

He can do that and still return though. He's got a few decent years left in him he just needs to lower his expectations. He's an average footballer and if he can admit that then going to poorer clubs that'll give him more opportunity would be good for him.

I dunno how delusional you have to be to think you're breaking into a midfield of Petracca Oliver Viney.

Just watched Couch. Interesting to see how many players played for Carlton on the weekend that were recruited out of nowhere by SOS. Hopefully a sign of things to come for us.

They had to patch up after years of stuffing up drafts too. They really turned around due to nailing Cripps, Curnow, Walsh. Weitering and McKay at the draft. Guys like Docherty came on before him and he wasted heaps on some pretty ordinary players like Williams and McGovern though.

They are a side full of good role players but with a better top end to us. To be like them we really need King and Nas types to go up a level. Curnow is probably a top 5 player in the league this year. We need our excellent players and those close to step up into that range and we'll be away.

Their second tier is still very good with guys like Acres, Cerra, Saad, Newman, Martin etc. We have plenty in that sort of range but need premium mids badly.

Yze gets the gig at Tigers. McQualter likely to leave. Reckon he would add some fantastic IP for us - we have people from the Hawthorn system and the Geelong system at our club but would be great to get someone with some Richmond IP.

Hopefully he joins the Saints.

Was a RTB fave back in the day.

Get him in!

Was a RTB fave back in the day.

Get him in!

He still is, Ross tried to get McQualter to join us as an assistant coach in the last off season but he knocked us back.

He might be more open to the idea now that he has missed out on the Richmond coaching gig, it would be hard for him to stay there now.

Mini was a development coach and then took over the Tigers mifdfield right before they launched the 'Dimma-sty'.

Get him in for sure.

Sitting L2 for tonight's game and then off to Swan St, place will be going bonkers.

I wonder who will make it to the Grandy!!!
Worry about the Grandy later….
tonight the Giants need to take down those Pies
🟠🟠🟠🟠

The orange team for me. That orange tsunami was big and ****ing quick when we played em.

I usually try to go line by line, man by man, Gws wins it in a canter if you do it that way, Collingwood is a system team, that rarely holds up for finals, especially prelims.

Hoping for a good one either way.

I would love to see GWS knock off the Pies, tough ask though coming off a 6 day break, travel and with about 90k Pies fans against them.

I wouldn't be surprised if the Pies got a great ride with the umpires tonight either, the AFL would want Collingwood in the GF more than GWS