Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

The message was the Scott is not frightened to try other players in there, where we keep going back to the same empty well. Ross (seriously out of form), Steele (seriously out of form), Clark (too slow & injury prone), Gresham (limited), Crouch (wins the ball but zero hurt factor), Sinclair good in 2nd halfs, Owens as 2nd ruck and occasionally Phillipou (who is not ready). Where does our break away or burst speed come from? Gresham can but after the first 5 steps he gets run down and his kicking is often under pressure. Clark, Ross and Crouch win scrubber kicks, we very rarely have players running in clean air out of stoppages.

Look at the mixture of players Geelong used two grunt players in Aktin and Bruhn, the rest are quick burst players. The big bonus for Geelong is Blicavs as he plays as the 2nd ruckman and then also plays as a ruck rover role. Plus he is very rarely injured, he is seriously under rated and probably Geelongs most important player IMO. Owens might become a similiar player for us but still has a way to go. Knevitt, OConnor and Henry are all tall quick options - its the mixture as much as anything.

OConnor hasnt been used a midfielder much before and appeared to man up on Bontempelli a lot, played a loose tagging role. Although he didnt win alot of the footy he mostly slowed Bont's influence. Geelong didnt win the clearances but they evened the effect the Bulldogs much higher rated group had and they did that by sharing the workload.

I understand that most teams have the usual 5 or 6 players that go through the middle but when its not working you have to think outside the square. Apart from bringing in Windhager & Bytel (limited spread) we dont have a lot of quality options to change things up. I have been screaming for more midfield rotations for years, why not throw Stocker, Butler, Byrnes even Higgns in there for 10 minutes or so. Stocker is a real grunt player but is also quite quick, Butler has the break away speed and tackling pressure and Byrnes was recruited as a midfielder. How will we ever know how they will go in there if our coaching staff never give them a chance.

They also chased mids and grabbed a ready made one in Bruhn in the off season. Feeding games into Knevitt too. Atkins is one of the guys who carried their mids last year when saving old guys for finals. Holmes as well. They tended to roll a lot through in most matches and also have plenty that play like mids in the high HF and rebounding back roles.

Is why I picked the cricket tonight, without the Saints I don't care enough to listen to whistles so lets watch a sport with competence in most facets instead.

AFL never will since Vlad, as they care too much about the money in and as the Tassie situation has shown, unless you have a state that is loud and has some backing in AFL parlance, it'll almost never happen. NT and Darwin is just too tiny for the big wigs at AFL house to give a s**t, they barely use the oval up there as it is, half the capacity of Giant stadium it'd be viewed as holding a game at Ballarat for example in normal parlance.

Literally just because it's in Darwin, they give them a token match a year as a "thanks for letting us build an oval on this land so we can take your money later" scheme. Is why I'll never consider the AFL a national sport, they give too many shits about 3 states in VIC, NSW and QLD. SA and WA were just cash cows that came calling so the AFL had to if they wanted to stay afloat, but just as say GWS should have been an ACT gig, as you say GCS should have been NT so that when Tassie inevitably joined full national and then provide for the inner state gigs on future endeavours.

But since the AFL give not shits and just want cash in the short term, here we are.
Nailed it.

Coles & Bunnings jumping onboard with the Big Freeze charity fundraiser for MND. Is this a sincere act or just comercial entities taking advantage of a noble cause? Being a total sceptic myself I believe the later. Coles say they will donate 10 cents from every sale of a pork pack to the Big Freeze charity... So if they sell fifty thousand units that would amount to $5000.

I have no real idea how many pork packs Coles is likely to sell in the defined period. Let's say they sell 200,000, which sounds a lot, that would mean a donation of $2000. Maybe they will only sell 800 packs that's $80. (I hope my maths is right).

If Coles was really serious, about being charitable, then why don't they put up a few million dollars instead of riding on the back of a well known charity. I know that the big Freeze charity will benefit in some way with what Cloes & Bunnings is doing but to me it seems, rather disingenuous from these corporations. I don't know all the details, maybe they both have made big donations but everytime I see the ads it turns my guts.

Coles & Bunnings jumping onboard with the Big Freeze charity fundraiser for MND. Is this a sincere act or just comercial entities taking advantage of a noble cause? Being a total sceptic myself I believe the later. Coles say they will donate 10 cents from every sale of a pork pack to the Big Freeze charity... So if they sell fifty thousand units that would amount to $5000.

I have no real idea how many pork packs Coles is likely to sell in the defined period. Let's say they sell 200,000, which sounds a lot, that would mean a donation of $2000. Maybe they will only sell 800 packs that's $80. (I hope my maths is right).

If Coles was really serious, about being charitable, then why don't they put up a few million dollars instead of riding on the back of a well known charity. I know that the big Freeze charity will benefit in some way with what Cloes & Bunnings is doing but to me it seems, rather disingenuous from these corporations. I don't know all the details, maybe they both have made big donations but everytime I see the ads it turns my guts.

It's sponsorship in return for exposure which is essentially every corporate sponsorship ever. Anything like "for every sale we'll donate X" is to drive sales and for PR basically to make people feel involved. The real dollars will be what they've paid to have the top spot as major partners. Which means their logo will be on basically everything, they'll get their mascot/celebrity chef mouthpiece into everything and will otherwise get in on every marketing opportunity that they can. But yes they'll use it to remind us all what a nice bunch they are for supporting a good cause

Are you aware that’s Richmond’s first close win in the last 13 attempts?
Not being Richmond specific mate. It just seems most teams find a way when they NEED to. We really needed those Port and Hawks wins, we're now facing a nervous wait to see what we serve up in the 2nd half of the season.

Bunnings shouldn't be lumped with Coles TBH, I know they're both majors with FightMND but Bunnings does not operate the same as Coles with regards to community things. Near year on year they're bring 1.5ish mil for MND on what they do, whilst simulataneously trying to assist the homeless, voulernable, DV victims and women in general whilst also giving relief in natural disaster instances. Meanwhile, Coles still try to undercut their own farmers, it was only 3 years ago that they essentially undercut them by 5mil in payments as "oopsie, forgot to pass on payments, muh bad ACCC".

Coles are only there for the good press and virtue signalling, Bunnings are there because much like Dominoes originally, they give a modicum of shit to the community they service. Which is why Bunnings tend to pull 1.5m+ in these MND instances yearly compared to Coles effort.

With everything that had gone on before, when I saw that TT footage driving with his feet up on the dash that he put on social media, I thought that is surely the end of his career. I remember even the norf posters were saying he's taking the piss, f*ck him off.

He's a very lucky boy.