Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

King, Owens, NAS, Pou and probably Windy don’t excite you?
King and Ownes are on track to be stars. NAS and Pou are great prospects, but every club has at least a few of these.

Windy has done very little thus far, and there is nothing in his toolkit that really stands out. Strange how much love he gets on here for me.

Far more likely to he a good ordinary player than anything special.

We definitely have improved in terms of young talent on the list, but we are definitely still light on. A lot has to go right.

Wardlaw and Sheezel are going to be star quality. Ours might be. King will be a gun and Owens the next closest. Sheezel is already a top 50 player in his first year. Wardlaw will be as good or better.
I Have King and Owens before those 2 and the Pou will be better then both of them too

King was years ago. He's not a kid any more. Owens looks good and so does Phillipou but both are going to take time and aren't certainties.
I think you are being a little pessimistic. Personally haven’t been as certain a player we have drafted would be a star more than Philipou since probably Riewoldt. And Owens was rated as a top 5 player in the comp by champion data as a 19 year old. I wouldn’t trade either of them for Wardlaw. Sheezel maybe. King is still very young for a key forward, is a good 5 years off his prime.

Wardlaw looks a star quality kid and so does Sheezel. We don't have top end still and it highlights how slow burn ours are. We are still calling Clark and Coffield promising kids. They're mid 20s.

He's 79 on Stats insider so I may have put some mayo on it. 31 on Final Siren though. 18th in total disposals.

I Have King and Owens before those 2 and the Pou will be better then both of them too

I hope you are right. Wardlaw looked like a star junior I reckon he'll be another Oliver. Sheezel is probably North's best player in his first year.

I think you are being a little pessimistic. Personally haven’t been as certain a player we have drafted would be a star more than Philipou since probably Riewoldt. And Owens was rated as a top 5 player in the comp by champion data as a 19 year old. I wouldn’t trade either of them for Wardlaw. Sheezel maybe. King is still very young for a key forward, is a good 5 years off his prime.

I'm always pessimistic. Losing to a cripple side and others showing more with no footy of our own to judge us on is not a great guide either. That Owens thing is a bit over blown. He looks on track to be at least a very good player but that rating is way off.

He's 79 on Stats insider so I may have put some mayo on it. 31 on Final Siren though. 18th in total disposals.
Nasiah's last 6ish weeks have been as good as Sheezel's, just without the external hype.

We've got some very good kids coming through. No need to be pessimistic about ours because North had 2 or 3 play well.

I hope you are right. Wardlaw looked like a star junior I reckon he'll be another Oliver. Sheezel is probably North's best player in his first year.
Wardlaw is and will be a gun would love to have him

Owens will be a top 10 AFL player

Nasiah's last 6ish weeks have been as good as Sheezel's, just without the external hype.

We've got some very good kids coming through. No need to be pessimistic about ours because North had 2 or 3 play well.

Nas has looked very good. I think Sheezel is a fair bit ahead still. Pretty confident in his future at the moment at least.

Wardlaw is and will be a gun would love to have him

Owens will be a top 10 AFL player

I hope so. At the moment Owens is projecting to be a Zurhaar/ Stringer type that we hope can go on ball. Having a lack of star on ballers is showing us up at the moment.

King and Ownes are on track to be stars. NAS and Pou are great prospects, but every club has at least a few of these.

Windy has done very little thus far, and there is nothing in his toolkit that really stands out. Strange how much love he gets on here for me.

Far more likely to he a good ordinary player than anything special.

We definitely have improved in terms of young talent on the list, but we are definitely still light on. A lot has to go right.

King definitely is. Owens might be still, as promising as he's been.

Nas has looked very good. I think Sheezel is a fair bit ahead still. Pretty confident in his future at the moment at least.
Sheezel is going to be a gun. So will Nasiah.

You should give our kids who are performing to a high level already the same credit you give to other teams kids after they play a good game.

I hope so. At the moment Owens is projecting to be a Zurhaar/ Stringer type that we hope can go on ball. Having a lack of star on ballers is showing us up at the moment.
Zurhaar/stringer are not worthy of cleaning Owens footy boots

But agree we need to fix the midfield

You should give our kids who are performing to a high level already the same credit you give to other teams kids after they play a good game.
I think the difference between ours and other teams is that every other team has multiple young mids who look the goods. Tall forwards and flankers are nice but they won’t take us all the way.

Bunnings shouldn't be lumped with Coles TBH, I know they're both majors with FightMND but Bunnings does not operate the same as Coles with regards to community things. Near year on year they're bring 1.5ish mil for MND on what they do, whilst simulataneously trying to assist the homeless, voulernable, DV victims and women in general whilst also giving relief in natural disaster instances. Meanwhile, Coles still try to undercut their own farmers, it was only 3 years ago that they essentially undercut them by 5mil in payments as "oopsie, forgot to pass on payments, muh bad ACCC".

Coles are only there for the good press and virtue signalling, Bunnings are there because much like Dominoes originally, they give a modicum of s**t to the community they service. Which is why Bunnings tend to pull 1.5m+ in these MND instances yearly compared to Coles effort.
Glad to hear that about Bunning... thanks.

Ours are going okay but I want a big smash a game open or best on ground to solidify their standing. King has done it this year off no games and is genuinely going well above expectation. Owens has been exciting to watch but hasn’t ripped open games yet, same with Nas looks very good but he’s not had an absolute breakout performance yet. Phillipou the same.

You're on one tonight gee wizz

Zurhaar/stringer are not worthy of cleaning Owens footy boots

But agree we need to fix the midfield
And Billings is so good at collecting the footys and setting up the cones before training that they've kept him there