List Mgmt. 2023 GWS Giants List Management - Academy, Free Agent, Trade, Draft

Nov 23, 2015
GWS
Trade Period, October 6–18
  • Restricted & Unrestricted Free Agency Period: Friday, October 6, 9am – Friday October 13, 5pm (bid matching ends Monday October 16, 5pm)
  • Trade Period (1), picks & players: Monday, October 9, 9am – Wednesday October 18, 7.30pm
Quiet Period, October 19–November 20
  • Trade Period (2), picks only: Monday, October 23, 9am – Friday November 10, 5pm
  • List Lodgement 1*: Tuesday, October 31, 2pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (1): Wednesday, November 1, 9am – Wednesday November 8, 5pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (2): Friday, November 10, 9am–5pm
  • List Lodgement 2*: Tuesday, November 14, 2pm

Here's the list of GWS players who are out of contract in 2023 (I'll progressively cross them out as they re-sign):
  • Lachie ASH
  • Callan WARD (Free Agent)
  • Brayden PREUSS
  • Tom GREEN
  • Finn CALLAGHAN
  • Lachlan KEEFFE (Free Agent)
  • Jake RICCARDI
  • Harry HIMMELBERG (Free Agent)
  • Cam FLEETON - delisted (25/9/23)
  • Matt FLYNN (Free Agent) - signed by West Coast as an Unrestricted Free Agent
  • Xavier O'HALLORAN
  • Jack BUCKLEY
  • Callum BROWN
Rookie lists:
  • Phil DAVIS (Free Agent) - retiring at end of 2023 season
  • Jacob WEHR (Free agent)
  • Dan LLOYD (Free Agent) - retiring at end of 2023 season
  • Cooper HAMILTON
  • Wade DERKSEN
  • Nick MADDEN (Cat B) - assumed re-signed due to 2 sources of info
  • Jason GILBEE (Cat B) - delisted (25/9/23)
Current list sizes (for when we get to list/draft/trade speculation):
  • main list = 36 minus 3 (Fleeton, Flynn + Kennedy delisted with a view to be re-selected in the rookie draft)
  • rookie A = 6 minus 2 (Davis, Lloyd)
  • rookie B = 2 minus 1 (Gilbee)
  • total = 44 minus 5
This is the future pick spreadsheet that comes into play only at trade time, as future picks are used in end of season (2023) trading:

Here's the 2023 AFL Academy Squad, so these (roughly) represent the best players for next year as they stand now:

2023 NAB AFL ACADEMY​

NAMESURNAMESTATESTATE LEAGUE CLUBCOMMUNITY CLUB
LachlanCaborNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyShellharbour
NateCaddyVIC MNorthern KnightsYarrambat
JackCallinanTASTasmania DevilsClarence
CaidenClearyNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademySydney University
DanielCurtinWAClaremontWest Coast
JackDeleanSASouth AdelaideReynella
ZaneDuursmaVIC CGippsland PowerFoster
MitchellEdwardsWAPeel ThunderSouth Mandurah
WilliamGreenVIC MNorthern KnightsNorthcote
RileyHardemanWASwan DistrictsCaversham
WilliamLorenzVIC MOakleigh ChargersBoroondara Hawks
KaneMcAuliffeSANorth AdelaideCentral Augusta
ColbyMcKercherTASTasmania DevilsLaunceston
AshtonMoirSAGlenelgPlympton
ConnorO'SullivanNSW/ACTMurray BushrangersAlbury
WilliamPattonSAWest AdelaideMitcham
NathanPhilactidesVIC MOakleigh ChargersBlackburn
EthanReadQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
ArcherReidVIC CGippsland PowerInverloch-Kongwak
HarleyReidVIC CBendigo PioneersTongala
ArchieRobertsVIC MSandringham DragonsHampton Rovers
JakeRogersQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach
RyleySandersTASSandringham DragonsNorth Launceston
CooperSimpsonVIC CDandenong StingraysMount Martha
GeorgeStevensVIC CGWV RebelsSouth Warrnambool
KoltynTholstrupWASubiacoNewtown-Condingup
OrlandoTurnerNTWest AdelaideSouth Alice Springs
JedWalterQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
NickWatsonVIC MEastern RangesEast Ringwood
DarcyWilsonVIC CMurray BushrangersWangaratta Rovers

Happy speculating for 2023!

EDIT: 11/12/22 - Added Free Agent status to OOC player list
EDIT: 24/2/23 - Crossed out Tom Green from OOC player list! (Woo Hoo!!) & Added 2023 Coates Talent League Fixture Link
EDIT: 27/2/23 - Crossed out Finn Callaghan from OOC player list! (Woo Hoo Hoo!!!)
EDIT: 27/4/23 - Crossed out Jacob Wehr from OOC player list
EDIT: 10/5/23 - Crossed out Jack Buckley from OOC player list :thumbsu:
EDIT: 9/7/23 - Crossed out Callum Brown from OOC player list
EDIT: 18/7/23 - Crossed out Lachie Ash from OOC player list
EDIT: 20/7/23 - Crossed out Xavier O'Halloran from OOC player list
EDIT: 3/8/23 - Crossed out Harry Himmelberg from OOC player list
EDIT: 9/8/23 - Crossed out Wade Derksen from OOC player list
EDIT: 17/8/23 - Noted Dan Lloyd retiring at end of season
EDIT: 19/8/23 - Crossed out Jake Riccardi from OOC player list
EDIT: 28/8/23 - Noted Phil Davis retiring at end of season
EDIT: 25/9/23 - Noted Cam Fleeton & Jason Gilbee delisted
EDIT: 4/10/23 - Noted Flynn, Preuss & Keeffe situations
EDIT: 9/10/23 - Updated Flynn to WCE, removed Preuss from OOC player list
EDIT: 12/10/23 - Updated Madden with 2 sources of information
EDIT: 19/10/23 - Updated Keeffe & Hamilton re-signed
EDIT: 31/10/23 - adjusted main list numbers with Adam Kennedy delisting (with a view to be re-selected in rookie draft)

How good was that goal he kicked from 60 out a few weeks back… anyone who can kick it that far is automatically a threat in the front half.
So fast.
So strong.
Brings the pressure like a small forward but can bustle through tackles and also beat people in a foot race if the ball gets out the back.
I think the closest comp to him is probably Gary Rohan.

I genuinely don’t

He is a great kick
I think he's just early in his development, Ash played from close to say dot and we are probably only going to start seeing the fruits of that now.
I agree Fahey will be handy but I'm not sure his ceiling is as high as Ash.
When watching the VFL he gets a lot of the ball and is damaging but his attitude doesn't look great. A lot of hands out and frustration on show

For the most part it's far more beneficial to retain established talent regardless of depth, in the case of Ash v Fahey there's obviously a reason one's playing in the seniors and one isn't getting a game. Ash suits the gameplan more and is more reliable defensively at the moment. There's also only a 3 year age gap, it wouldn't even be that we're bringing in someone significantly younger.

Himmelberg I'm more open to seeing go just because of the money he'd command to stay, better off spreading that 800k across more consistent and impactful players

For the most part it's far more beneficial to retain established talent regardless of depth, in the case of Ash v Fahey there's obviously a reason one's playing in the seniors and one isn't getting a game. Ash suits the gameplan more and is more reliable defensively at the moment. There's also only a 3 year age gap, it wouldn't even be that we're bringing in someone significantly younger.

Himmelberg I'm more open to seeing go just because of the money he'd command to stay, better off spreading that 800k across more consistent and impactful players

I would put a slight asterisk next to there being only 3 year gap given that unlike Ash, Fahey pretty much lost a season in his u18 year due to the impact of covid.

Ash's general speed isn't that special which was seen in his underwhelming draft combine speed back in the day but obviously his on field speed is very good. But if you actually look at general speed there isn't munch between them.
Some of Ash’s defensive work was poor last night. He doesn’t compete hard enough in marking contests.

Outstanding that Allies have won the U18 Championship for the first time. However, no high quality GWS Academy talent there. Which is probably fine, as our two first round picks can be straight selections of talent.

Suns do have 3 top talents; Jed Walter at #1 or #2, and two others inside top 15. Swans don't have any high talents either, but a couple in second to third round (IMHO).

Top 5 I reckon will be Reid, Walter (Suns Academy), McKercher, Curtin, Watson (not necessarily in that order); although it's possible Watson may drop if clubs are worried about size. Then (again, not in order) Duursma, Sanders, Caddy, Read (Suns Academy), Rogers (Suns Academy), Edwards, Sullivan, Wilson. Then it becomes more problematic IMHO.

So, really, we want top 10 picks to have access to the decent talent in this draft. (I know that seems a stupid "always the case" statement, but this year seems to have more of a gap between "tiers" within the draft talent). There's a variety of talent, so can address various needs/wants for our list, depending on exactly who goes where.

Bottom line, someone nobble the bloody Tigers!

Outstanding that Allies have won the U18 Championship for the first time. However, no high quality GWS Academy talent there. Which is probably fine, as our two first round picks can be straight selections of talent.

Suns do have 3 top talents; Jed Walter at #1 or #2, and two others inside top 15. Swans don't have any high talents either, but a couple in second to third round (IMHO).

Top 5 I reckon will be Reid, Walter (Suns Academy), McKercher, Curtin, Watson (not necessarily in that order); although it's possible Watson may drop if clubs are worried about size. Then (again, not in order) Duursma, Sanders, Caddy, Read (Suns Academy), Rogers (Suns Academy), Edwards, Sullivan, Wilson. Then it becomes more problematic IMHO.

So, really, we want top 10 picks to have access to the decent talent in this draft. (I know that seems a stupid "always the case" statement, but this year seems to have more of a gap between "tiers" within the draft talent). There's a variety of talent, so can address various needs/wants for our list, depending on exactly who goes where.

Yeah we need the Tigers to have a rough finish to the year. They have a soft couple of weeks coming up then it gets a bit harder.
I'm really not sure how we approach this draft. Do we need to avoid the Tassie boys? Will the Suns have the points to take all their academy boys?

Yeah we need the Tigers to have a rough finish to the year. They have a soft couple of weeks coming up then it gets a bit harder.
I'm really not sure how we approach this draft. Do we need to avoid the Tassie boys? Will the Suns have the points to take all their academy boys?
If the Tassie fans are to be believed then every Tasmanian will change sides and every Tassie player will return home, and considering some of the talk is their start up will be much bigger than ours or the Suns. Wouldn’t risk it.

Reckon E. Read is a top 5 talent convincingly, he'd be behind only Walter on our wish list if he wasn't academy tied I reckon. Watson and Caddy I'm cooling on, if Watson was showing his ability to move up the ground more even when stationed as a forward I'd be more convinced, but the game v Allies and even today showed he's really going to be limited for impact outside of forward 50 and will need consistent delivery, if our midfield evolves as we hope he still fits that style really well, but more a pick around 10 for me now. Caddy just hasn't done it against good opposition yet, hard to have faith in his ability to translate to a top level forward at AFL level if he's only playing well against blokes sub 180 cm or treacle slow defenders at 18s level.

Will the Suns have the points to take all their academy boys? Do we need to avoid the Tassie boys?
Suns will easily cover the points for their 3 boys. It's a good result for them. And varied positions as well - KPF, ruck & mid.

Really hard to tell with the Tasmanians. Clubs will have 4 years to sell them on their program before Tasmania comes calling, but it certainly is a risk that they'll leave. But if they do drop due to a perceived flight risk, which club is prepared to pull the trigger? They'd get a good talent cheaper, but might lose them down the track, but presumably as per GCS/GWS entry to the comp, there will be a compensation mechanism. I think we need another mid, so I'd be certainly prepared to draft either at 8 to 10 (but maybe not at an earlier pick).

At our likely picks, I'd love to grab Connor O'Sullivan as a big KPD to replace Phil Davis. However, there's a risk that Swans grab him ahead of us, or another club depending on final positions & trades. All very early days yet.

Reckon E. Read is a top 5 talent convincingly, he'd be behind only Walter on our wish list if he wasn't academy tied I reckon. Watson and Caddy I'm cooling on, if Watson was showing his ability to move up the ground more even when stationed as a forward I'd be more convinced, but the game v Allies and even today showed he's really going to be limited for impact outside of forward 50 and will need consistent delivery, if our midfield evolves as we hope he still fits that style really well, but more a pick around 10 for me now. Caddy just hasn't done it against good opposition yet, hard to have faith in his ability to translate to a top level forward at AFL level if he's only playing well against blokes sub 180 cm or treacle slow defenders at 18s level.
It's all speculative at this point in time. Clubs are traditionally a bit wary of choosing rucks early (Luke Jackson aside) and academy bids tend to drift a bit later, so personally I'd be very surprised to see Read go in that top 5. I still think Wizard is a chance to go top 5 with his talent (notwithstanding your identified deficiencies), but he's the one I'd see as most likely to drift. With Caddy, I just reckon he's in that group of 13 at the top, and there are more question marks on the next group. But I hope that we retain both HH and Riccardi, so we have no temptation to choose him. We still have Derksen and Gruzewski to try out, too.

But you're the draftwatcher, so you certainly have a better feel for the likely outcomes.

Suns will easily cover the points for their 3 boys. It's a good result for them. And varied positions as well - KPF, ruck & mid.

Really hard to tell with the Tasmanians. Clubs will have 4 years to sell them on their program before Tasmania comes calling, but it certainly is a risk that they'll leave. But if they do drop due to a perceived flight risk, which club is prepared to pull the trigger? They'd get a good talent cheaper, but might lose them down the track, but presumably as per GCS/GWS entry to the comp, there will be a compensation mechanism. I think we need another mid, so I'd be certainly prepared to draft either at 8 to 10 (but maybe not at an earlier pick).

At our likely picks, I'd love to grab Connor Sullivan as a big KPD to replace Phil Davis. However, there's a risk that Swans grab him ahead of us, or another club depending on final positions & trades. All very early days yet.

It's all speculative at this point in time. Clubs are traditionally a bit wary of choosing rucks early (Luke Jackson aside) and academy bids tend to drift a bit later, so personally I'd be very surprised to see Read go in that top 5. I still think Wizard is a chance to go top 5 with his talent (notwithstanding your identified deficiencies), but he's the one I'd see as most likely to drift. With Caddy, I just reckon he's in that group of 13 at the top, and there are more question marks on the next group. But I hope that we retain both HH and Riccardi, so we have no temptation to choose him. We still have Derksen and Gruzewski to try out, too.

But you're the draftwatcher, so you certainly have a better feel for the likely outcomes.
Oh I don't think Read goes top 5, just that I'd have him there personally. Key Foreards this year have drifted off as they seem to do as of late, still think Archer Reid is a good choice should we be set on taking one and he's likely to be available into the 20s now, unless his form continues to build.

Caddy still in that top 15 bracket for sure, not many are really pushing their way in yet so it's hard for any of them to fall out now

If the Tassie fans are to be believed then every Tasmanian will change sides and every Tassie player will return home, and considering some of the talk is their start up will be much bigger than ours or the Suns. Wouldn’t risk it.
Honestly there are plenty of young people in tassie who want to get out of tassie

I wouldn’t be surprised is the go home factor doesn’t apply like some are predicting.

If we are being real, the tassie team will struggle more than the suns…. Nobody wants to live there and the crowds will be worse than ours

Honestly there are plenty of young people in tassie who want to get out of tassie

I wouldn’t be surprised is the go home factor doesn’t apply like some are predicting.

If we are being real, the tassie team will struggle more than the suns…. Nobody wants to live there and the crowds will be worse than ours
The crowds will be way better than ours.

Anyone have access to the article about Riccardi in The Australian and can post it?

TWO (!) articles from News Corp newspapers on Giants players (Haynes and Riccardi):

Nick Haynes expected to be involved in trade talks at the end of the season

By Jay Clark

NEWS CORP AUSTRALIA SPORTS NEWSROOM

09 JULY 2023

GWS Giants’ defender Nick Haynes is again expected to surface in trade talks at season’s end as he was suspended for one match for a dangerous tackle.

Haynes, 31, is one of the top-paid players at GWS and faces competition for spots in the Giants’ backline after being pushed up the ground in recent weeks.

GWS coach Adam Kingsley said the club is experimenting with Haynes on a wing, although he had to wait for his turn on the ground on Saturday after starting as the sub.

The Giants’ unheralded backline has been a surprise packet this season, helping shut down opposition forwards to keep the club in the finals race in Kingsley’s first year in charge.

The Giants are tied with Adelaide on 32 points in ninth spot, and remain within striking distance of a remarkable top-eight berth with seven games remaining.

But Haynes’ future will be a discussion point as the club assesses its list and manages its always-under-pressure salary cap in the lead-up to the exchange period.

Haynes is on almost $1 million for the final year of his back-ended contract in 2024 and is expected to come up in trade talks at season’s end.

But whether there will be much interest remains unclear. GWS may have to contribute some of his salary as part of any move back home to Victoria.

Kingsley said the club wanted to have a look at Haynes in the midfield.

“You are probably not going to play eight defenders, so anyone who can be more versatile and play in other positions with a little bit of experience and certainly execute their roles is going to be of more value to us,” Kingsley said.

“I see ‘Haynesy’ being able to play either wing or half-back moving forward.”

But the Dandenong product has been suspended for one match, which will sideline him for the clash against Adelaide in Adelaide next weekend.

Haynes dumped Hawk Josh Ward in a tackle on Saturday afternoon, pinning an arm as Haynes whipped the young midfielder into the ground.

Ward’s head hit the ground in an incident which was graded careless conduct, high contact and medium impact.

It was a straightforward rough conduct charge for match review officer Michael Christian, who has clamped down on head contact this year amid the concussion crisis.

But a suspension would have surprised coach Adam Kingsley, who said after the match “I have watched the Haynes one (tackle) I think it is fine.”

The Giants could take the fight to the tribunal this week on the basis Ward appeared to slip slightly in the tackle, meaning Haynes lost some control of his opponent.

But any debate would focus on whether Haynes should have released Ward’s arm, in-line with AFL guidelines to players and clubs on tackling in 2023.

Haynes, who had seven possessions as the starting sub on Saturday, missed out on a top-10 best and fairest finish last year from 17 games last season.

Richmond co-captain Toby Nankervis will front the tribunal this week for his heavy bump which laid out Sydney defender Jake Lloyd on Thursday night.

Nankervis faces three matches on the sidelines for the high bump.

How a simplified game plan sparked the ‘best stretch’ of Giant Jake Riccardi’s career

By Lachlan Mckirdy

NEWS CORP AUSTRALIA SPORTS NEWSROOM

09 JULY 2023

Jake Riccardi’s season came full circle on Saturday afternoon.

In round five, he was dropped for the Giants’ game against Hawthorn. They had lost their past three matches and Riccardi had only kicked two goals in four weeks.

It forced the 23-year-old forward to reassess his style of play. Four years into his footy career, he knew he had to find a way to have a bigger impact on games.

Fast forward to the second weekend of July and Riccardi is now in the best form of his career.

He has 10 goals in four weeks, including three at home against Hawthorn to help the Giants win their fourth-straight game.

“I think definitely this is the best stretch [of my career] by far,” Riccardi said. “Before that, I was probably not really playing my role.

“Kingers (Adam Kingsley) had a good chat with me and said, ‘Mate, these are the things we need from you’. They really simplified it for me and it really helped.

“All he expects is a big contest and to play your part in the defence. When you just have one or two things in front of your mind and you get to work on that, the rest takes care of itself.”

Part of that focus has been on throwing his weight around in marking contests.

Standing at 198cm tall, Riccardi knows that with his frame he should be one of the Giants’ key targets going forward.

While he’s still yet to top the 10 marks he took against West Coast on debut in 2020, he has reached a level of consistency that he wants to build on.

“Goals will come based on work rate up the field … as long as you’re putting yourself in the best spot to bring it to the ground or mark it, that’s what really matters,” he said.

“Footy is a hard game, so every moment you want to make sure you’re capitalising. You want to make sure you’re crashing a pack, making a big tackle or getting a goal, whatever it is to ensure you’re involved.

“I’ve almost got a blueprint of what I do every week and try to keep to that and not overdo it. If there’s a little problem in my game, I can address it later.”

Off-contract at the end of the season, Riccardi’s goalscoring ability is attracting interest in his services.

Hawthorn is one club that has reportedly inquired, and his display on Saturday would have done nothing to dispel that as Sam Mitchell watched on.

The open market could present Riccardi with plenty of opportunities, particularly if he wanted to find a way to return home to Melbourne.

But for now, his preference is to ride the Orange Tsunami at the Giants for as long as he can.

“We’re a close group and I love everyone here,” he said. “Even last year when we were struggling we were really close-knit. We always got together.

“But now, when you’ve got a good culture and you win as well, you see the best of it and it’s exciting footy.

“It’s an exciting time at the club right now. We’ll let the rest of the season play out and see what happens but I can’t complain.”

Or will the Tassie team even happen as seems to be the wish of a vocal group of Tasmanians.
Don’t get me wrong am all for them having a club, but the rhetoric that every Tasmanian will drop current clubs and follow them, and every Tassie player will return seems far fetched.
If that happened in WS we would be over flowing at Giants stadium.

List Mgmt. 2023 GWS Giants List Management - Academy, Free Agent, Trade, Draft