Position 2023 Midfielders

Too soon. He looked waaaaay off. I reckon he'll be pumping out sub 100 scores for a few more weeks.

he has the round 12 bye, so it should be perfect for round 13.
I owned Steele the first few weeks so obviouly watched him close, he looks a shell of his former self...just so damn weak.

Apparently RTB told him to lose weight over summer. Really bad advice imo.

I owned Steele the first few weeks so obviouly watched him close, he looks a shell of his former self...just so damn weak.

Yep. Reminds of Cripps a few years ago. Improved his running game but at the expense of his inside game which was his 1 wood.

JDG has been in my team since the start

He has been scoring pretty well, even when he hasn’t scored a goal - so watch out for huge spikes when he got his kicking boots on :)

BTW - I’m going to trade LDU to Mills, they simply need him in the midfield now
I reckon you're too soon with Mills. McCartin came in, but Fox went out. Look at their listed back 6 and bench, so many smalls. I reckon Mills plays down back again.

People were wondering why he was in non contact vest for a period during pre season.

I mentioned it wasn’t shoulder related at the time but couldn’t go much deeper. He was a little naughty in the off-season. RTB wasn’t impressed.

I reckon you're too soon with Mills. McCartin came in, but Fox went out. Look at their listed back 6 and bench, so many smalls. I reckon Mills plays down back again.
Would love Mills to stay low for two more weeks. A couple more 90 odd scores.

Maybe, but he's the one I'm keen on at $550K or so
I don't have any other mids I'm interested in at that price, max $665K

Maybe, but he's the one I'm keen on at $550K or so
I don't have any other mids I'm interested in at that price, max $665K
Yeah fair enough. I'll be looking at him next week too.

Good luck!

I don't disagree that he may play minutes down back but Sydney are absolutely getting smashed in the middle, it's about time they play Mills where he's best. In the last 3 weeks, he has played 10, 0 and 27% CBA's. Last 3 weeks, -20 CP's, +7 CP's (Richmond not very good) and lost again against PA at home. Got smashed the week before against Melb too.

Doesn't matter the cattle you play down back if you can't stop easy stoppage clearances coming into the F50. Geelong made them look silly.

If Horse is serious, he will play Mills in there and allow him to float behind the footy when necessary. They need his size in there. Fair to say Gulden isn't ready yet to take the next step as an inside mid and Warner is too inconsistent. Parker is ageing and maybe it's time he plays more forward.

I reckon also they'll play Francis down back, with Buddy/McDonald/McLean as the tall forwards. They got him for a reason imo

I don't disagree that he may play minutes down back but Sydney are absolutely getting smashed in the middle, it's about time they play Mills where he's best. In the last 3 weeks, he has played 10, 0 and 27% CBA's. Last 3 weeks, -20 CP's, +7 CP's (Richmond not very good) and lost again against PA at home. Got smashed the week before against Melb too.

Doesn't matter the cattle you play down back if you can't stop easy stoppage clearances coming into the F50. Geelong made them look silly.

If Horse is serious, he will play Mills in there and allow him to float behind the footy when necessary. They need his size in there. Fair to say Gulden isn't ready yet to take the next step as an inside mid and Warner is too inconsistent. Parker is ageing and maybe it's time he plays more forward.

I reckon also they'll play Francis down back, with Buddy/McDonald/McLean as the tall forwards. They got him for a reason imo
That's my conclusion - Sydney simply need Mills in the midfield now!

I'm willing to trade him in and find out :D

I thought Steele was nowhere near it mate? ;)
Haha yep, ate my words.
He looked good last night, he looked better than he did in the preseason and in round 1 and 2 lol.

Steele and Mills both R12 players. Too soon to load up there.
I'm aiming to be full keeper by round 12, so even if I have 5 or 6 rd12 bye players, I should be sweet.

rookies can GTFO, and **** the byes, I'll be grabbing who looks like the best option

I've never really planned for the byes and it always works out OK

I'm aiming to be full keeper by round 12, so even if I have 5 or 6 rd12 bye players, I should be sweet.

rookies can GTFO, and * the byes, I'll be grabbing who looks like the best option

Wow Round 12 full premo that would be a fair effort I'm hoping for Round 15 at this stage.

rookies can GTFO, and * the byes, I'll be grabbing who looks like the best option

Round 12 is ambitious with all the rookies shitting the bed.

Assume you're not planning on upgrading Sheezel or sideways trading Grundy or Setterfides?

Wow Round 12 full premo that would be a fair effort I'm hoping for Round 15 at this stage.
I got 5 rookies left on field (no mid-pricers)

I'm confident I can upgrade for the next 3 weeks. After that I don't know, depends on the new batch of rookies make money (which after last week, isn't off to a good start)

So worst case I'll be close enough, should have enough to cover in round 12, even if I trade in Mills and Steele (along with Gulden, Marshall, Sinclair and Dunks, who I already have)

the first 2 bye rounds are easy

Round 12 is ambitious with all the rookies shitting the bed.

Assume you're not planning on upgrading Sheezel or sideways trading Grundy or Setterfides?
yeah last week may have ruined my plans (MJ and Matt Deadberts)

but I'm good for the next few weeks, getting me close enough

I no longer have Setters. Sheezel is a keeper, even if he's tagged every now and then, he'll definitely get 30+ touches a lot. Enough for D6/F6.

Grundy will go whenever I can do it. I'd rather get rookies off field.

Luxury trades will happen during/after the byes. Rookies need to GTFO.

Round 15 next year for me
Sad Arrested Development GIF

Having Green, Hopper and Newcombe is a bit of a dilemma. Happy with the output from all 3, but can't imagine having them M-6, M7 and M8 with a finished side.

The positive in the mean time is that it's allowed me to focus on fixing my defence and forward lines which are looking far stronger. Jumped from an overall rank of 35 628 in round 4 to 8854 in round 7 largely due to the acquisitions of Stewart and Sinclair, facilitated by the form of Newcombe and Hopper who had speculative output after round 1.

For now, 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it'. Zero idea what my finished midfield will look like though. At least it isn't boring this year.

Having Green, Hopper and Newcombe is a bit of a dilemma. Happy with the output from all 3, but can't imagine having them M-6, M7 and M8 with a finished side.

The positive in the mean time is that it's allowed me to focus on fixing my defence and forward lines which are looking far stronger. Jumped from an overall rank of 35 628 in round 4 to 8854 in round 7 largely due to the acquisitions of Stewart and Sinclair, facilitated by the form of Newcombe and Hopper who had speculative output after round 1.

For now, 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it'. Zero idea what my finished midfield will look like though. At least it isn't boring this year.

I’m in a similar dilemma with Macrae, Newcombe and Hopper, ideally they’ll all be luxury trades, but I can’t imagine I’ll have enough left to do all 3.

For now though as long as they keep hovering around 90-110 I think I’ll be able to make up ground by upgrading elsewhere.

Position 2023 Midfielders