Strategy 2023 Midpricers Madness

Bruhn or Hopper?
Hopper will probably average more but i reckon Bruhn is a better pick as you can use the spot in your midfield that Hopper would occupy for someone you like more. What i mean is that midfield spots are at a 'premium'. If you cant find a midfielder that you like more than Hopper and you can find a forward who you like as much as Bruhn, then get Hopper.

EDIT: Hopper to me is a good 'safe' pick as he likely goes at 95ish but i dont see him being so good that he becomes a keeper in the midfield. Bruhn could become a forwardline keeper. So, it does depend on your structure but if it was me, id go Bruhn as i think i can find a really good pick in the midfield that isnt Hopper. Also, i do think both are viable options depending on how the rest of your team looks.

No more JK = lots of snags for Allen. Darling also not 100%. Plus he had 4 scoring shots in the preseason game.

I have him atm, as I am terrified if getting burned by the fwd rookies’ average JS
I don't hate the pick. I still think best case scenario he's a bench player that you hope for a spike game with a bag of goals to shoot in up value rather than an onfield player most weeks.

Fwiw in 2021 his last season he player 2 games without jk for 64 and 30. No JK also means he'll get a better defender.

I count 7 mid-pricers in my team now. 3 backs, 3 mids & 1 forward. Just 2 days to go, can't bloody wait!

EDIT: I used a very rough template to work out numbers. For instance, i counted Green @ 530k as a mid-pricer but Im not counting Marshall (who is cheaper) because of the relative strength in each position. Marshall is more likely to be top 5% in his position than Green. I also counted Gulden as a MP in my forwardline. My backline MPs are all under 400k.

Tom Green isn't a mid-pricer mate.

Personally I think 450k is a reasonable cut-off, simply because you aren't taking a guy worth more unless you think he's a keeper, but then there's a 'bargain basement keeper' category between 450 and about 515k. Green's still definitely in the 'premo but not superpremo' category IMO

Tom Green isn't a mid-pricer mate.

Personally I think 450k is a reasonable cut-off, simply because you aren't taking a guy worth more unless you think he's a keeper, but then there's a 'bargain basement keeper' category between 450 and about 515k. Green's still definitely in the 'premo but not superpremo' category IMO
Yeah, fair call.

De goey will end up being the best mid pricer of them all

If he had DPP He would be in my team but too many options for a lot less money in the midfield this year.

Somebody slap me.

I’m considering going Hopper > De Goey
Ultimate Warrior Wrestling GIF by WWE

Inside mid and wing you say :think:

Early Walsh/Clug role would be comparable. Don’t play full games as inside mids, but get to show their ability there for bursts

Many thanks .....some reports there are 2-3 Rookies that could play R1, that didn't play in the last PS games ....could Wagner be one to play R1 ?

I’m personally pretty shocked Wagner has found himself back on an AFL list. With all due respect to him and the WAFL, state league performances are just that - state league. He also had a hamstring issue about 3 weeks ago although I’m unable to find how bad the tear was. I don’t think he’ll play round 1 based on that, but even if he does I really can’t see him being more than 4-6 game a year depth max, with a couple of those being sub role.

Any love for HClark?
Not in my current draft but still definitely in consideration for me.

At the moment I’ve only got:
  • Yeo
  • Bowes
  • Hopper
  • Sheed
  • Worple
  • Cunnington
Plus a whole heap of overpriced rookies.

Would like to fit in one more ridiculous mid-pricer like Setterfield or Clark but if it’s tough to find a spot.

If Bowes isn’t selected for R1 I’d slot in Clark I think.

Could take Clark instead of Worple . . . but, I dunno that is the right call.

I've rejigged my side and now Setterfield is in. This could be the make or break selection.

Putting the madness back into midpricer madness

Currently got Setterfield as M5.

If it all goes to shit - I’ve got 140k in the bank.

Gulden, De Goey, hell even Whitfield are sideways options if I get stuck at the higher end, while Hopper & Sheed are there if I don’t want to waste the bank.

Pretty happy with those back up options. Gives me confidence to roll with with a risk in Setterfield.

Strategy 2023 Midpricers Madness