Strategy 2023 Midpricers Madness

While I'm hoping to get the point of a 23rd premo I think you'd want DPP for that role?

I don't know about starting a bloke hoping he ends up your M9 either?

I think you need m8 to be a def/mid or fwd/def so you can cover an injury on any of the 4 lines with your 23rd player.

Edit: what I wrote there didn’t make too much sense. I think you’re right.

I think you need m8 to be a def/mid or fwd/def so you can cover an injury on any of the 4 lines with your 23rd player.

Edit: what I wrote there didn’t make too much sense. I think you’re right.
Someone like Gulden could be ideal for M9/F7 in a complete team with the big ceiling.

Rowell is the forgotten man

Kelly the other forgotten man
As a former Rowell owner, don't do it.

He does not get enough of the ball for the price you are going to pay for him.

Close to picking him as a keeper.. think I may downgrade to Bowes

I don't think midpricers need to make you 150k.

They're hybrids.

Keepers don't make you cash, in fact they often lose it, but they make you points so you take them.

A midpricer averaging 80 is making you 15 points a week more than a rook averaging 65. That covers the 50k less in cash they might make you, IMO.

Otherwise just go G'n'R mate

I don't think midpricers need to make you 150k.

They're hybrids.

Keepers don't make you cash, in fact they often lose it, but they make you points so you take them.

A midpricer averaging 80 is making you 15 points a week more than a rook averaging 65. That covers the 50k less in cash they might make you, IMO.

Otherwise just go G'n'R mate
Steele and Bruhn vs Macrae and Bowes

LOL - I've gone the opposite and removed Bruhn from my team - even though I have 10 midpricers, he didn't make the cut!
It will be interesting to see what the competition in BigFooty Blues 1 is doing on Sunday. I'll be hiding there and not going near Div 1, as I can match your 10. But no Yeo, Hopper, Sheed, Fyfe, Cunnington, Ash, Jones, Bowes for me, only 1 rookie on field in Ashcroft and maybe Ginbey. Will be making more changes before Thursday, mainly rookies. Fwds been done for near 2 weeks, Rucks haven't changed since opening in Dec, 1 mid and D position to lock down - actually just decided as writing this, which means 11 under your criteria. Yep I'm done. Will have b/w ! and 3 rookies on field, depending on matchups. Cardinal sin number 37 I'm committing is starting 2 donuts.
And just ****ing start the round, waited long enough, to see which end of the 180k participants I'll be spending the year with.

What are peoples thoughts on Allen from Eagles as a 200k option? Seemed to score decent when he was fit. Plus side, he is probably a focal point in the Eagles forward line alongside Darling with Kennedy gone. Downside is Eagles are a bottom team now. Just needs to score enough to make coin which previous history shows he is capable of doing.

If you've got the spare coin and want to pay a premium for JS then he's a pickable player.

Average scores from 2020-2021 are comparable to an average/slightly above average rookie so you'd hope to get similar scores from players starting out 124k and below.

Look at his 2021 scores and you wouldn't want him anywhere near the starting 22, plenty of sub 50 scores so purely a bench option to make coin, and a steep one at that. But if he repeats an effort like rds 4+5 2021 (88 + 127) then he makes his cash early and you cut and run.

His best scores have come as a KPF so I'm not concerned that it's been flagged he won't get ruck time this year.

Overall a no for me

It will be interesting to see what the competition in BigFooty Blues 1 is doing on Sunday. I'll be hiding there and not going near Div 1, as I can match your 10. But no Yeo, Hopper, Sheed, Fyfe, Cunnington, Ash, Jones, Bowes for me, only 1 rookie on field in Ashcroft and maybe Ginbey. Will be making more changes before Thursday, mainly rookies. Fwds been done for near 2 weeks, Rucks haven't changed since opening in Dec, 1 mid and D position to lock down - actually just decided as writing this, which means 11 under your criteria. Yep I'm done. Will have b/w ! and 3 rookies on field, depending on matchups. Cardinal sin number 37 I'm committing is starting 2 donuts.
And just ******* start the round, waited long enough, to see which end of the 180k participants I'll be spending the year with.
I love it that you have gone down a different path.

I’m keen to see your team when you are ready

Vive la difference!

If you've got the spare coin and want to pay a premium for JS then he's a pickable player.

Average scores from 2020-2021 are comparable to an average/slightly above average rookie so you'd hope to get similar scores from players starting out 124k and below.

Look at his 2021 scores and you wouldn't want him anywhere near the starting 22, plenty of sub 50 scores so purely a bench option to make coin, and a steep one at that. But if he repeats an effort like rds 4+5 2021 (88 + 127) then he makes his cash early and you cut and run.

His best scores have come as a KPF so I'm not concerned that it's been flagged he won't get ruck time this year.

Overall a no for me

No more JK = lots of snags for Allen. Darling also not 100%. Plus he had 4 scoring shots in the preseason game.

I have him atm, as I am terrified if getting burned by the fwd rookies’ average JS

Overall a no for me
WC have a tough start to the year too, could be a long wait for for him to go up in price enough.

Seems like this has become the Tanner Bruhn thread. Saw this on Twitter today.

Captains reveal the lesser known players at their club who could play senior footy in 2023.

Been messing with team today while watching some NCAA finals. Go Blue Devils !!!

So far team structure is 10/8/4 (keepers/ mid-pricers/ rookies)

Every youtuber has suggested not having any rookies on-field in FWD line. So I’m doing the opposite and having no rookies on-field in DEF.
3 Premo / 3 MP’s. Yeo and Liam Jones D5/D6.
Reason- I don't want to use trades in DEF unless long term injury and structure with MPP’s suits byes upgrades in R14 & R15

Also I want to start season with best rookies even if they cost more and sit on bench. Can downgrade with this structure but its always harder to find cash to upgrade (correction trades).

So my team is opposite to most. With weaker starting fwd line.
2/2/2.. I reckon more Rookies will come thru the season in FWD line as downgrades and there will be some tasty MPP changes like Gawn, Petracca who I will want more then Rozee/Tarranto/Cogs so I’m leaving space for them after R6.

Toughest choice I have at the moment is L.Ash vs Wanga-Milera in the MIDS. As Both should become DEF eligible after R6. Perfect time to upgrade say Constable to a premo.

Or the big change. To protect against another Ruck-Apocalypse like last year is

D.Cameron (FWD) instead of Bruhn
Ditch L.Ash or Wanga-Milera and put Gibney back on-field.
Gibney is sitting at M9 will swap with Mackenzie depending on fixture.

Having top Rookies on bench is gonna do my head in each week if they are out performing anyone on-field. Might have to resort to coin flip.

Anyway. Hope everyone has a chilled out week.
Trust ya gut - No Risk No Reward. No Fun.

I know very little about Wanga-Milera, but I love the idea of him and swapping him back to D4-D6 in Week6. Halfback role is very appealing and an 80-85 avg seems achievable which would make him $150K.

I think I prefer him to Worpel purely because Worpel is a butcher and won't get DPP.

I count 7 mid-pricers in my team now. 3 backs, 3 mids & 1 forward. Just 2 days to go, can't bloody wait!

EDIT: I used a very rough template to work out numbers. For instance, i counted Green @ 530k as a mid-pricer but Im not counting Marshall (who is cheaper) because of the relative strength in each position. Marshall is more likely to be top 5% in his position than Green. I also counted Gulden as a MP in my forwardline. My backline MPs are all under 400k.

Strategy 2023 Midpricers Madness