Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

I think we should focus on quick skilled footballers who get the ball a lot . Just change it up from most years.

We have plenty that aren’t good uses or particularly fast.

I’m no expert of course so just a thought

Also want to mention Angus Hastie who should be a first rounder.

189cm athletic defender who uses it very well by foot.

No issue spending the Port 1st rounder on him, but as a I keep saying, there's still a lot of the season to play out.

Also want to mention Angus Hastie who should be a first rounder.

189cm athletic defender who uses it very well by foot.

No issue spending the Port 1st rounder on him, but as a I keep saying, there's still a lot of the season to play out.
We've got an abundance of defenders that height why would we want another

I think we should focus on quick skilled footballers who get the ball a lot . Just change it up from most years.

We have plenty that aren’t good uses or particularly fast.

I’m no expert of course so just a thought

We seem to focus on players with a history of missing a lot of junior footy.

We’ve gone Comben, Powell, Wardlaw, Perez, George over last few years. Also Phillips missed a lot of footy through Covid.

Not saying these are wrong, but it’s a bit of a theme.

We seem to focus on players with a history of missing a lot of junior footy.

We’ve gone Comben, Powell, Wardlaw, Perez, George over last few years. Also Phillips missed a lot of footy through Covid.

Not saying these are wrong, but it’s a bit of a theme.
Yes it seems to be our plan.
And for the most part it has backfired in spectacular fashion over the journey.

Ripped it up In the Vic metro v country trial today.

Top 5 all day long

I didn’t see the trial games but it seems that every time he steps out he takes his game to another level. Looks a very complete player who will have absolutely no worries transitioning to AFL level.

Would love it if he was still available at Port’s pick, but if he keeps developing the way he has over the last 6 weeks he’ll easily push into the top 10.

Watching the GC v Kangas game, I know the scoreline wasn't great but I reckon the kanagas are ahead of the GC and some other teams. From an outsider you could do with another ruckman (Jacob Edwards is taking a while to develop), a recycled big body that has the potential to be a serviceable mid, some speed and another good user down back so Sheezel can be released fwd. Look at how quick the crows have turned around their squad with a couple of dynamic fwds in Rachele and Rankine. Sheezel could do the same. Wardlaw will be in the team soon as well. I reckon success will come quicker than expected.

Hello again old friend!

jim carrey GIF

There's no way you take anyone else at #1 other than Harley Reid, but from a needs point of view, I'm convinced we need Archie Reid more than any other player in this crop.

Our midfield is fine and I don't think defense is our biggest issue. Our inability to contest in the air game after game is embarrassing.

If we finish anywhere but last at this stage of the season, I think we'd be looking no further than Archie Reid.

There's no way you take anyone else at #1 other than Harley Reid, but from a needs point of view, I'm convinced we need Archie Reid more than any other player in this crop.

Our midfield is fine and I don't think defense is our biggest issue. Our inability to contest in the air game after game is embarrassing.

If we finish anywhere but last at this stage of the season, I think we'd be looking no further than Archie Reid.

It’s hard to remember an AFL list with less depth in talls than what we currently have.

It’s like we’ve done the rebuild from the midfield out.

Other clubs such as Carlton, *scum, GC & Saints seem to have gone heavy on drafting and recruiting KPP first to get them maturing as they bolster the midfield along the way.

Mind you our recruiting has been that bad it doesn’t matter who we selected we probably would be having the same conversation…

Can you please tell me brayden George is as good as Humphries

Can somebody remind what GC or Bris got in priority picks, didn’t one of them get access to VFL players and then the following year get draft assistance?

Also didn’t Gil speak on this after we were awarded the draft assistance last year?

Brisbane got Pick 19 in 2016. Gold Coast got Pick 1 in 2019.