Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

Couple of WA players to keep an eye on. I personally haven't seen all of them play, but have a good mate involved with WA development who mentioned a few of these names when talking about KP's and quick outside or skilful types. I'd say the vast majority of these kids will get an opportunity in the state side at some stage.

Key Position Players:

Coen Livingstone - Was a key forward but is now more of a ruck due to a growth spurt that has him a tad over 200cm. Well built, physical and has decent athleticism. Capable of big contested marks.

Sam Van Rooyen - Cut from the same cloth as his brother. Leading goal kicker in the WAFL Colts with bags of 5,3,2 to start off the year. A touch undersize at 193cm and 85kg.

Luker Kentfield - Athletic key forward who really attacks the contest hard. Will be one of the younger players in this years draft with a later birth date. Good work rate, natural forward craft. Capable in the air but also on the ground. 194cm and 93kg. Stacks of upside. Made his debut at league level on the weekend, which is a pretty good feat for a 17 year old.

Mids/Flankers/Wings:

Clay Hall - 190cm left footer who is at home on both the inside and the outside. Has strong running capacity, mature body and isn't afraid to take the game on. Classy ball user and a point of difference considering his height. Made his league debut on the weekend and had 16 disposals and 6 tackles.

Lance Collard - Indigenous mid who has good skill, evasiveness and dynamic movement. Can play outside or inside and loves to kick goals.

Bailey Harbour - Half back or wing who likes to use his athleticism to mark and create off half back. Capable of big contested marks. Had 25 disposals and 12 marks in a BOG display for East Perth on the weekend

Jett Sibasado - Another left footer who has some serious X-factor. Excellent kick who loves to run and carry. Has some flair in his game with his run and carry. Predominantly an outside type.

It’s too early to tell. It seems to me that there might be more draftable players but less top end stars. And those top end stars maybe not in the positions of most value. It’s hard to value a draft highly without a lot of premium mids, and with an average to slightly above average tall crop.

It is a deep draft if you want the outside types - half forwards, half backs, wings, small forwards - with a dabble of mids and key position players here or there. The reality is that most clubs still need and want midfielders and especially want key position players. That being said compared to 2022, theres much more draftable KPP
That suits us perfectly really. We will have 2 highish picks for the KPPs or possibly a small and try to get value in the 20-40 range with another small and a good outside 2-way runner.

It’s like we’ve done the rebuild from the midfield out.

Other clubs such as Carlton, *scum, GC & Saints seem to have gone heavy on drafting and recruiting KPP first to get them maturing as they bolster the midfield along the way.

Mind you our recruiting has been that bad it doesn’t matter who we selected we probably would be having the same conversation…
I am genuinely interested what the precedent is with this. Outside of Geelong that were gifted 4-5 FSs and amazing value in the early 2000s to set up their dynasty, I can’t think of a single team that had sustained success (maybe 2000s WCE, 2010s Collingwood) that went midfield first.

Sydney, Richmond, Hawthorn, St Kilda, , Fremantle all invested early in their spine and added gun midfielders seasons into their rebuilds.

I saw that PM Bangers has Moir at 5. Souup is still my go to, but that’s redeemed my ego regarding footy talent.

He is still top ten for me. His talent and skill is pretty absurd, but the biggest issue is is that at the moment he is a bit one dimensional and hasn’t really developed his running capacity.

We are right in the mix for pick 1 again.

Would take an big offer to trade but not sure Reid is our most pressing need.

For near on ten years I’ve been screaming from the rooftops that in order to build the list we need consecutive years we have have at a minimum 4-5 picks inside the top 30. With our poor recruiting we need as many bites at the cherry to make it work, because we just don’t have the profile to attract the big free agents no matter how much we trade for them.

If we were to end up with pick 1 (Harley Reid) and someone offered us overs (3 first rounders with 2 inside the top 10) then we’d definitely have to entertain it.

For near on ten years I’ve been screaming from the rooftops that in order to build the list we need consecutive years we have have at a minimum 4-5 picks inside the top 30. With our poor recruiting we need as many bites at the cherry to make it work, because we just don’t have the profile to attract the big free agents no matter how much we trade for them.

If we were to end up with pick 1 (Harley Reid) and someone offered us overs (3 first rounders with 2 inside the top 10) then we’d definitely have to entertain it.
Reckon there’s no way we’d, effectively, give away the number one pick 3 years in a row.

What if we have 2 from McKay, 10 from Port and the Hawks offer is 3, 21 and a future 1st?

2, 3, 10 this year and 2 1st rounders in 2024. 2 could be in the top 5.

What if we have 2 from McKay, 10 from Port and the Hawks offer is 3, 21 and a future 1st?

2, 3, 10 this year and 2 1st rounders in 2024. 2 could be in the top 5.

Far out that would be tempting.

Pick 2: Nick Watson
Pick 3: Daniel Curtain
Pick 10: Archer Reid or Nate Caddy
Pick 21: Joel Friejah/Riley Hardeman

Sorts our small forward, KD Depth, KF Depth and wing depth in one draft.

With the addition of another first rounder in 2024.

I reckon I’d pull the trigger on that as it stands.