Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

Caddy and Wilson.

Do it.
My mate tells me he was speaking to a relative of Caddy today and they said "he (Nate) would be over the moon if North picked him up, a dream come true". So that would be a win-win situation.

If he is still with us in 4 or 5 years he'd have spent more of his life at North than he did In Tassie. In fact he could reach that point at the end of next year. Can't remember when he got to Tassie but it was when he was 10-12.
He was 12, Panthers Academy starts at U/13’s and he was in that.

I’d like to see Watson rip a rep game apart as a small forward before I picked him up at 2 or 3.
I respect the expert junior watchers like roos_fanatic08 Souup and Sphynx and their regard for Nick Watson (and yes, Ligma, I know you're a fan too) but if I've got a choice between a 170cm small forward (as in, very small) and a 193cm with aerobic ability, I know which way I'm going

I have no issues with his height, and he is a very exciting prospect.

I just think he’s a bit of a flat track bully. I haven’t seen him produce as a small forward in a game outside Coates league or school footy.

I guess would you take Charlie Curnow over Boomer or Milne?

I've said numerous times, I think Watson is going to end up a modern great like Boomer/Milne.

I just think he’s a bit of a flat track bully. I haven’t seen him produce as a small forward in a game outside Coates league or school footy.

He played great in last years Nationals as an underager.

What other opportunity has he had outside of NAB league or School footy? The single game against Port with a side playing their first game together?

He was also played off half back in these games.

He can't play VFL at the moment like Reid and Duursma as he has his Caulfield Grammar commitments as a requirement of his scholarship.

He's one of the few guys in this pool that is so elite at his one position, coaches are just throwing him around the field to demonstrate versatility....

I guess would you take Charlie Curnow over Boomer or Milne?

I've said numerous times, I think Watson is going to end up a modern great like Boomer/Milne.
Indeed, that's the dilemma. As I say, you're a better judge than me, but out of 800 odd players on an AFL list, the only one I know at 170cm is Caleb Daniel, so Nick will have some odds to get over. Mind you, he might have something on 170 come draft time

What other opportunity has he had outside of NAB league or School footy? The single game against Port with a side playing their first game together?

He was also played off half back in these games.

He can't play VFL at the moment like Reid and Duursma as he has his Caulfield Grammar commitments as a requirement of his scholarship.
Bloody private schools monopolizing junior talent and stunting overall development.

Port and Carlton

I don’t think he was great in the champs. Promising, sure. But not great. Compare to rankin’s under age carnival performance, now that was great.

As I said, I’m not anti Watson. Just want to see more in the champs to justify such a pick.

Indeed, that's the dilemma. As I say, you're a better judge than me, but out of 800 odd players on an AFL list, the only one I know at 170cm is Caleb Daniel, so Nick will have some odds to get over. Mind you, he might have something on 170 come draft time

Kosi Pickett is 171cm.

And with all due respect to Pickett and even Boomer, Watson is more agile and faster than both of them are/were.

He would have more pressure acts in a game than Boomer would have had in half a season, he's a very tough player for his size.

Caddy and Wilson.

Do it.

I’d be very happy with that, but I reckon that’s pretty unrealistic unless we trade up. The two of them will be taken inside the top ten I reckon.

Kicked 3 goals against SA as an underager in the champs last year, he was pretty impressive that game, but vic metro belted SA.

My mate tells me he was speaking to a relative of Caddy today and they said "he (Nate) would be over the moon if North picked him up, a dream come true". So that would be a win-win situation.
Or poort pick him up and we trade for him after a year

I’d be very happy with that, but I reckon that’s pretty unrealistic unless we trade up. The two of them will be taken inside the top ten I reckon.

Kicked 3 goals against SA as an underager in the champs last year, he was pretty impressive that game, but vic metro belted SA.

That was the one in the wet yeah? Where sheez played midfield?

Again, I’m not saying he’s no good. Just that if his best champs game this year is 3 goals as a small forward, I’d be wary.

As I said, I’m not anti Watson. Just want to see more in the champs to justify such a pick.

Well that goes with every top pick, if they have an ordinary champs, they tend to slide.

But you can't call his Coates League form flat tracking, he doesn't play for either of Oakleigh or Sandringham.

He's averaging 26 disposals and 1.6 goals per game (3.6 scoring shots per game) in the best u18 league in the country against his same age peers.

Again, I’m not saying he’s no good. Just that if his best champs game this year is 3 goals as a small forward, I’d be wary.

Sheez didn't have an absolutely massive Champs either.

He averaged 15 touches per game and kicked the 8 goals.

He had 2 good games and 2 relatively quiet ones.

IT was more his body of work and the numbers he put up consistently in the NAB League across the fullseason which really solidified his position.

Yep, that’s the one. In that game both he & Sheez were the two cleanest players on the ground.

Don’t worry, I too have my concerns. I really rate Watson but I still see it as a risky pick especially in the top 2. In saying that, there really aren’t too many other putting up consistently big numbers or consistency that’s deserving of a top 1-5 pick.

Reid, McKercher and Watson are the three who have been the most consistent across all levels so far.

2024 AFL Premiership Team...

McDonald, McKay, Logue
Bergman, Corr, Goater
Wilson, LDU, Scott
Watson, Comben, Simpkin
Zurhaar, Larkey, Stephenson
Xerri, Wardlaw, Phillips

CCJ, Thomas, Sheezel, Powell/George

Honestly guys, where are the holes in this team? Please tell me!

Okay I'm half joking, but honestly that team doesn't look half bad. What's the saying? Things are never as bad/good as they appear? It can turn quickly?

If we can somehow manage to scrounge a second top 5 or top 10 pick this year on top of porta deli's pick, and develop them all properly, we could finally get out of this hole and see a period of sustained success.
Harley Reid