Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

I know there is a lot of talk about Watson but I don't like how he plays for free kicks. 2 of his 4 goals last game were free kicks that won't get paid at AFL level.
I dream of a world where these free kicks are not called in the AFL, but that is a fantasy.

Agree

We are fine either way

Just need to do some combination of the above (KPP and small forward with our first 2 picks caddy/Watson and delean/Morris)

For hbf I’d trade a future second for an established hunter Clark or Lachie ash

Or draft Philactides
I was all Morris early in the year to hopefully get picked by the cats. I honestly believe his height might be an issue at that tricky 192cm. Not enough natural athleticism to make it at the next level, plus I really don’t understand why they played him in defence against SA in the champs. I’d imagine they can’t fit him in the forward line due to the likes of Croft and Caddy being rated higher. Yes, versatility might be a reason but I don’t think he’s a defender by any stretch of the imagination.

l will be speaking to Ben in a few weeks would you like me to ask him whats happening?

Maybe he might say something or maybe not or just give the generic line of "things are progressing and my manager is handling things" ...
Oh Good, ask him his thoughts on the pandemic and did the Andrew’s gov over commit.

Then his views on the current fiscal issues faced by Victoria.

Oh amd his views on artificial consciousness?

Oh Good, ask him his thoughts on the pandemic and did the Andrew’s gov over commit.

Then his views on the current fiscal issues faced by Victoria.

Oh amd his views on artificial consciousness?
Hope he says there's to much of it in the AFL media.

Fellow Roo-sters,

Forgive me for not reading this whole thread. I've tried searching but am none the wiser.

Question is - ignoring the value of Harley Reid for just one second - North would be cherry ripe to trade for pick 1 wouldn't we?

Picks 2 & 9 (or the PA pick) plus some other top up if it was needed - surely that would get the job done? Esp considering WC will probably be open for business.

What team would beat that without gutting themselves? Is H Reid ours to lose?

Assuming we want him, assuming he's great etc etc. Am I going mad to think this?

Fellow Roo-sters,

Forgive me for not reading this whole thread. I've tried searching but am none the wiser.

Question is - ignoring the value of Harley Reid for just one second - North would be cherry ripe to trade for pick 1 wouldn't we?

Picks 2 & 9 (or the PA pick) plus some other top up if it was needed - surely that would get the job done? Esp considering WC will probably be open for business.

What team would beat that without gutting themselves? Is H Reid ours to lose?

Assuming we want him, assuming he's great etc etc. Am I going mad to think this?
Where is pick 9 appearing from?

The trait that makes touted No.1 pick special​

There is plenty to like about Harley Reid, but his Victoria Country coach Paul Corrigan rates one of his qualities above all others.

The 18-year-old forward-midfielder is considered certain to be the first player taken in this year’s AFL draft, a status that has come with an extraordinary amount of hype.

For some footballers, let alone teenagers, that pressure might be all-consuming, but not so for Reid, who doesn’t let much faze him and has hobbies, like hunting, that enable him to escape from the football bubble. Fellow Country rising star Zane Duursma, younger brother of Port Adelaide’s Xavier and Yasmin, and the potential No.2 pick, shares that skill as well.

“Harley doesn’t get consumed by external noise. He knows his ability and what he can do, and goes out and enjoys it without complicating what he needs to do – it’s his best trait,” Corrigan told Money Talks.

“He enjoys footy, and he might be playing a nationals game or for the AFL Academy, but he treats every game similar. Zane has a bit of that, too, and I think it helped playing [in the under-18 championships] last year.”

Reid and Duursma were standouts in Country’s surprise loss to South Australia at Ikon Park on Sunday. They were considered equal favourites pre-championships with the Allies, who are unbeaten through two games.

The Allies boast top-end talents such as Jed Walter, Ryley Sanders, Colby McKircher, Jake Rogers, Ethan Read and Connor O’Sullivan, but Country are not short on promise either, even beyond Reid and Duursma.

Darcy Wilson, Joel Freijah, Harry DeMattia, Archer Reid, George Stevens, Cooper Simpson and defensive duo Billy Wilson and Angus Hastie are all turning AFL recruiters’ heads.

“We used Darcy predominantly as a half-forward [on Sunday], but he’s one with a great running capacity and can break lines, so hopefully he comes into his own in the next three games,” Corrigan said.
“What’s good about Joel is he can win the ball at ground level, but is strong in the air, too, so he’s a hard match-up on the wing, and has the ability to go inside as well.”
Finn O’Sullivan returned from injury to play for Xavier College on Saturday and will feature for Country at some stage, after winning the Kevin Sheehan Medal as the Pool A best and fairest at last year’s under-16 championships.

June Draft Picks

Pick 2 - Duursma

Pick 18 - Philactides or Freijah

Pick 39 - Lual

Picks 54 & 59 - Anastasopoulos, Callinan and/or Van Rooyen

Rookie - Ethan Phillips
I love the rookie Ethan Phillips suggestion. Strange he was never drafted after winning the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal.
Is Freijah quick enough for high HB? Looks better suited to a wing.

The trait that makes touted No.1 pick special​

There is plenty to like about Harley Reid, but his Victoria Country coach Paul Corrigan rates one of his qualities above all others.

The 18-year-old forward-midfielder is considered certain to be the first player taken in this year’s AFL draft, a status that has come with an extraordinary amount of hype.

For some footballers, let alone teenagers, that pressure might be all-consuming, but not so for Reid, who doesn’t let much faze him and has hobbies, like hunting, that enable him to escape from the football bubble. Fellow Country rising star Zane Duursma, younger brother of Port Adelaide’s Xavier and Yasmin, and the potential No.2 pick, shares that skill as well.

“Harley doesn’t get consumed by external noise. He knows his ability and what he can do, and goes out and enjoys it without complicating what he needs to do – it’s his best trait,” Corrigan told Money Talks.

“He enjoys footy, and he might be playing a nationals game or for the AFL Academy, but he treats every game similar. Zane has a bit of that, too, and I think it helped playing [in the under-18 championships] last year.”

Reid and Duursma were standouts in Country’s surprise loss to South Australia at Ikon Park on Sunday. They were considered equal favourites pre-championships with the Allies, who are unbeaten through two games.

The Allies boast top-end talents such as Jed Walter, Ryley Sanders, Colby McKircher, Jake Rogers, Ethan Read and Connor O’Sullivan, but Country are not short on promise either, even beyond Reid and Duursma.

Darcy Wilson, Joel Freijah, Harry DeMattia, Archer Reid, George Stevens, Cooper Simpson and defensive duo Billy Wilson and Angus Hastie are all turning AFL recruiters’ heads.

“We used Darcy predominantly as a half-forward [on Sunday], but he’s one with a great running capacity and can break lines, so hopefully he comes into his own in the next three games,” Corrigan said.
“What’s good about Joel is he can win the ball at ground level, but is strong in the air, too, so he’s a hard match-up on the wing, and has the ability to go inside as well.”
Finn O’Sullivan returned from injury to play for Xavier College on Saturday and will feature for Country at some stage, after winning the Kevin Sheehan Medal as the Pool A best and fairest at last year’s under-16 championships.

Partly because of JFHF but also because eggs and baskets, I'd be against loading up for pick #1 just to get Reid. But my draftee knowledge is superficial at best.

Souup roos_fanatic08 or Sphynx would any of you even contemplate shedding multiple first round picks just to move to the coveted #1 position for Reid?

June Draft Picks

Pick 2 - Duursma

Pick 18 - Philactides or Freijah

Pick 39 - Lual

Picks 54 & 59 - Anastasopoulos, Callinan and/or Van Rooyen

Rookie - Ethan Phillips
I don’t mind Duursma but I would only select him after Caddy and Watson (and obviously Reid)

So if we have a top 3 pick we can do better imo

Souup has previously pointed out some very relevant criticisms of Duursma, but against SA he showed improvement. His game wasn't perfect, but there were plenty of moments where he looked the part of a convincing inside mid.

He isn't a consistent player yet like McKercher or Sanders, but those players don't excite me nearly as much as Duursma at his best. If Duursma keeps building, then he will have a strong case to be picked ahead of Watson.

At this stage, Watson is still a clear number two, but a lot of clubs would be hoping that somebody like Caddy, Duursma, Curtain, Edwards, or O'Sullivan overtakes him by year-end. For me, Duursma looks the most likely. The thirty touches with 10+ clearances game from him is imminent.

Not a BOG performance by any means, but the blueprint is there.

Some may wonder why a clip of contested work with mixed results is leading to a guy being in the discussion for pick #2, but a guy with his pace and height doing that is pretty special.

Once you add in the context of some of the X-factor that he has shown on the outside in other games, I think he starts to look like a pretty special player. The type of player that even his doubters wouldn't be shocked if he ends up being the best player from this draft. If he keeps on improving he'll be playing for us next year.

Souup roos_fanatic08 or Sphynx would any of you even contemplate shedding multiple first round picks just to move to the coveted #1 position for Reid?

Just say Port were mid table and we had pick 2 and an another pick inside the top 10. I wouldn’t even entertain trading those two picks for Reid. Even if the picks were down the line a bit say 4 & 12. I still think you are going to get better value out of those two picks rather than just getting Reid.

The other benefit of those other picks is that you have the ability to use them on draft night to improve your draft hand.

Just say Port were mid table and we had pick 2 and an another pick inside the top 10. I wouldn’t even entertain trading those two picks for Reid. Even if the picks were down the line a bit say 4 & 12. I still think you are going to get better value out of those two picks rather than just getting Reid.

The other benefit of those other picks is that you have the ability to use them on draft night to improve your draft hand.
I agree and I reckon as the year is playing out he is only worth 2 x FRP's and maybe a second RP at best. I'm not too sure clubs will want to give up too much for him. But let's be honest atm he's bloody great but the difference between Reid and say pick 10 isn't a lot. He's probably a great fit for Melb or Bulldogs.

I don’t mind Duursma but I would only select him after Caddy and Watson (and obviously Reid)

So if we have a top 3 pick we can do better imo
Totally agree Nost. At least hallf the posters on here have been screaming out for us to draft a small FWD for years now that it looks like we have the chance to draft one and Watson looks like a ripper they are baulking at the chance saying he is to small and to much of a risk with pick 2.