Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

My post was centred around people suggesting we take both Dursma and Curtin.

I was pointing out we can't have both and need one of Sanders or Kerch to cover possible losses of TT and Wardlaw if his hammies don't come good.

I'd take Dursma everyday of the week before Curtin.

I think Curtin is still a pick 6 at best and has the biggest chance of being a bust but if the club believes he is worth it then so be it.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

The one and only time I went to a game at Vic Park. An eye opener. Luckily went with a pies supporter.

Enjoyed the game greatly but I said would never go back there.
I was with my brothers and their friends who are all Pies supporters so I felt safe enough that day when McAdam went BANG.

Victoria Park was the most feral suburban ground of them all and was just as feral/dangerous trying to walk the streets outside after the game.

I personally would be targeting as many key position with our picks as possible. Mids you can get whenever. Arguably we already have too many of them.

I went to Moorabbin once to watch us with my mate and his dad (both Saints). No idea where we were sitting but I remember listening to an absolute tirrade of racist abuse against an aborginal player at one point from all around me, directed to a Saints player. From their supporters. This was late 80's / 90ish - I was floored.
Remember my one trip to moorabbin with my dad ... the amount of ferals who belly crawled under a cyclone fence rather than paying. Also a couple of punch ups at Arden St. When their mob slunk down. Have a lingering memory of the sound of empty beer cans flying everywhere in the melee ... good old days

I went to Moorabbin once to watch us with my mate and his dad (both Saints). No idea where we were sitting but I remember listening to an absolute tirrade of racist abuse against an aborginal player at one point from all around me, directed to a Saints player. From their supporters. This was late 80's / 90ish - I was floored.
Wouldve been late 80s when i went and there and a caged area was the right housing for most of them.
Those were days you buy full strength beer in cans at reasonable prices too.

Yeah, he played one game for them early on in the season which is a fair point just think the optics at this time of year isn't great with all the chatter 🤣
Or he is a kid with a sense of humour and is doing the old:

"Hold my beer, watch this"

Kid should should start trolling media by posting photos out the front of different clubs.

My post was centred around people suggesting we take both Dursma and Curtin.

I was pointing out we can't have both and need one of Sanders or Kerch to cover possible losses of TT and Wardlaw if his hammies don't come good.

I'd take Dursma everyday of the week before Curtin.

I think Curtin is still a pick 6 at best and has the biggest chance of being a bust but if the club believes he is worth it then so be it.

A bit more watching and stuff it, im going all in on Sanders now.
Anyone interested should watch the vid below. A few points of interest
  • 1.20 Cant tell me that isnt a JHF move right there. Strong legs turns on a dime.
  • 2.05 Question marks over his burst speed? Gotta be kidding me.
  • Watch the numerous kicks to a teammates advantage.
  • Footy IQ easy to see
  • And perhaps his biggest weapon, the kid is an absolute one touch player. Not sure ive seen better tbh.
Gimme Sanders + Duursma and ill be stoked. Then 17 and 18 (2010pts) for pick 7(1644) or 8(1551) for one of O'Sullivan, Curtin, Caddy or even Watson if he slides.
2,3, 7/8 and 15

Edit: Btw i could live with taking both Sanders and McKercher. But team balance wise the utility of Duursma seems a prefect fit. The way the game is going these sorts may well become the most sort after.

Sounds like you need to take 3 picks into the draft? If that’s correct, does this increase the likelihood of GEE looking to split P8?
Yeah thats right. Showing they only have 1 pick and thats 8, is that correct? If so 17, 18 and 65 for pick 8. They aint getting a better split than that.

A bit more watching and stuff it, im going all in on Sanders now.
Anyone interested should watch the vid below. A few points of interest
  • 1.20 Cant tell me that isnt a JHF move right there. Strong legs turns on a dime.
  • 2.05 Question marks over his burst speed? Gotta be kidding me.
  • Watch the numerous kicks to a teammates advantage.
  • Footy IQ easy to see
  • And perhaps his biggest weapon, the kid is an absolute one touch player. Not sure ive seen better tbh.
Gimme Sanders + Duursma and ill be stoked. Then 17 and 18 (2010pts) for pick 7(1644) or 8(1551) for one of O'Sullivan, Curtin, Caddy or even Watson if he slides.
2,3, 7/8 and 15

Yeah right up there with Mckercher for me, and also less likely to leave for Tassie

Yeah thats right. Showing they only have 1 pick and thats 8, is that correct? If so 17, 18 and 65 for pick 8. They aint getting a better split than that.
They had 87 too, maybe it’s been pushed beyond range with compo picks? Esava trade could give them another. Love to get our hands on 8!

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]