Training 2023 Pre Season

I
I was talking true CHFs/Key forward, and not just forwards generally.

Heath is tall, but does not have the mobility for CHF. Is also not ready this year

Keeler does and yes is definitely a future CHF option. But is raw and skinny this season.

Membrey is a very good third tall forward, but has not really played as key position forward. Sharma too also looks to be more your third tall type.
Hayes will undersized looks more like a key position type, but at this stage is not proven at AFL level, though he looked very good in his limited gametime.

Now the problem is that if Max is out at any stage, that our current "ready to play" marking forwards are 193cm players. With Max in I think that should work ok, but when Max is out it may not work as well.

Doggies for example have Naughton, Bruce, Lobb and Jamara. Naughton is their runt at only 195cm. Plus English is a very handy when he plays forward. And then they also have the 204cm Sam Darcy to be groomed. So to my way of thinking the Saints are light on for true key forward types. That is not tos ay that Hayes will not make it as a key forward, but if he does I will still regard him as un undersized key forward. Curnow player that height who plays well in the role.ow being an example
think Hayes can do fine. He’s more proven as a key forward than a ruck. Even as a ruck he rucks the same way as say a tom Hawkins Part timer rather than an actual one. Sharman when max was last injured kicked 4 as the focal point. Membrey is often our main forward if king is out of form or injured or even before we had king. He’s small but he’s key forward capable

Maybe the club will just need to play Heath in some kind of ruck/ forward capacity- may be the best way to get him up to the next level required.
No reason he can’t be a forward. Ruck he’ll get pushed around but he’s as big as some of the young forwards playing now. He can learn on the job a bit maybe taking 10-15% ruck duties

Just watching some of our game from R22 against Brisbane. What a game from Maso Wood!

Will be very interesting to see what role or roles he plays this year. Really think he’s best suited to playing on a HFF. Played forward a lot that night.
He earned my respect last year. Got to a point late in the year where you knew what you were going to get a la McKenzie. Very very much first 22 in my eyes, wing or high half forward I reckon

I don’t think there would be too many teams in the league who would knock back someone who’s around 192cm, quick, runs all day, a very nice and long left foot kick, can clunk a mark, who can play a variety of roles, is relatively experienced, can kick big and regular goals, and who tackles well for a guy his size.

I reckon he’s also the type of guy you’d like to have in a finals team, as he could pop up and turn a game with a big goal or two.

Hopefully he’s a Tom Hickey like late bloomer.

AFL website. Saints website.
Angry Season 3 GIF by SuccessionHBO

Josh Walker or Sam Naismith would be the ones IMO. Aware the former has retired and the latter is made of glass but I don't see what else is out there.

We should stick with what we have and make do for that first 4-6 weeks.

Naismith was very unlucky, did his knee and they botched his surgery so missed heaps of footy. Hickey came in and stole his spot. He was looking great at one point before the knee.

It will make it a lot easier to move Battle forward if Coff is back in defence.
Will be interesting on Wednesday as may well see a taste of what Ross has planned.
I hope for one it is Cordy who goes to the fwd/ruck role. Has experience in the role and done ok. Not sure he will keep up with Jackson but just has to compete and body up.
Battle and Howard are too important in defense and along with Wilkie formed a good team last year. Its what we should be building around.
Feel like Heath is a bit raw.

Otherwise go small and hope the likes of Membrey/Sharman/Owens/Wood can cover as needed

So do I.

Don't mistake my earlier post that we lack another true big forward on our list as a knock on Hayes. It is not.

There is a reason why we have a tall forward trialling with us at present.
Is Eyre training as a KPF or KPD?

Sounds like Roma is set for a big year. The last time he had the no.1 ruck role he came 2nd in the B&F, at just 23yo, and was one of the top 5 or so in the comp in that role, but since then he’s played mostly forward- where he’s nowhere near as good- and on top of that played injured for all of his games in 2021, and seemed to still be hampered throughout last season as well.

If he’s back to full-fitness and relatively injury-free this year he could have a huge year, in what is by far his preferred role.
He was a very happy chappy at training, probably did the most photo ops and stayed back signing the most jumpers, caps, footies and things.
J Steele on the other hand wasn't very happy, was constantly berating himself when doing a drill in the forward pocket.

Training 2023 Pre Season