Training 2023 Pre Season

It's baffling we didn't sign someone. The situation we are now in up forward was completely foreseeable. We saw it in the last 6 weeks, and that was with King in the side.

I understand our reluctance to part with draft picks but surely there was someone out there we could have gone harder at to prevent 2nd year midfielders having to pinch hit in the ruck.

Well the down side of that is playing Campbell etc for a whole game you are carrying a guy who is a specialist one position ruck and playing a man down. We were spoiled with Ryder because he was good enough as a KP to allow us to play 2 rucks.

Say what?
He rucked the whole 2019 season alone.
You make it sound like he's a novice.

2019 St Kilda Hitouts Per Game Leaders (Minimum 5 Games Played)​
RankNameGamesAverage
1​
20​
28.40​
2​
10​
1.90​
3​
22​
1.59​
4​
19​
0.47​
5​
16​
0.12​
6​
18​
0.06​
7​
22​
0.05​
7​
22​
0.05​
You misunderstood me. Of course Marshall is no novice, but he has battled through injuries the last two years and had the support of Ryder in that period.

Stoked for this bloke, didn’t ever get a crack at Carlton on ball where he thrived. Seems the Blues looked at his recruitment profile and were adamant on him becoming a Luke Hodge type instead.

Think he goes well for you, have seen enough to think he belongs at the level so to get him for free after letting him run around with your senior list at training for a couple months is a massive tick.

Thanks, hope he works out too. It sounds like he's had a pretty hard time adjusting to footy life. I hope it all works out for him and if he becomes a good player it's a bonus. The Saints have put a fair amount of money into the mental health stuff over the last few years. It would be great if it helps him adjust to the pressures of the industry and he leaves the club in a better head space than he arrived in.

Unfortunately this good news story has been soured by the news I’ve heard that Mason Wood has, what appears to be a groin injury at training this morning.

100% bang on the money. If we're that desperate sit him at FF and he'll draw a defender and learn heaps.

We’ve got plenty of experience in our forward like to play Moose there & not throw him to the wolves.

The kid had heaps of talent & some real mongrel too.

Give him the 5 or 6 weeks until Winx is back I reckon.

Unfortunately this good news story has been soured by the news I’ve heard that Mason Wood has, what appears to be a groin injury at training this morning.

Any idea of how bad it is? Tweak or tear?

Wrap anybody above 190cm in cotton wool stat

We’ve got plenty of experience in our forward like to play Moose there & not throw him to the wolves.

The kid had heaps of talent & some real mongrel too.

Give him the 5 or 6 weeks until Winx is back I reckon.

Lyon used to love to sit Kosi at the top of the goal square so it's not against possibility. Pretty sure they used to sit Sandilands up forward like that too at times.

Could only be a tweak. On the bike in the gym. Doesn’t look too bad.
Is Eyre training still after Stocker being signed up.
Just wondering if they have made a call him or not yet.
I know they have a few weeks still. But if they are eyeing someone else they might make an early call on him.

The obvious forward/ruck option while Hayes is out is probably Cordy. Has shown he can be a handy forward and I think he has pinch hit before.
He seemed to play fwd at least through the Rd5-10 period for dogs last year cordy.JPG

Our rucks are fine and not far off what most sides carry. Heath developing, Campbell is mature depth in case of emergency, Roma is the main man. Guys like Battle, Sharman, Hayes have all fill-in rucked around the ground at stoppages etc.

We also brought in Keeler who should develop into a key position forward/ruck. If Owens rucks it will be as a stoppage ruck in the forward half. In case of an absolute emergency we play Howard or even Cordy as a ruck and push someone back for them.

Also worth pointing out that ol mate Max King has shown he's not adverse to, and not useless at, taking ruck contests in the forward 50.

He's even taken them with both ryder and marshall playing.

Naturally coming off a shoulder reco- probably not wise to throw him into it straight away this year.

But 2024 and beyond, (if we are smart) he could well give a tom hawkins style chopout for marshall by taking some (or all?) the ruckwork inside forward 50.

Him doing that, plus the backup and emerging options listed by gringo above should be fine.

Especially given marshall improved his tapwork enormously last year.

Of course all this hinges on marshall staying fit.
If he is out for ~6+ games a year for the next few years- then we are gonna really suffer with this approach.

Also worth pointing out that ol mate Max King has shown he's not adverse to, and not useless at, taking ruck contests in the forward 50.

He's even taken them with both ryder and marshall playing.

Naturally coming off a shoulder reco- probably not wise to throw him into it straight away this year.

But 2024 and beyond, (if we are smart) he could well give a tom hawkins style chopout for marshall by taking some (or all?) the ruckwork inside forward 50.

Him doing that, plus the backup and emerging options listed by gringo above should be fine.

Especially given marshall improved his tapwork enormously last year.

Of course all this hinges on marshall staying fit.
If he is out for ~6+ games a year for the next few years- then we are gonna really suffer with this approach.

If Marshall is injured, Campbell plays , based on 2022 form.

Our rucks are fine and not far off what most sides carry. Heath developing, Campbell is mature depth in case of emergency, Roma is the main man. Guys like Battle, Sharman, Hayes have all fill-in rucked around the ground at stoppages etc.

We also brought in Keeler who should develop into a key position forward/ruck. If Owens rucks it will be as a stoppage ruck in the forward half. In case of an absolute emergency we play Howard or even Cordy as a ruck and push someone back for them.
Yes, we're fine for first rucks, but really few options for a second ruck - that being a guy who can attend 20-30% of centre bounces (not just the around the ground stuff) and actually do non-ruck stuff, usually as as forward, for the other 70%. Hayes is about the only one. I query whether King, Membrey and Sharman can do centre bounce stuff. Yes, Battle could possibly do it but that would require moving him forward (which I think we should do, incidentally).

Training 2023 Pre Season