Teams 2023 Rate My Preseason Team

Haven't changed this much at all.

Tried to swap Macrae and Steele for Touk and Butters but switched it back.
Steele & Cripps have swapped frequently.
Taranto & Butters/Rozee are interchangeable, but JHF has been in there also.
Cunnington for JHF is another one, but waiting on pre-season.

Starting the Bont for the first time ever gives me a semi-chubby. Can't wait to see how the nasally-endowed stud smashes the opposition while playing 90% in the guts. It's most certainly fapworthy. LOCKED
Olliepig is simply LOCKED.

Witts seems the most reliable and durable ruck, and Marshall was always a lock with big Paddy done, despite the murmurings about playing forward.

Discuss, critique (oh shut up Titch haters), or tell me how wonderful I am.

View attachment 1601304
Been a bit of chatter in the twitterverse that Ollie pig is still having issues with the hand he injured late last year. This all but confirms it. I'll look at him as a trade in target.

Haven't changed this much at all.

Tried to swap Macrae and Steele for Touk and Butters but switched it back.
Steele & Cripps have swapped frequently.
Taranto & Butters/Rozee are interchangeable, but JHF has been in there also.
Cunnington for JHF is another one, but waiting on pre-season.

Starting the Bont for the first time ever gives me a semi-chubby. Can't wait to see how the nasally-endowed stud smashes the opposition while playing 90% in the guts. It's most certainly fapworthy. LOCKED
Olliepig is simply LOCKED.

Witts seems the most reliable and durable ruck, and Marshall was always a lock with big Paddy done, despite the murmurings about playing forward.

Discuss, critique (oh shut up Titch haters), or tell me how wonderful I am.

View attachment 1601304
Ignoring (and bookmarking) that parting shot, at least for a little while yet...

Something a little out of whack with all that cash splashed on 5 mids, but it's 6 of one territory, isn't it?

Cunners at M3 seems a bit thin F wise, but I wouldn't want to shave anything further from the backs line, which sits quite nicely.

I guess your structure probably swings on Steele and where he is at come R1.

The bloke at M5 you could achieve the same score and better cash with Hopper and then maybe spend a farthing or 2 more up front. ( didn't last long, but really...).

I think now we have 36 trades to squander, running with two of the more costly rucks is the way to go, too. I have WittKervis, so if either goes down, no worries about a comparable replacement.

Looks a solid line-up, overall, the F line observations aside.

Been a bit of chatter in the twitterverse that Ollie pig is still having issues with the hand he injured late last year. This all but confirms it. I'll look at him as a trade in target.

I also found this piece of quite important news, for those hoping for a cheap seagull at the Dees:

1675672856987.png

Ignoring (and bookmarking) that parting shot, at least for a little while yet...

Something a little out of whack with all that cash splashed on 5 mids, but it's 6 of one territory, isn't it?

Cunners at M3 seems a bit thin F wise, but I wouldn't want to shave anything further from the backs line, which sits quite nicely.

I guess your structure probably swings on Steele and where he is at come R1.

The bloke at M5 you could achieve the same score and better cash with Hopper and then maybe spend a farthing or 2 more up front. ( didn't last long, but really...).

I think now we have 36 trades to squander, running with two of the more costly rucks is the way to go, too. I have WittKervis, so if either goes down, no worries about a comparable replacement.

Looks a solid line-up, overall, the F line observations aside.
I reckon you're laughing with Cunnington at F3.

IIRC last year my forward line in R1 was something like:

Dunkley, Treloar, Butters, Brodie, Rachele, Martin, Hayes, SDK.

And it was probably my best performing line relative to how much cash I spent on it.

IMO you'd be blowing too much cash on your forwards if he was anything less than F3.

I reckon you're laughing with Cunnington at F3.

IIRC last year my forward line in R1 was something like:

Dunkley, Treloar, Butters, Brodie, Rachele, Martin, Hayes, SDK.

And it was probably my best performing line relative to how much cash I spent on it.

IMO you'd be blowing too much cash on your forwards if he was anything less than F3.
Oh mate, I am absolutely potting him, so no, would upgrade the slot altogether.

He could go bang, but the science of SC, as we all know, is weighted heavily in the favour of confirmation bias, one way and the other.

So, the cancer is an immediate disqualifier, like English's glass body, like Mitchell's shoulder and inability to kick the thing anymore, like Roma's foot, Stewart's mental health, you know, all those percentiles that we fashion into our latest illusions of fool's gold.

If Cunners does a Doch. then there will be plenty of time to correct him in.

Bont, of course, shoulder and all, has never left my side since b4 Xmas, but he has a proven ability to play with the pain and gets extra mid time this year, as the trade-off in the risk reward part of the puzzle.

I'm burn't out ....can't bear to look at my team again, until the PS games .....I've researched, listened to podcasts, to get an advantage .....but here I am with a team 80% the same as everyone else

help me1.gif

I'm burn't out ....can't bear to look at my team again, until the PS games .....I've researched, listened to podcasts, to get an advantage .....but here I am with a team 80% the same as everyone else

View attachment 1601409
Best episode of the Big Bang Theory series

View attachment 1601409
I just refreshed my team by deliberately trading out all of the players who i had previously deemed as locks. It helped me look more objectively at different options rather than continue beating my head against a wall by changing say 5-6 players in and out and in and out so many times. In the end i went back to most of the players i deliberately traded out, but not all of them. No guarantee it will help you but it worked for me as a bit of a refresher.

I get to the same point each year .....oscillating over D3/D4 and F3/F4 .....plus this year, the R1 role

Just pick the big Sun and bask in his sunshine, while pointing and laughing at those scrambling to replace underperforming or fragile rucks.

Pedlar in
Milera in
HClark out…

Abide George’s opposite mantra.
Flip it around - that will refresh your team :p

Pedlar in
Milera in
HClark out…

Abide George’s opposite mantra.
Flip it around - that will refresh your team :p
Pedlar hasn't left my team .....a few other options to consider at Milera's price

Clark .....now you're being cruel

I do agree with "flipping" ....if you flip players around enough, magically you can get a player in, you couldn't previously afford

Stuck here until more info comes in. Yeo into the D will be considered if he looks like making a solid intro into 2023

If anything looks like a bad idea here please pipe up

View attachment 1601498
Are you not worried about Cameron sharing the ruck with Cox according to Adams the other day on SportDay he’s expecting A 50/50 split between the 2

Are we not worried about Cameron having a hamstring (?) complaint. No. Not at the moment is the answer to both

Just edited OP to ask for reasons why a selected player would be a bad idea. Feel free to elaborate on your selections good sir
Gawn will split ruck with Grundy and lose points, I feel there's better options for the price for Ginbey and Makenzie although most have Ginbey, Kelly seems past his prime and is injury prone imo.

Gawn split ruck last year and was still #1 ruck. Has been #1 ruck for a fair while. Injuries the only concern. Plus, we're talking about Gawn. He'll be the best ruck in SC until he isn't. At this stage he still is

Kelly:
1675685244799.png
Only missed a game or two the last 2 years and even before that a few of his injuries were a bit unlucky

Appreciate the feedback. Have a crack at my responses. Not many teams with Gawn and I'm happy if he's a bit of a pod

Gawn split ruck last year and was still #1 ruck. Has been #1 ruck for a fair while. Injuries the only concern. Plus, we're talking about Gawn. He'll be the best ruck in SC until he isn't. At this stage he still is

Kelly:
View attachment 1601508
Only missed a game or two the last 2 years and even before that a few of his injuries were a bit unlucky

Appreciate the feedback. Have a crack at my responses. Not many teams with Gawn and I'm happy if he's a bit of a pod
Fair point on Kelly.
Grundy is a bit of a one trick pony ,Jackson could play forward when playing with Gawn, so I think Gawn will play more forward time this year.

Fair point on Kelly.
Grundy is a bit of a one trick pony ,Jackson could play forward when playing with Gawn, so I think Gawn will play more forward time this year.
I'm no Dees expert but I'd be expecting Gawn to play Ruck with a leaning to defensive intercept. He seems to do that well. No idea what they will have Grundy doing but he probably fills the role Jackson played last year, with a slightly better result for the team
Just my thoughts