Autopsy 2023 Rd 16 Blues don't give a ruck but thrash Hawks anyway

Who played well for the Blues in Round 16 vs the Hawks?

Just had some fun with the ladder predictor.

I think 13 wins will be required to secure top 8. 12 wins + draw + percentage might get it done.

Win 7+ of our last 8 and we're a lock.

Win 6 of our last 8 and we will be relying on perecentage.

Win 5 of our last 8 and we need a LOT to go our way.

But if we're good enough to make it we're good enough to win it.

Great result. Happy with the win. But team selection continues to puzzle.

Ed Curnow had another non-performance. I don't understand why he his playing.

George "Backwards Handball Specialist" Hewett predictable impact as sub with 6 handballs and NEGATIVE 27 METRES GAINED. :$

Everyone else :hearteyes:
Everyone saying Dow comes on when the heat is out, why didn't Hewett dominate when he came on?

Dow has to play

Everyone saying Dow comes on when the heat is out, why didn't Hewett dominate when he came on?

Dow has to play
I particularly hated the bit when Jack Silvagni and the coach were besties - makes my blood boil - how about you?

Nothing to complain about today other than the obvious (why can't we be more consistent and how did we end up here)
You can't be a prick to your wife all year and then buy her flowers one day and expect it to be all roses mate

Dow has to play
Ed Curnow is not best 22. Looked cooked running defensively. Dow adds a different dynamic with lightening hands and a great sidestep. Really pleased with Fogarty and the pressure around the ball. Play like that and we would be hard to beat. Great 4 quarter performance.

Nothing to complain about today other than the obvious (why can't we be more consistent and how did we end up here)
You can't be a prick to your wife all year and then buy her flowers one day expect it to be all roses mate

Nor can you give up, sack the other, when things aren't going swimmingly all the time

That was a bit better, but again it's important to remember that Hawthorn are a structurally weak opposition that are winding down for the year. We're still not rotating players smartly enough in and between games, and I really hope we refine this and stop losing so many key players to injury.

:whitecheck: Martin playing a full game with decent minutes
:whitecheck: Cuningham being involved and showing his utter class, repeatedly to the disbelief of Dwayne Russell
:whitecheck: Cerra being in Brownlow form
:whitecheck: Cripps showing some class and (usually) smart run
:whitecheck: Jack slotting in nicely
:whitecheck: Harry just does not stop working, goal kicking an issue but part technique, part confidence, part chronic groin injury
:whitecheck: Charlie also very solid and very smartly managed by being subbed out
:whitecheck: Fogarty playing the Fisher role better than anyone on our list ever has
:whitecheck: Walsh getting to the outside more
:whitecheck: Docherty getting behind the ball more
:whitecheck: Weitering, McGovern and Kemp getting in the play more

:minus: Kennedy's body not holding up well against strength/endurance speed mix on-ball unit again, no consistent second position despite his smarts
:minus: Cincotta and Boyd still failing to feature as much as you'd like given their offensive weaponry

❌ Young often terrified of marking the ball
:crossmark: Cripps and Walsh still have incredibly selfish moments of play in how they demand and carry the ball, trust in team mates required
❌ Ed makes no sense to me when Docherty could be more behind the ball and Walsh could be more on the wing... surely space for Dow in that paradigm

Solid game. Still think our skills will let us down against top 8 sides though.
Should get better as the confidence improves. Pies were the worst skilled team in the comp then suddenly aren't anymore etc.

West coasts skills look pretty good today suddenly too.

Same.as the nonsense we're too slow bullshit. We didn't look slow this week nor against gc. Attitude, confidence and direct ball movement creates that speed illusion just as it creates a slow illusion when you try to move the ball around and overly cautiously. Ed, owies, young, JSos etc were part of fast sequences today.

All I care about is the group growing their confidence and continuously being encouraged to play positive footy. Keep them away from the negative first methods!

That was a bit better, but again it's important to remember that Hawthorn are a structurally weak opposition that are winding down for the year. We're still not rotating players smartly enough in and between games, and I really hope we refine this and stop losing so many key players to injury.

:whitecheck: Cuningham being involved and showing his utter class, repeatedly to the disbelief of Dwayne Russell
:whitecheck: Harry just does not stop working, goal kicking an issue but part technique, part confidence, part chronic groin injury
:whitecheck: Charlie also very solid and very smartly managed by being subbed out
:whitecheck: Fogarty playing the Fisher role better than anyone on our list ever has

:minus: Kennedy's body not holding up well against strength/endurance mix on-ball unit again, no consistent second position despite his smarts
:minus: Cincotta and Boyd still failing to feature as much as you'd like given their offensive weaponry

:crossmark: Cripps and Walsh still have incredibly selfish moments of play in how they demand and carry the ball, trust in team mates required
❌ Ed makes no sense to me when Docherty could be more behind the ball and Walsh could be more on the wing... surely space for Dow in that paradigm
Perfectly summed up.

Love to see more offense from cinc and Boyd.

There is not going swimmingly, and completely failing to live up to expectations. Big difference
If you cant work out the reality of football and a side having ups and downs there's no hope for you.
It was never going to be linear or instantly up there automatically at the top of the ladder after so many years of struggle.
This turnaround is on the back of the players meeting a few weeks ago and making a decision to lift their efforts and support each other.
And you will find that includes Dow also regardless of which game he plays in.

:minus: Kennedy's body not holding up well against strength/endurance speed mix on-ball unit again, no consistent second position despite his smarts

The continual Ed selection remains up there with the JFK shooting as one of the great mysteries.

Agreed with your post. Give Boyd the ball more he’s a ****ing ripper.

Just a few thoughts.

Clearly Martin and Cuningham have made a difference up forward. Dave will get better but the other thing that he does is kick goals, not points. We have some fragile set shots and pressure can build but every time Cuningham gets it in range he looks like he'll kick it. This eases the pressure on the rest..

JSOS was huge. Loved the effort and intent. Looked like he was playing for his future. I hope that it's with us.

I think that we worry too much about what Fogarty can't do (e.g. kick 45 metres) there's plenty he can do and do well. Good link player and good at applying pressure. Another who is playing for his future and looks like he might have one. May need to lay it off quickly if he gets it from 40 or more. Matt Owies also going well. Good spread of goals.

I know we're supposed to be kicking Ed but thought he was o.k. today. Replaced Cottrell as a high half forward. Didn't see him attend one centre bounce so it really wasn't a role that paddy Dow generally plays. If paddy had of played the same role and had 16 touches I would have thought that he'd done his job well.

Smaller backline seems to be working well, be interesting if we decide to go down that path against better teams with better forwards. Great to get a block of games into Kemp and Boyd and they look more assured the more that they play. Didn't look much in the Weitering charge but we need him.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 16 Blues don't give a ruck but thrash Hawks anyway