Autopsy 2024 Rd 5 Blundering Blues give game away to Crows

Who played well for the Blues in Round 5 vs the Crows?

All sides are now converse to Carlton's game plan.

No more surprises for teams that now know that carltons one wood ,once inside 50 will always be bomb it to Curnow and Mckay.

Never any easy goals to Charlie or Mckay when compared to Greene for GWS.. Voss needs to change things up by having at times Charlie playing a high half forward rotating with Mckay .

I still believe that Mcgovern, once fit again would be the ideal rotating full forward. this would ensure that opposition defensive teams are more accountable and the Blues become less predictable with their forward line structure.

Blues also need to slow things up a bit and lower their eyes when entering the forward line to allow the the 3 way leads that Curnow Mckay and the Gov would provide. this I believe would have more impact on the scoreboard and giving charlie some freedom to move one on one

PS Whos idea was it allow Caminiti to go to st kilda. Just the ideal 3rd tall the blues are craving for atm
Caminiti story was Jack Silvagni, telling Stephen at home all about how good Caminiti was... I believe or recall from last year

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

My first game since 2019, so I take full responsibility I won’t go again!

It felt like the old days driving back home after a loss how’d you go BigFrizz36 ?
Just got home, had some things to attend to in Melbourne so stayed overnight. I didn't actually feel too bad. Plenty of learnings to be had from the game. I actually felt that we pinched one last week and had one pinched from us this week (or we allowed someone to pinch one from us). Make the adjustments and move forward.

It still might be best if you stay away for a while though.

I was a little worried that we barely beat a Richmond team, that's currently losing to the Eagles.

I still hope that we'll be there or thereabouts come the business end of things, but a small part of me is wondering is this going to be one of those years where we have to backwards before moving forwards?

Hopefully this slight nagging fear at the back of my mind is unfounded. There's still plenty of footy to be played yet after all.
To be fair though, the Tigers we beat had Lynch, Balta (between them 5 goals that night), Gibcus, Hopper, Taranto, Prestia and a few others (although Prestia and Gibcus got injured that night) and Short went off injured today early. Their equivalent of Andrew Russell was last seen being chased up Punt Road by a bunch of ferals.

I was a little worried that we barely beat a Richmond team, that's currently losing to the Eagles.

I still hope that we'll be there or thereabouts come the business end of things, but a small part of me is wondering is this going to be one of those years where we have to backwards before moving forwards?

Hopefully this slight nagging fear at the back of my mind is unfounded. There's still plenty of footy to be played yet after all.
Richmond also beat Syndey a couple of weeks ago - just been hit hard with injuries

Just watched First crack and they showed some last few minutes footage of our mistakes that cost us the game, the most glaring though and to my surprise, was Hewett manning Rankine at a ball up about 35m out from Adelaides goal, the ball goes up with the two side by side, with George following the ball and ignoring Rankine heading goalwards, the Crows get possession, kick forward and Rankine marks in the goal square, with not one player going near him since Hewett left him at the stoppage.

The other stuff they showed were small things, but the Hewett one to me, was a real lack of game awareness and a lack of respect for a real dangerous opponent who had already played a great game.

To be fair though, the Tigers we beat had Lynch, Balta (between them 5 goals that night), Gibcus, Hopper, Taranto, Prestia and a few others (although Prestia and Gibcus got injured that night) and Short went off injured today early. Their equivalent of Andrew Russell was last seen being chased up Punt Road by a bunch of ferals.
Someone did say earlier in the thread that we're capable of beating anyone on our day, and also losing to anyone who aren't North, The Hawks and The Eagles. That sums where we're at right now imo.

I watched Weitering closely at the game. He refused to play back shoulder on walker. Was constantly allowing 10 to 15 metres between them. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. Not good enough from a leader. Basic fundamentals of defending.

I saw the same thing. From the first bounce and he never adjusted from there. Bordering on arrogance.

With Adelaide playing at their absolute best and us playing so very poorly I can't say that the result shocked me. It was a very disappointing performance but still doesn't make me reconsider my prediction of a top 4 finish at the end of the season.

At this stage of the season, it allows the coaching team and the players to look at the areas where we are letting ourselves down and work towards improving things.

There were many factors which contributed to our loss including;

We sorely missed Fogarty's presence in our forward line, he applies pressure like nobody else does.

Our smalls were woeful when it came to working at the bottom of packs when our key forwards weren't able to clunk a mark.

The loss of Saad in the second quarter was a disaster.

After seeing our scoreline at 8.2 and thinking we were matching them in the accuracy stakes, we went downhill quickly, after our next 10 scoring shots the scoreline was 10.10, it was never going to be easy for us from that point.

Our injury count continues to increase at a concerning rate which means that the players need to work extremely hard over the next few weeks for us to be reasonably placed on the ladder.

As much as I am very disappointed I still believe that we can put up a good showing next week if the players are in the right frame of mind and play at a level resembling their best, sometimes a result such as this one is the spur needed to get things moving in the right direction.

I'm not prepared to call the season done based on this loss.
Poty mate 👍

Hope Weitering was crook or carrying a niggle, he looked totally disinterested from the start… Never seen him play that bad before…
Its more how I would have expected him to play when he first came back in. Maybe there's a weird lag effect and he had that "off" game last night instead. In any case I hope he reengages Weiterbot mode next week.

Hope Weitering was crook or carrying a niggle, he looked totally disinterested from the start… Never seen him play that bad before…

He certainly wasn't disinterested... he was cracking the shits with the other defenders... quite animated.

Every player has a bad game now and then.

It was - but the goal umpire guessed it was touched and ARC are never going to overrule them unless there is a 3m gap between ball and hand.

Sorry, that is just pure rubbish. Why have a review if they don't overrule? They have and do overrule.
This was pure payback for last years disaster. This was a payback. Will be interesting to see if there are other decisions going Adelaide's way?

This should at least be something we experiment with.

We need a second tall defender. TDK has a brother the same height who is an excellent ket defender. He has struggled to make his own space as a forward, but the observation above (that he gets carried to the drop by others around him) is also true.

So many average or inconsistent forwards have transitioned to defence and been successful over the years. I would love to see us have a crack with TDK if it turns out Mcgovern is out for a month.
Think Lemmey is being developed for this purpose. Has lots of work to do but early signs are promising.

Summary from First Crack:
1. Rankine kicks 2 goals in the last quarter because his Carlton opponent just lets him run free in play. 1st one from Cripps, 2nd one is Hewett
2. Charlie Curnow goes back at the end of the last quarter, but he's defending a man, rather than playing loose. We needed another in defence so Charlie could play as the loose man.

The 4 things i was most worried about before the game :

1. Playing Walker back to form. √
2. Their small forwards Rankine and Rachele getting off the chain. √
3. More injuries.√
4. LOSING THE GAME. √√√√
Crazy how against some teams, some things are just inevitable.

More of a worry was how many times we went inside 50 and kicked to the opposition or ignored our own players
Yes, it’s an opportunity to improve for sure.

The lack of another viable marketing forward per Sos or Martin isn’t helping at this stage - not forever of course, but at this stage Harry & Charlie having to do all the work.

We’ve been hit with the injury stick - interesting to see who gets up this week!

Another game that highlighted the lack of threat our small forwards provide imo. Yes, I know Owies, Durdin & Fantasia each kicked a goal, but could anyone say they looked like consistent threats when we went inside 50? You don't see them then they pop up for 1 goal then don't seem them again. It's not like in every contest you have to be aware of where the smalls are because give them a metre of space they'll make you pay. You basically forget they're there for most of the game.

Similar could be said of any forward not named Harry or Charlie in fairness. Despite the 2 megastars it's a very bland attack with not a lot of nuance or creativity. Just bomb it in an hope for the best. They're often good enough to make that work but we need more nuance going inside 50 - something we've been saying seemingly since Boltons days.

Funny thing is if Cotters had nailed his second set shot, he'd look like our most dangerous small "forward"..

Summary from First Crack:
1. Rankine kicks 2 goals in the last quarter because his Carlton opponent just lets him run free in play. 1st one from Cripps, 2nd one is Hewett
2. Charlie Curnow goes back at the end of the last quarter, but he's defending a man, rather than playing loose. We needed another in defence so Charlie could play as the loose man.
No surprises Rankine could run off Cripps & Hewitt - a bad matchup to start with.

Teams will always look to run off these guys until we can even up our run from the middle.

Cerra/Cunners/Fog all roll through to give our midfield more balance.

Nobody holding Rankine accountable.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 5 Blundering Blues give game away to Crows