News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

someone called into SEN mentioned they bumped into Ratts and had a chat. Ratts was told by Bassatt that this should be a top 4 side, Ratts felt we’re 3 years off so the club didn’t want to give him that time
Oh well if some random caller on SEN said it then it must be true.

Until people stop consuming it it's staying put unfortunately. Like McDonalds, everyone knows that it's s**t for them but you don't see them empty. I just don't pay for the newspapers and pay to read the off Broadway stuff. Rohan Connolly is a bit of a tool but his Footyology website has some good stuff on it. Martin Flanagan writes on there who I like for his sentimental old man rants and RC can write entertaining footy articles at times. He gets lots of old school proper journos in to write too...and Mark Fine to do movie reviews. Mongrel Punt is good quality and researched, even non Saints writers know their s**t about us.

Thanks for this link Gringo, I have had a scroll through this site and read some articles and it's my kind of journal. Don't worry, when you are as old as Martin Flanagan (and old mate) and myself, there is a lot to rant about!!

someone called into SEN mentioned they bumped into Ratts and had a chat. Ratts was told by Bassatt that this should be a top 4 side, Ratts felt we’re 3 years off so the club didn’t want to give him that time
100% doubt that , as i have a mate who is related to Ratts and they often catch up and Ratts gave him nothing in the way of info so there is no way he would start blabbing to some walk up stranger

Exactly this. If there was any murmurings or info from Ratts regarding his departure from stkilda there would've already been an article about it im sure.

No way he discusses it with some random bloke he bumped into down the street.

No, seriously.

I think I posted here about my issue with that statue last year when, in Perth, I walked from Subiaco to Optus for the sole purpose of seeing it.
And was really really disappointed.

There is nothing on the statue to indicate he was representing St Kilda at the time.
The jumper is generic in appearance, it could be any team’s.
Artistically deliberate?
IIRC, it doesn’t even have his number on the back.
Yet, and this is the killer, the AFL logo appears on each sock.
So the sculptor could have spent some time making the jumper accurate given the sculptor had the time to make both socks accurate.
My cynicism leads me to conclude the omission of a St Kilda jumper was deliberate.
It’s not an historically accurate statue, it’s the AFL’s sanitised version of the event.

The only indication or mention of St Kilda is on the plaque, and that is only in the context of the teams that Nicky played for, in order on the plaque: Sth Fremantle, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs. And how many did he play with the Bulldogs? Eight?

Give me a lazy $50k, Kingston Council permission, and I’ll put an historically accurate version up in Linton St.

MordySaint , apologies if I came across as rude to you. The above is the explanation for my response.
thats because the statue is not about st kilda....

Must have told Ross something different if he and his staff are talking like this:

:“I was talking to Robert Harvey the other day, and we feel as a group it’s going to be a year of exploration. There’s going to be ups and downs and we’re doing a lot right. I know and I’m confident in myself that I will continue to be quite level and considered.’’

Media will go hard at us as the Ratts thing happened post season. They didn't really get to sink their teeth in properly at the time, so they'll take every opportunity they get now to rip into us.

It's all piss and wind.
They will go so hard if we are 2 & 6 LOL it will be fun to watch

Ratts hates his family though, mate of mine bumped into him the other day and was told about it.

Nah I hear you, I understand why it's in Perth but it's never really made any sense to me. There's no connection to the moment at all by having it there.

We should consider having our own version at the club anyway. I really like the idea of a walk of fame from the street to the entrance at Moorabbin. Winmar pointing to his chest, Barker taking a screamer, Baldock with the cup, Pluggers hunched over walk into goal. There's heaps of stuff we could do.
it takes a lot to bring me out of hibernation ...........
but this is something i cant let pass

the Winmar statue is a statue of a proud Noongar man showing his pride of his culture and heritage in spite of the hatred and uglyness directed towards him... for the statue to be standing on Noongar land on the banks of Derbarl Yerrigan (other wise know as the Swan River) an area of special significance to the Noongar people is totally fitting... the action of Nicky on that faitful day at Victoria Park was not just in response to the uglyness of that day it was a build up of a lifetime of uglyness directed to him and his indigenous brothers. The moment and meaning behind the action is bigger than being a St Kilda player and while we acknowlege and celebrate the fact Nicky is a legend of our club that moment is a Indigenous player making a stand moment not a St Kilda making a stand moment ...

as for the AFL logos ... while i agree its naff they comissioned the statue they own the rights to the image so they can utilse it as they see fit...
as for the walk of fame... if you looked at the cost of comissioning a statue and the red tape around making it happen you will understand the reasoning of why it doesnt just get done...
i did have an idea i floated to the club that was a fraction of the cost and just as impactful (in my opinion) creating a "footsetps of our elders" wher we bring every indigenous player to play a game for the saints back to the club to imprint their foot prints in the concrete leading onto the Moorabbin oval so every future indigenous player who walks onto the ground does so on the footprints of those who helped pave the way of their people and their journey with the club...
i hope the club do give it a real consideration so lets see

the Winmar statue is a statue of a proud Noongar man showing his pride of his culture and heritage in spite of the hatred and uglyness directed towards him... for the statue to be standing on Noongar land on the banks of Derbarl Yerrigan (other wise know as the Swan River) an area of special significance to the Noongar people is totally fitting... the action of Nicky on that faitful day at Victoria Park was not just in response to the uglyness of that day it was a build up of a lifetime of uglyness directed to him and his indigenous brothers. The moment and meaning behind the action is bigger than being a St Kilda player and while we acknowlege and celebrate the fact Nicky is a legend of our club that moment is a Indigenous player making a stand moment not a St Kilda making a stand moment ...

as for the AFL logos ... while i agree its naff they comissioned the statue they own the rights to the image so they can utilse it as they see fit...
as for the walk of fame... if you looked at the cost of comissioning a statue and the red tape around making it happen you will understand the reasoning of why it doesnt just get done...
i did have an idea i floated to the club that was a fraction of the cost and just as impactful (in my opinion) creating a "footsetps of our elders" wher we bring every indigenous player to play a game for the saints back to the club to imprint their foot prints in the concrete leading onto the Moorabbin oval so every future indigenous player who walks onto the ground does so on the footprints of those who helped pave the way of their people and their journey with the club...

Good to hear from you again Trav.

Welcome back mate! No need to explain what the statue represents, think we all understand that pretty clearly, just think it holds more weight and more significance/relevance having it closer to where the incident took place. I don't even care that WA has the statue, as I think we could also celebrate Nicky here at Moorabbin.

Great to see you back here st_trav_ofWA, your absence has been missed.
Thank you for speaking out on this. It has added another dimension to the discussion.
No doubt you have read my post on the topic.
I can understand the view that you have expressed.
That the statue is located at a culturally significant site, and represents the stand of one man against racism and not the club’s. I can’t argue against that.
But my bitch is; having trudged all the way from Subiaco to Optus to see the statue, to pay my respects, I was just extremely disappointed at the sanitised version presented.
Why erase the St Kilda jumper yet keep the AFL logo on both socks?
What is the rationale behind that decision, where is the consistency and honesty in presentation, and how does that add to the celebration of the moment?
Does it not just demean the whole exercise? Demean Nicky?
I was so disappointed, it seemed such a petty thing to do.

Eli Templeton forced to retire from football at 26. Feel sorry for the guy. Had a good first year then injury got in the way. He’s done well in the VFL but it just shows how brutal the game can be sometimes.

How many players have pulled on the saints jumper over the journey, celebrating 150 years. Walks singling out one group or statues of individuals, personally I’m happy enough without them. Winmar was a great player and that was an iconic moment which is now part of football history, that’s good enough for me.