Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance

Tonight's Showdown crowd of 52,459 resulted in the highest combined attendance for 2 showdowns in a single year. Thought I do a list of the highest combined showdown crowds for a season totaling over 100,000.

2005: 44,807, 45,199, 50,521. Total: 140,527
2024: 52,106, 52,459. Total: 104,565
2015: 49,617, 53,518. Total: 103,155
2018: 50,967, 50,377. Total: 101,344
2014: 50,397, 50,552. Total: 100,949
2019: 49,675, 50,544. Total: 100,219
2016: 50,555, 49,541. Total: 100,096

Prior to Adelaide Oval, the first season of the showdown and then the 2001-2005 period where the only times both showdowns combined totaled over 90,000 (Excluding 2005 with 3 showdowns).

2002: 49,513, 50,275. Total: 99,788
2003: 51,140, 48,131. Total: 99,271
1997: 47,256, 45,498. Total: 92,754
2004: 44,733, 45,473. Total: 90,206
2001: 40,296, 49,846. Total: 90,142
2005: 44,807, 45,199. Total: 90,006

The top 10 attendances for Showdowns have 8 of the 10 at Adelaide Oval with Port have the top 3 home crowds. Adelaide have been the home team in 6 of the 10.

2017: 53,698 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2015: 53,518 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2024: 52,459 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2024: 52,106 Adelaide Oval (A)
2003: 51,140 Football Park (A)
2018: 50,967 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2016: 50,555 Adelaide Oval (A)
2014: 50,552 Adelaide Oval (A)
2019: 50,544 Adelaide Oval (A)
2005: 50,521 Football Park (A)

Tonight's Showdown crowd of 52,459 resulted in the highest combined attendance for 2 showdowns in a single year. Thought I do a list of the highest combined showdown crowds for a season totaling over 100,000.

2005: 44,807, 45,199, 50,521. Total: 140,527
2024: 52,106, 52,459. Total: 104,565
2015: 49,617, 53,518. Total: 103,155
2018: 50,967, 50,377. Total: 101,344
2014: 50,397, 50,552. Total: 100,949
2019: 49,675, 50,544. Total: 100,219
2016: 50,555, 49,541. Total: 100,096

Prior to Adelaide Oval, the first season of the showdown and then the 2001-2005 period where the only times both showdowns combined totaled over 90,000 (Excluding 2005 with 3 showdowns).

2002: 49,513, 50,275. Total: 99,788
2003: 51,140, 48,131. Total: 99,271
1997: 47,256, 45,498. Total: 92,754
2004: 44,733, 45,473. Total: 90,206
2001: 40,296, 49,846. Total: 90,142
2005: 44,807, 45,199. Total: 90,006

The top 10 attendances for Showdowns have 8 of the 10 at Adelaide Oval with Port have the top 3 home crowds. Adelaide have been the home team in 6 of the 10.

2017: 53,698 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2015: 53,518 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2024: 52,459 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2024: 52,106 Adelaide Oval (A)
2003: 51,140 Football Park (A)
2018: 50,967 Adelaide Oval (PA)
2016: 50,555 Adelaide Oval (A)
2014: 50,552 Adelaide Oval (A)
2019: 50,544 Adelaide Oval (A)
2005: 50,521 Football Park (A)
I wonder what sort of crowd a Saturday night showdown would get if AO had a bigger capacity, and anyone could go if they wanted to..

Wonder what the Richmond vs GC game next week could have got if Dusty decided to play a farewell game?

If he played 70-80K. For his lap of honour which I'm hearing will be after the game, so at a guess 50K.
I haven't as yet looked to deep into it re ticket sales etc but I will more so next week. The cub will also ramp up next week promoting Dustys farewell lap of honour.

Official crowd: 10,801 at Engie Stadium

Good crowd vs Freo

At this point, I consider any crowd over 10k for the Giants to be a win.

-
Edit: Just the sixth 10k+ crowd at Engie Stadium for the Giants post-Covid (there have been many more in Canberra of course)
2x Swans, 1x Essendon, Collingwood, Carlton and now Fremantle

Swans and the big Vic clubs would've brought much more away support in Sydney than Fremantle, so this is a good sign for the Giants' fanbase going forward.
Crowd exceeded the AFL's expectations, too.

“We had a really good, strong crowd today of over 10,000, well above AFL expectations, and they were loud in critical moments, which certainly helped us,” Kingsley said.

Please, please give us more fine sunny days next season. Has been nigh impossible to get a fine sunny day this year for one of our games in Sydney.

If he played 70-80K. For his lap of honour which I'm hearing will be after the game, so at a guess 50K.
I haven't as yet looked to deep into it re ticket sales etc but I will more so next week. The cub will also ramp up next week promoting Dustys farewell lap of honour.

I think the fixture will hurt.

Local footy finals are in full swing so our group of ten, I think two can actually go.

I think 30-35K is around the mark considering if it wasn’t for Dusty it would be looking at sub 20K.

I wonder what sort of crowd a Saturday night showdown would get if AO had a bigger capacity, and anyone could go if they wanted to..
I think 70k could be a possibility. Annoys me that the highest attendances at Adelaide oval are the still the SANFL GFs from the 60s and 70s.

I thought the idea of the hill was that it could be filled in with stands to increase the capacity when the time comes. But then I heard j.b say it will never be built on coz of the trees, so are we always going to be stuck with a 50k Adelaide oval?

I think the fixture will hurt.

Local footy finals are in full swing so our group of ten, I think two can actually go.

I think 30-35K is around the mark considering if it wasn’t for Dusty it would be looking at sub 20K.

Yeah you may have a point re local footy finals but Im thinking more but in saying that who really knows.
If it wasn't dustys lap of honour, I will say attending the last game of the year it always gets a bump, i.e. use your last home game membership plus a chance to farewell the guys for one last time before heading into the offseason.

I thought the idea of the hill was that it could be filled in with stands to increase the capacity when the time comes. But then I heard j.b say it will never be built on coz of the trees, so are we always going to be stuck with a 50k Adelaide oval?
I would like to see the western stand demolished and rebuilt. That stand was done prior to the redevelopment and is a shocking stand, suited for cricket not football. I think its current capacity is 14k, the eastern stand I believe is around 19k. Even a Western stand redevelopment to replicate the eastern would still fall short of 60k.

This actually puts 1 million through the gate for the Tiges just within striking distance. Probably not, but very close.

Milestone games aside, as we also set a new precedent for what a milestone game can be, to hit even close to 1 million through the gate in our worst season W/L record season in history, 18th on the ladder and not even a slight run of form - that’s dam impressive.

Shame we don’t get more doubles vs Melbourne teams like the MCG teams do. Carlton have 3 double ups vs VIC teams with all those games being played at the MCG.

This is a great point, the Dogs, Saints and North are absolutely shafted by the fixture.

In Victoria you have the haves (big 4 plus Hawthorn (but Tassie probably makes them a hybrid), the hybrids (Geelong and Melbourne) and the Marvel tenants.

The Dogs really do deserve a crack at the MCG given their consistantly strong attendances at Marvel. With a decent draw they could easily draw 800,000 to 900,000 across the home and away season (like a resurgent St Kilda).

I would say an 800,000 Dogs attendance aggregate is more impressive than 1,000,000 for Richmond / Carlton / Essendon or 900,000 for a Hawthorn.

Geelong have been up for so long, and they have heaps of prime time games but their attendances are damn impressive too. Would be very interested to see how a dip down the ladder would impact them

Not the thread for it, but not impressed at all with that performance. A Richmond team on the up would have buried a Hawthorn team in full rebuild.

Just walked in the door. Took the kids on the ground after the game. Kids excited to be on the G having a kick.

I hear where you're coming from but hawthorn did what it needed, and that was put the young tigers away by 10 goals.

This actually puts 1 million through the gate for the Tiges just within striking distance. Probably not, but very close.

Milestone games aside, as we also set a new precedent for what a milestone game can be, to hit even close to 1 million through the gate in our worst season W/L record season in history, 18th on the ladder and not even a slight run of form - that’s dam impressive.

It is excellent, but don't forget we have the extra game (and I know Richmond played at the Parade).

That said, we also have more lower drawing matches against the Suns and Giants, plus trips to the Cattery compared to pre 2010 so horses for courses!

Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance