Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion

So here I was all keen to watch a stream of the Rebels Chargers game on my newly downloaded CTL app but apparently I was mistaken thinking that would be a thing. And stats etc for that game don't even seem to be up on there.

What's the deal? When might I be able to expect a replay?
It was on KKommunity TV via a Newscorp subscription, replay might be available on the App during the week?
Lalor had a decent game without tearing it apart, Jagga Smith was prolific had a good game but stat pads a bit with the old 1/2, smallish utility Ollie Hannaford probably the standout playing forward with 5 goals. Underager tall Louis Emmett had an outstanding game playing ruck and around the ground. Chargers the cleaner team skills wise but rhe Rebels superior scrappers.

It was on KKommunity TV via a Newscorp subscription, replay might be available on the App during the week?
Lalor had a decent game without tearing it apart, Jagga Smith was prolific had a good game but stat pads a bit with the old 1/2, smallish utility Ollie Hannaford probably the standout playing forward with 5 goals. Underager tall Louis Emmett had an outstanding game playing ruck and around the ground. Chargers the cleaner team skills wise but rhe Rebels superior scrappers.
Anyone know why Ollie Hannaford isn’t even mentioned in top 50. Seems like the perfect high hff role similar to McDonald at Hawks. Has had a great last month.

He's also played a fair bit as a small defender and had squirts through the midfield. What I really like is his aggressiveness and attack on the contest, hard little unit.

Doesn’t mean anything. It only takes one club to like him. Port was the only club that liked Lorenz and now he’s an afl player. Anything is possible.

How much do we think clubs think about putting likely draftees into their VFL teams? From a pure list fit standpoint Travaglia is 2nd to only Joe Berry for the Blues imo, would a club like Carlton be specifically providing Travaglia game time in their VFL team to get a first hand look at him or is it more about clubs doing their part for the u18s crop and giving them all a go?

Just curious as I reckon we'd be eyeing both Tobie and Berry big time for list holes.

How much do we think clubs think about putting likely draftees into their VFL teams? From a pure list fit standpoint Travaglia is 2nd to only Joe Berry for the Blues imo, would a club like Carlton be specifically providing Travaglia game time in their VFL team to get a first hand look at him or is it more about clubs doing their part for the u18s crop and giving them all a go?

Just curious as I reckon we'd be eyeing both Tobie and Berry big time for list holes.
A bit of both but you'd find that clubs would lean more to wanting to have a close look at them firsthand to see how'd they'd go in your club's environment as the priority.

Good opportunity to see their personality and professionalism up close.

Think it depends on zones

Richmond wanted smilie to play VFL for them but he couldn’t as he’s from eastern rangers

So there must be some alliance to do with zones

Not saying Carlton aren’t interested in Travaglia however , I think most clubs would be

Richmond wanted smilie to play VFL for them but he couldn’t as he’s from eastern rangers

Not saying Carlton aren’t interested in Travaglia however , I think most clubs would be
Carlton & Essendon seem to be aligned with Bendigo. Both had Reid play last year and now Travaglia & Shanahan respectively.

Richmond are the ones just trying to grab anyone due to having pick #1. With a pick around 10, teams wouldn't want to give away who they're interested in.

Carlton & Essendon seem to be aligned with Bendigo. Both had Reid play last year and now Travaglia & Shanahan respectively.

Richmond are the ones just trying to grab anyone due to having pick #1. With a pick around 10, teams wouldn't want to give away who they're interested in.
Richmond has also been able to ask for extra help because of the injury list.
Thats why Langford could play with us.
We are linked with Oakleigh hence why FOS and Smith could play with us.

Unsure on Shanahan. 2/3 VFL games were against struggling sides Coburg and Northern Bullants where he kicked 9 goals combined in these games.

Some of the looks he got in these games you wouldn’t get in other vfl games little own the afl. Don’t know what his pace is like and when the ball hits the grounds.

Interesting prospect

Where are the Travaglia haters now? Gone awfully quiet.
Langford surely doesn’t go at the top end. I laughed seeing Twomey form-guide with him at 3

Mt Martha and Dandenong Stingray, Harvey Langford played for Richmond in the VFL

My updated rankings for anyone that is interested.

Few changes from previous rankings with Ashcroft pushes to number 1 off the back of his incredible fortnight. FOS slipping behind both Ashcroft and Draper. Shanahan pushing into the top 20.

Kayle Gerreyn & Jack Ough being my bolters. Have Gerreyn pushing that top 15 mark while Ough pushes into the top 30.

PickNameHeightPositionClubComments
1Levi Ashcroft179cmMidfielderSandringham DragonsAccumulating midfielder that powers from contest to contest. Balanced inside and outside game.
2Sid Draper180cmMidfielderSouth AdelaideClassy midfielder that has some speed and evasiveness. Well balanced with excellent vision.
3Finn O'Sullivan182cmMidfielderOakleigh ChargersCourageous midfielder who is strong over head, powerful runner who runs hard both ways.
4Harvey Langford190cmMidfielderDandenong StingraysTall and versatile midfielder who is strong overhead and has a booming left foot kick.
5Jagga Smith181cmMidfielderOakleigh ChargersWell balanced accumulating midfielder who is at home on the inside and outside the contest.
6Leo Lombard178cmMidfielderGC AcademyCombative contested midfielder who has some real zip around the contest.
7Harry Armstrong193cmKey ForwardSandringham DragonsHigh workrate key forward who is at home on the lead. Excellent set shot routine.
8Josh Smillie194cmMidfielderEastern RangesTall midfielder that finds possession at will and has a long penetrating kick.
9Luke Trainor194cmKey DefenderSandringham DragonsIntercepting general defender who can play on smalls and talls. Composed and balanced.
10Sam Lalor187cmMidfielder/General ForwardGWV RebelsPowerful midfielder, who is explosive and damaging. Can roll forward and have an impact.
11Tobie Travaglia187cmGeneral DefenderBendigo PioneersIntercepting defender who can provide run and carry. Excellent defender with leadership potential.
12Jack Whitlock200cmTall ForwardMurray BushrangersRangy key forward that marks at the highest point but can also find the ball at ground level.
13Kayle Gerryn199cmKey Forward/RuckWest PerthUnique athletic prospect that has a tonne of potential upside.
14Xavier Lindsay183cmMidfielderGippsland PowerLeft footed midfielder with a damaging kick. Has some speed to break the lines.
15Jobe Shanahan194cmKey ForwardBendigo PioneersContested marking key forward who times his leads and jumps aat the ball to perfection.
16Matt Whitlock198cmKey DefenderMurray BushrangersOne on one defender who can also swing forward. Strong overhead but equally adept on the ground.
17Isaac Kako175cmSmall ForwardCalder CannonsDynamic and exciting small who can kick goals from anywhere. Also pushes into the midfield.
18Murphy Reid180cmMidfielderSandringham DragonsSmart and classy midfielder who makes good decisions with ball in hand. One touch.
19Joe Berry180cmSmall ForwardMurray BushrangersLively small forward who can crumb but also present an option on the lead. Classy goal kicker.
20Taj Hotton182cmMidfielder/General ForwardSandringham DragonsClassy midfielder forward who has plenty of X-Factor. Unfortunately done his ACL.
21Bo Allen191cmGeneral Defender/MidfielderPeel ThunderPhysical left footer who leads from the front. Uses his speed and long kicking to launch offensive attacks.
22Alex Dodson203cmRuckSturtAthletic ruckman who covers the ground well and can find the ball. Very balanced for a tall.
23Jonty Faull195cmTall ForwardGWV RebelsGoal kicking key forward who works hard to provide an option. Competitive in the air
24Harry O'Farrell196cmKey DefenderCalder CannonsLockdown competitive defender that uses his reach and closing speed to advantage.
25Christian Moraes183cmMidfielderEastern RangesAccumulating midfielder that can roll forward and impact the scoreboard. Strong overhead.
26Tom Gross181cmMidfielderOakleigh ChargersTough, contested midfielder that has a real competitive streak. Solid overhead.
27Ben Camporeale186cmMidfielderGlenelgBalanced midfielder who works hard between the arcs. Can find the ball inside and outside the contest.
28Tom Sims199cmKey ForwardNorthern KnightsLead up key forward who has good workrate. Solid at ground level for a kid his size.
29Cooper Hynes190cmMidfielder/General ForwardDandenong StingraysTall midfielder who is a goal kicking threat when playing forward of center. Strong over the ball.
30Jack Ough193cmGeneral DefenderGWV RebelsHard working and athletic half back/wing who can play a variety of roles across the ground.
31Lachie Jacques184cmGeneral DefenderGeelong FalconsDefence first defender, who can intercept and provide drive off half back. Reliable ball user.
32Alix Tauru191cmGeneral DefenderGippsland PowerAthletic defender who can play on talls and smalls, excellent closing speed and leap. Sound decision making.
33Sam Marshall185cmMidfielderBrisbane AcademyElite runner who motors from contest to contest. Creates separation from the contest with his pace.
34Tyler Welsh191cmKey ForwardWoodville WestUndersize key forward who is a strong lead/mark type. Neat set shot goal kicking.
35Hamish Davis190cmMidfielderClaremontElite runner who can play as a genuine mid or as a lead up half forward, good kick and decision maker
36Malakai Champion172cmSmall ForwardSubiacoFlashy small forward who can kick goals from anywhere. Provides good defensive pressure.
37Noah Mraz198cmKey DefenderDandenong StingraysIntercepting defender, who has excellent disposal and decision making. Good closing speed.
38Luke Urquhart189cmMidfielderEast FremantleTall midfielder that can also play across half back. Uses his body well in contested situations.
39Lucas Camporeale185cmMidfielderGlenelgNatural wingman who keeps his width and can accumulate the ball on the outside.
40Josh Murphy190cmGeneral ForwardMurray BushrangersImpact player who has plenty of x-factor. Contested marking threat who is dangerous at ground level.
41Archer Day-Wicks186cmGeneral ForwardBendigo PioneersX-Factor player who can mark, and be damaging at ground level. Creative and classy ball user.
42Jesse Dattoli179cmMidfielder/Small ForwardNorthern KnightsHigh footy IQ, who can play a variety of roles around the ground. Dangerous and smart around goals.
43Zak Johnson185cmMidfielderNorthern KnightsClassy midfielder, who moves well, accumulates the ball and makes good decisions.
44Luca Greggo183cmGeneral Defender/MidfielderWestern JetsWorkman utility who can play a variety of roles across the ground. Reliable type.
45Pheonix Hargraves182cmMidfielderSouth AdelaideAccumulating midfielder who have high work rate. Can also impact the scoreboard
46Charlie Nicholls197cmKey ForwardCentral DistrictStrong contested marking key forward who provides a leading option up the ground.
47Evan Bradley174cmSmall ForwardNorth AdelaideClassy small forward who is creative and damaging by foot. Natural goalkicking with plenty of X Factor
48Ben Barrett174cmSmall ForwardSouth AdelaideLightning quick small forward who has a bucket of tricks and high impact per possession.
49Harrison Oliver181cmGeneral DefenderSandringham DragonsRebounding defender who uses his composure and good decision making to good effect.
50Xavier Ivisic180cmMidfielderGeelong FalconsReliable inside midfielder who can also find the ball on the outside. Good vision in the contest.
50+Cody Anderson181cmMidfielderEastern RangesRelentless midfielder that tackles hard. At home inside the contest, can also hit the scoreboard.
50+Nathaniel Sulzberger184cmMidfielder/General ForwardSandringham DragonsStrong contested player who offers a point of difference with his power around the contest.
50+Pat Retschko188cmMidfielderOakleigh ChargersHard working midfielder who can play inside and outside the contest. Strong runner.
50+Jaxon Artemis187cmWingSouth FremantleHard running outside type who can also create off half back, good decision making and skills
50+Oliver Depaoli-Kubank178cmMidfielder/Small ForwardTasmania DevilsConsistent type who can play a variety of roles. Reliable disposal and sound decision maker.
50+Jayden Nguyen177cmGeneral Defender/MidfielderCalder CannonsSmall defender who can push up the ground. Creative ball user who uses his speed to impact the game.
50+Zaydyn Lockwood198cmKey DefenderBendigo PioneersRaw and athletic key defender who has plenty of upside. Solid defensive craft and in the 1v1's.
50+Oliver Warburton185cmMidfielderMurray BushrangersVersatile type who can play inside and outside the contest. Consistent with good defensive intensity.
50+Jasper Alger182cmSmall ForwardOakleigh ChargersClassy small forward who makes the most of his opportunities. Good defensive intensity.
50+Lucas McInerney180cmMidfielderNorthern KnightsRangy winger who keeps his width and can be damaging forward of center. Good disposer.
50+Noah Howes196cmKey ForwardSouth AdelaideOverage key forward with strong workrate. Good ground level game and has natural forward craft
50+River Stevens176cmSmall ForwardGeelong FalconsClassy half forward that makes good decisions with the ball. Creative left footer.
50+Charlie West195cmKey ForwardWoodville WestStrong marking and physical key forward. Flies aggressively at the ball in contested situations.
50+Zac McInnes196cmKey ForwardGeelong FalconsMobile key forward with good forward craft. Uses workrate to present multiple times.
50+James Barrat193cmKey ForwardBendigo PioneersLeading forward with good leap and excellent timing. Elite forward craft and workrate.
50+Louie Montgomery184cmGeneral DefenderNorth AdelaideComposed defender who uses the ball well. Solid 1v1 player who can also create off half back.
50+Bailey McKenzie191cmGeneral ForwardSandringham DragonsMercurial 3rd tall type that can impact the game at ground level or in the air. Classy in front of goal.
50+Gabriel Stumpf196cmKey ForwardNorthern KnightsAthletic key forward who is at home leading at the ball carrier. Strong workrate.
50+Lucas Tovey198cmKey DefenderOakleigh ChargersIntercepting key defender, who uses his body really well in the contest. Reliable ball user.
50+Ben Hopkins190cmGeneral DefenderDandenong StingraysOverage accumulating defender who can also push up to a wing. Quick and hard running.
50+Kobe Ryan183cmMidfielderWest AdelaideMature age inside midfielder that wins contested possessions and has manic defensive effort.
50+Joe Pike203cmRuckGeelong FalconsOverage ruckman who competes at ground level. Solid tap work and follow up effort.
50+Oliver Dean201cmRuckTasmania DevilsNeat tap ruckman that can impact forward of center.
50+Waylon Davey-Motlop171cmSmall ForwardNorthern TerritoryClassy small forward who has plenty of X-Factor and upside. Can kick goals from anywhere inside fwd 50.
50+Tallan Rozenweig197cmKey ForwardCentral DistrictTall forward who uses his leap and long limbs to take the ball at the highest point. Neat kick.
50+Xavier Kardarchi186cmMidfielderWestern JetsAccumulating midfielder who is strong around the contest. Composed with a solid long kick.
50+Oliver Hannaford180cmMidfielderGWV FalconsAgile midfielder who uses his side step to create space around the contest. Good defensive intent.
50+Damon Hollow180cmMidfielderCalder CannonsAccumulating wingman who can be damaging with his disposal. Long kicking a real feature.
50+Kade Herbert184cmMidfielder/General ForwardWoodville WestHigh footy IQ, who can play a variety of roles around the ground. Sound decision maker.
50+Harry Charleson182cmGeneral DefenderGWV RebelsReliable defender who is composed and can provide some drive off half back.
50+Liam Kershaw194cmMidfielderGeelong FalconsOverage wingman who offers a point of difference with his height, marking ability and running capacity
50+Joel Cochrane195cmKey DefenderSydney AcademyIntercepting defender who can find the ball and provide rebound from the back half.
50+Loch McTaggert183cmGeneral DefenderPerthNeat defender who has good balance between his defensive application and rebound
50+Max Rohr197cmKey ForwardClaremontOverage key forward who has natural forward craft. Dangerous in the air and neat with ball in hand.
50+Hugh Boxshall187cmMidfielderClaremontStrong running midfielder who can play inside and outside the contest. Good decision maker.
50+Lucas Impey197cmRuckWestern JetsElite tap Ruckman who is useful around the ground. Comes from a basketball background.
50+Keighton Matofai-Forbes188cmGeneral ForwardWestern JetsPowerful half forward type who is a threat both aerially and with ground balls.
50+Angus Clarke189cmGeneral DefenderGlenelgGood balance between offensive and defensive game. Creates plenty of drive off half back with his speed
50+Josh Dolan177cmSmall ForwardSandringham DragonsZippy small forward who likes to link up as a high half forward. Creative ball user with solid decision making
50+Cody Angove183cmMidfielderClaremontStrong running midfielder who can play on every line. Likes to take the game on and plays with a bit of flair
50+Adrian Cole195cmTall DefenderSandringham DragonsVersatile tall who can play on smaller forwards. Good closing speed with defense first attitude.
50+Ned Bowman186cmGeneral ForwardNorwoodPowerful and hard working forward/mid who has natural goal sense and footy IQ.

Where are the Travaglia haters now? Gone awfully quiet.
Langford surely doesn’t go at the top end. I laughed seeing Twomey form-guide with him at 3
Why are you the way that you are? Just relax mate, we're all just enjoying some draft watching. There are no haters here, only lovers. If Cal has Langford at three, I'm sure there are good reasons for it. He might be wrong, but we won't know until things have played out and years have passed.

Could be because Richmond are keen and have pick #1. But we will have picks coming out our ass so the interest could be at any pick.

Wasn't Carlton's lack of fit soldiers through injury a contributing factor especially with Tobie?

It is all my opinion and believe Cal having Langford at 3 is way off where I have him. You may be fortunate to get my top 10 soon...

Levi with 81 D combined for the last two weeks. I hope that he doesn't come down with leather poisoning before he gets to us.
Just about every Sandy player topped their best possession numbers yesterday, very handball happy

Unsure on Shanahan. 2/3 VFL games were against struggling sides Coburg and Northern Bullants where he kicked 9 goals combined in these games.

Some of the looks he got in these games you wouldn’t get in other vfl games little own the afl. Don’t know what his pace is like and when the ball hits the grounds.

Interesting prospect

I was just writing about him on the north board.

Fact is down playing a combined 13 goals against men (including AIS game) at 3.25 per game doesn’t make much sense to me.

It shows he knows how to get to spots to kick goals.

Also averages 2.3 goals per game in Coates, playing key back at times.

Cadman went at 1 and despite Shanahan’s impressive numbers against men, their doesn’t seem to be much separating them.

Re athletic testing, Shanahan key shades Armstrong other than yoyo.

The whitlocks are unicorn types from a testing point of view. Well infront of everyone.

I was just writing about him on the north board.

Fact is down playing a combined 13 goals against men (including AIS game) at 3.25 per game doesn’t make much sense to me.

It shows he knows how to get to spots to kick goals.

Also averages 2.3 goals per game in Coates, playing key back at times.

Cadman went at 1 and despite Shanahan’s impressive numbers against men, their doesn’t seem to be much separating them.

Re athletic testing, Shanahan key shades Armstrong other than yoyo.

The whitlocks are unicorn types from a testing point of view. Well infront of everyone.
Thanks for the reply

Where am I downplaying? I’m genuinely questioning. The fact is he has what 15-16 AFL listed players feeding him the ball lace out v part time footballers. If you watched games half the time he’s unmarked inside 50 which simply doesn’t happen at AFL level.

Cadman at 1 yet he clearly wasn’t the best player. GWS was scared the others would come back to VIC.

Re the Whitlock brothers you may see them feature in my top 10 soon that’s how high I rate them. I agree with you there.

Armstrong is rated high by many but I feel that is due to a lack of high end KPP prospects.

Thanks for the reply

Where am I downplaying? I’m genuinely questioning. The fact is he has what 15-16 AFL listed players feeding him the ball lace out v part time footballers. If you watched games half the time he’s unmarked inside 50 which simply doesn’t happen at AFL level.

Cadman at 1 yet he clearly wasn’t the best player. GWS was scared the others would come back to VIC.

Re the Whitlock brothers you may see them feature in my top 10 soon that’s how high I rate them. I agree with you there.

Armstrong is rated high by many but I feel that is due to a lack of high end KPP prospects.

I look at Shanahan’s testing a nothing stands out to me as a red flag. Infact it’s all better than the average 18 year old KPP.

I look at his production and its top shelf.

He’s locked goal at Coates, champs and now sustained vfl production.

Armstrong is going off 1 dominant game where he kicked 5. And if you look at those 5 you could make the same argument. 1 came from a contested mark, 1 a soft free, and the other three he was alone inside 50 (or just outside).

Factoring everything to date, Shanahan would have to be comfortably ahead of Armstrong on production.

Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion