Official Club Stuff 2024 AGM - to be held on Friday 6th December 2024, 1 director to be elected by members. Nominations called for.

It seems we are flogging a dead horse.

Take note of the sentence I underlined.

View attachment 2154418

I've just sent him my own email regarding accountability (all the key decision makers apart from Richo himself being in their roles for over a decade despite this being the worst era in the club's history), and after reading this i've specifically called out the claims about players being committed and record membership.

Our membership is up 23000 since 2014, but our average attendances are down 7000. That should tell you all you need to know about membership numbers.

In terms of players loving ken and being committed, that was true during the Qualifying Final wasn't it? It was also true during the 2021 Prelim?

The board, as a collective, are the perfect Johnny Howard board.

In the run up to the March 1996 election, Johnny Howard on 4 Corners said he wanted Australians to be Comfortable and Relaxed.

"By the year 2000 I would like to see an Australian nation that feels comfortable and relaxed about 3 things."

"I'd like to see them comfortable and relaxed about their history,
I'd like to see them comfortable and relaxed about their past,
I'd like to see them comfortable and relaxed about their future."

Not the most inspiring of vision for a nation.

Now Howard had a much bigger agenda than this, but kept that a bit quiet, and that caused a decent section of the Australian nation to become uncomfortable and unrelaxed over his tenure of almost 12 years, culminating in the Work Choices legislation after he increased his majority at the 2004 election and gained control of the senate, for the first time the government had done so, since 1980, and he ended up losing his seat in late 2007.

I think our board and management ( ie inc footy department), as a collective, is comfortable and relaxed about what they have achieved the past 12 years, what they are achieving at present and believe what ever happens in the future, they will be happy with it.

They don't see winning a premiership as that big a deal. It would cause uncomfortable and unrelaxed actions all over the place in the lead up to that happening.

Unfortunately, too many of our members and supporters are comfortable and relaxed with what we have achieved.

But we really need to see a 2007 election result and those board members that are comfortable and relaxed about what they have achieved, booted out.

Unfortunately the mechanism to do it, isn't available to those of us who are uncomfortable and unrelaxed about our club.

I've just sent him my own email regarding accountability (all the key decision makers apart from Richo himself being in their roles for over a decade despite this being the worst era in the club's history), and after reading this i've specifically called out the claims about players being committed and record membership.

Our membership is up 23000 since 2014, but our average attendances are down 7000. That should tell you all you need to know about membership numbers.

In terms of players loving ken and being committed, that was true during the Qualifying Final wasn't it? It was also true during the 2021 Prelim?

Excellent work , at the very least it proves to Richo we see right through his bullsh!t

After reading back through the last couple pages, it's apparent that there isn't any compelling reason to not be working (from a club perspective) towards returning to member control once again.

True that the reasons they are avoiding this is because of fear of accountability, and comfort in their roles, but they can't come out and openly say this. That's kind of the point, let's checkmate them, keep pushing for it every opportunity we get.

Be nice if it got raised several times at the AGM, enough so that Koch was forced into actually answering it properly rather than feigning ignorance, as he's done the last few years.

They love spruiking membership numbers and revenue, so let's piggyback on that and ask for our club back now we're in such a "successful" spot!

The club is now about Corporate Speak w***erdom. Its all about the KPI's.

They see finishing 3rd as top quartile
They see fans to membership ratio as top 2 for engagement
They see being Pre Match Entertainment Experience as important
Revenue Growth, Membership Growth (however dodgy) hitting KPI's
DEI
Good Corporate Citizen
Cosy work environment for the players equals connection etc etc.
Everything is Awesome!

But the issue is this isn't a public company where the shareholders get a nice return on their investment. The only KPI's that mean anything to the shareholders (Members/supporters) are Premierships, and if not Premierships, the journey towards a premiership. The Club has completely lost its way.

After reading back through the last couple pages, it's apparent that there isn't any compelling reason to not be working (from a club perspective) towards returning to member control once again.

True that the reasons they are avoiding this is because of fear of accountability, and comfort in their roles, but they can't come out and openly say this. That's kind of the point, let's checkmate them, keep pushing for it every opportunity we get.

Be nice if it got raised several times at the AGM, enough so that Koch was forced into actually answering it properly rather than feigning ignorance, as he's done the last few years.

They love spruiking membership numbers and revenue, so let's piggyback on that and ask for our club back now we're in such a "successful" spot!

Koch won't get away with that again.

There is one very compelling reason we won't be seeing Member control anytime soon - finances. We inherited the current system after the AFL baled us out back in 2012 and Koch was appointed Chairman and Keith Thomas was appointed CEO. The AFL is not going to relinquish control for fear that the Members will put the Club back in the red again. If you think Members will regain control of the Board and the Club without AFL agreement you are kidding yourself and that approval is unlikely if the faceless people in AFL House think they will have to bail us out again. This is as much a about us v the AFL as it is us v the current PAFC Board.

This is not the way I want it but it is the way things are likely to stay for the foreseeable future.

The club is now about Corporate Speak w***erdom. Its all about the KPI's.

They see finishing 3rd as top quartile
They see fans to membership ratio as top 2 for engagement
They see being Pre Match Entertainment Experience as important
Revenue Growth, Membership Growth (however dodgy) hitting KPI's
DEI
Good Corporate Citizen
Cosy work environment for the players equals connection etc etc.
Everything is Awesome!

But the issue is this isn't a public company where the shareholders get a nice return on their investment. The only KPI's that mean anything to the shareholders (Members/supporters) are Premierships, and if not Premierships, the journey towards a premiership. The Club has completely lost its way.
I can't believe you missed the most important KPI at Alberton.

Carbon neutrality

There is one very compelling reason we won't be seeing Member control anytime soon - finances. We inherited the current system after the AFL baled us out back in 2012 and Koch was appointed Chairman and Keith Thomas was appointed CEO. The AFL is not going to relinquish control for fear that the Members will put the Club back in the red again. If you think Members will regain control of the Board and the Club without AFL agreement you are kidding yourself and that approval is unlikely if the faceless people in AFL House think they will have to bail us out again. This is as much a about us v the AFL as it is us v the current PAFC Board.

This is not the way I want it but it is the way things are likely to stay for the foreseeable future.
It wasn't the members that put the club in the red, it was our SNAFL appointed board and our stadium deal with the SNAFL. When the AFL got us out of SNAFL control they simply took their place.

There are a number of member controlled clubs in the AFL which are bailed out and propped up by the AFL. The argument that a member elected board would be financially incompetent requiring the AFL to bail us out is a furphy.

It wasn't the members that put the club in the red, it was our SNAFL appointed board and our stadium deal with the SNAFL. When the AFL got us out of SNAFL control they simply took their place.

There are a number of member controlled clubs in the AFL which are bailed out and propped up by the AFL. The argument that a member elected board would be financially incompetent requiring the AFL to bail us out is a furphy.

That is not the point. The Club was in the red and that is what counts as far as the AFL is concerned.

I am not making an argument that member control = financial disaster but the AFL may see it that way.

As I posted I want to see the Club back in the hands of the Members but if we think Members are going to walk into an AGM controlled by an AFL endorsed Board and walk out with a Member elected Board we are kidding yourselves.

I know what we both want but how to get it in an AFL controlled world is the question.

Should we send a message to the AFL direct, putting our concerns in place, and re-iterating all the points to discredit the false notions that a member controlled Board would be a disaster, as so many posters on this thread have elucidated extremely well.

Tell the AFL that we are comfortable with having a 50:50 split of member elected and AFL sanctioned Board members as a trial, to prove that members have the common sense and savvy to not just elect "good bloke" hero former players alone, but will provide a measured ticket spread of candidates who have expertise in various fields of endeavour (industry, commerce, legal, media, sponsorship, politics, top echelon management of transnational organisations, etc) that will be of invaluable benefit the Club. The fact that several candidates may also have played for the club, on top of what they have achieved elsewhere, should be seen as an additional bonus.

Let them inform the Club that it should pull it's finger out of it's rectum, and address the imbalance that a risk averse, entrenched, stale, clueless model that currently holds power is a relic of a bygone era.

It's legit, just screen shoted from my email with my details blacked out.
What I found odd is that he has his phone number on the bottom.
He hands out his number to make it looks like he's a man of the people then blocks anyone who sends him the slightest critique of the clubs performance.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

That is not the point. The Club was in the red and that is what counts as far as the AFL is concerned.

I am not making an argument that member control = financial disaster but the AFL may see it that way.

As I posted I want to see the Club back in the hands of the Members but if we think Members are going to walk into an AGM controlled by an AFL endorsed Board and walk out with a Member elected Board we are kidding yourselves.

I know what we both want but how to get it in an AFL controlled world is the question.

If that's the case then lets at least get Koch and co to be transparent about it.

Obviously moving towards member control isn't something that's going to happen overnight or after one AGM, but if enough members and some powerful figures (Tredrea) etc begin to push for it, I don't see why it's something that can't begin to be canvased.

Because we were in debt, largely due to factors out of our control, are we supposed to stay under the AFLs thumb forever?

Official Club Stuff 2024 AGM - to be held on Friday 6th December 2024, 1 director to be elected by members. Nominations called for.