HumanMeatball
Mate colina and 23 for 2
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I don't disagree with you in thinking that Jagga and Draper have the highest floors. Both look like they will have very long AFL careers. I also understand the logic of prioritising this at this stage of our list build. If we have a draft like the 2004 one where we picked up Deliedio, Tambling, Meyer, Polo and Patterson we are doomed to a long period of mediocrity with Tassie coming in. This is why I'm keen to avoid too many high risk high reward picks like Hotton and while I think Lalor looks like the best player in the pool I would be having in depth talks to the medicos because power athletes and bad hamstrings worry me.My personal top 2 have been Jagga and Draper since the end of the champs and Jagga I liked from earlier than that. I have conceded that Lalor and/or FOS are likely to be taken before them both.
FWIW I believe both Smith & Draper have the highest floors among the top group in that you know what you'll get from them most weekends when it comes to their performances. That is why I see them as better complimentary pieces to our current group. They're both the type that can come in from R1 and have an immediate impact in the midfield, while I see Lalor and FOS being more likely to start outside the middle and having cameos across their first year.
So given that we're starting from ground zero in terms of our future midfield, I prefer the option of taking the more sure thing to begin the build and then look for the game changing types once you have the core established, but that's just me and I have no issue with others preferring the alternative path.
Perhaps it is the memories of the 2004 draft where we went after who we thought were the 2 best players in the draft and watched as the Hawks went and got their foundation pieces in Buddy and Roughead who were keys to their premierships, while our 2 watched on
Hamstrings can happen with any type of playerI don't disagree with you in thinking that Jagga and Draper have the highest floors. Both look like they will have very long AFL careers. I also understand the logic of prioritising this at this stage of our list build. If we have a draft like the 2004 one where we picked up Deliedio, Tambling, Meyer, Polo and Patterson we are doomed to a long period of mediocrity with Tassie coming in. This is why I'm keen to avoid too many high risk high reward picks like Hotton and while I think Lalor looks like the best player in the pool I would be having in depth talks to the medicos because power athletes and bad hamstrings worry me.
Cotchin was seen as a top 2 pick for a lot of that draft year IIRC and Martin was on recruiters radar the year before he was drafted as Kinnear Beatson had made contact in 2008 thinking he had unearthed a late round picklol Franklin was highest risk player in the draft, he went at 5 for all the reasons you are worried about in FOS and Lalor.
Should probably remember the outcome of 07 and 09 where we took the high upside Cotchin over the sure things in Masten or Morton, and the unknown from nowhere Dusty over Cunnington (and would have taken 1 over Scully).
Sure things/high floors at 1 are pointless Murphy, Scully, Swallow, Whitfield, McGrath, Rowell etc…
Patracca ,Serong , rankin were top ten. So yes I'm saying with 1 & 6 take 2 midfield types. However after Pick 10 I'd rather be taking a KP type and outside runners with good kicking skills. A third midfielder will be available in next years draft(top 10). Get the backbone in place. KP types take an extra year or 2 to develop.Midfielders or mid-forwards you would be happy to give up pick 10 for, 2012 - 2021 drafts(with the benefit of current hindsight):
2012 J Macrae, Wines, J Viney(f/s)
2013 Josh Kelly, Bontempelli, P Cripps, Z Merrett, (M Crouch? - probably not)
2014 Petracca, Angus Brayshaw, DeGoey, Heeney(academy) T Miller
2015 Mills(academy) Oliver, Parish, Hopper, J Dunkley, J Dawson
2016 Taranto, McLuggage, S Bolton, (J Daicos? f/s - probably not)
2017 Andrew Brayshaw, Uniacke, Cerra, Ed Richards, T Kelly, Z Bailey? J Worpel? Dyl Moore?
2018 Walsh, Rankine, Rozee, B Smith? Butters, Rowbottom
2019 Rowell, Anderson, H Young, Serong, T Green(academy) Flanders, Day, Chad Warner
2020 Holmes, Gulden(academy)
2021 Horne, Callaghan, N Daicos(f/s)
That's about 40 mids/mid-forwards/wingers you would happily take with pick 10 based on current hindsight AND who were available in the open draft, ie not f/s or academy. So they occur at the rate of around 4 per draft. The minimum we have seen is 2, max is about 7 from a 10 year sample.
Of the top layer available to all clubs, who I would say were roughly Bontempelli, P Cripps, Degoey, Petracca, Oliver, Bolton, Andrew Brayshaw, Walsh, Rankine, Rozee, Butters, Miller, McLuggage, Rowell, Anderson, Serong, Warner, Horne, 12 of 18 went in the top 5 of the draft.
There does seem to be a lot of good ones in this draft, anything up to 8-10 of them. I wouldn't mess around, if there are mids we rate, take them. There is no guarantee, or possibly even no likelihood there will be obvious quality mids available at picks we actually take to the draft in the future. If we fancied we could get something like the level and playing style of say Petracca, Serong, Rankine, just take them while we can.
Mate colina and 23 for 2
No current season stats available
I’ve waited a while to do my list of hopefuls for our current picks so here it goes. Tried for a nice blend with a real focus on leg speed and foot skills. It’s probably a dream for these picks to occur but this is what I believe to be a perfect result with the possibilities of who I think could be available. Anywhoo, feel free to pick it apart and call me a campaigner as much as you possibly can. cheers.
Finn O’Sullivan @pick 1
You can’t get a more well rounded footballer in this draft crop. The way this kid shakes tackles from the hips is Robert Harvey-esque. Stands up in big moments like the greats do. Has beautifully strong hands in marking contests and every possession this kid gets is a damaging one. You are looking at a kid whose potential is top 5 mids in the competition.
Jagga Smith @ pick 6
Jagga could well be gone by pick 6 but if he’s there you don’t even blink and take him straight into this footy club. He’s an accumulation monster who just kills you with a thousand cuts. This kid is like trying to catch rain…you can try but he just ends up everywhere. His ability to evade, turn and move around stoppage is breathtaking at times and you can’t just help thinking how does he manage to get his hands on it so often being his size. The combo of FOS and Jagga is lethal.
Xavier Lindsay @pick 10
Let’s for minute let ourselves imagine a half back line of Tom Brown & Xavier Lindsay. Let them both roam the ground and laser beam passes everywhere will be all-Austrian level duo.
That sort of ball use off half back would instantly change the future of this club.
Tobie Travaglia @ pick 11.
Add this kid to your club and you’ve got yourself a potential future captain and one of the most exciting line breaking footballers you can get. Doesn’t stop running and uses the ball intelligently nearly every time. Creates forward thrusts with ease. Intercepts beautifully and just keeps coming at you.
Joe Berry @pick 18
Not enough ‘o’s in smooth for J-Berry. This kid will light you up with forward craft, deft touches and just all round polish. Has leg speed to burn and developed a defensive angle to his forward craft as the year went on. Finishes his work beautifully and is a player who a coach just loves. You cross Dan butler and Dylan Moore and you get the jist. Has an air of confidence about himself and his work which gives you confidence hes got the belief. If there’s a Big game player in the making out of this draft it’s this kid.
Jobe Shannahan @pick 20
Might be wishful thinking, but if Jobe-wan-kanobe is available at pick 20 I’m saying a big yes. This kid produced at vfl level and just showed he has the forward movement to become a really exciting threat to your KP group. Had a bit of exposure in the defensive 50 at times but ultimately was settled forward. Looks to have the body shape and muscle definition to become a bit of beast. Has beautiful hands on the lead which will ultimately go really well with the beautiful kicks we are developing.
Kale Gerryn @pick 23
Two KP in a row, but two different styles in my opinion. Gerryn is a bulldozer. Crashes packs, hurts people and gives you the see you next Tuesday you absolutely love supporting. Fantastic size at 200cm and easily over the 100kegs. Beautifully balanced kick on both sides of his body and for a big man this is special. A WA kid, which has burnt us this year but if you develop this kid right you’ve got a match winner.
Copper Hynes @pick 24
Most likely dreaming for Copper to land here but hey we can all dream can’t we. Copper is a perfect combination of strength power and finesse. Creates for others as much for himself by his tenacious ability to break tackles and make things happen. A real exciting size at 190cm. An absolute Richmond tragic aswell who absolutely idolises dusty. Adding this kid gives you versatility up forward and someone who can swap through the middle to give mids a rest.
When you have a player like Law La that projects to be a Dusty like player
You just have to go for it IMO
Law La has the most upside of any player in the top 10
You just can't help yourself.
I would trade up to 2 to get him, but I'm a minority.Draper at 6 will be a brilliant get - unfortunately he will be gone !
no more south australiansI would trade up to 2 to get him, but I'm a minority.
Why notno more south australians
Patracca ,Serong , rankin were top ten. So yes I'm saying with 1 & 6 take 2 midfield types. However after Pick 10 I'd rather be taking a KP type and outside runners with good kicking skills. A third midfielder will be available in next years draft(top 10). Get the backbone in place. KP types take an extra year or 2 to develop.
Such a beautiful train station
Just taking the Mickey mate, plus he had Smith at 6 so it had to be done.
memories of a better timeSuch a beautiful train station
theyre all man childsWhy not
Problem with getting to many mids is they will restrict opportunity for each other. You can't play 4 or 5 new young onball types. Top mids in the draft need games.Realistically we might need to draft 4 top 5-10 mids to get 1 great one & 2 good ones.
But really I don't think the club should be imposing rules or restrictions on itself. If we think the 3rd best mid available to us has a greater chance of fitting into a future successful team than what the best available KPP has then take 3 mids.
North gain 6 and HOPPER.Mate colina and 23 for 2
We should not be drafting for who fits with Taranto and co, nor should we be drafting for next year or the near future. Draft the best midfielders we believe can to be the central part of our midfield in 5 years.