List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition

Pick 1

• Finn O'Sullivan

• Sam Lalor

• Jagga Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

Who knows if we get pick 2 or trade for futures. I'm coming around to Dodson with either of our last picks. For 60 years the Tigers rucks were considered amongst the finest. Always another gun waiting in the wings. At one point Roy Wright was biding his time behind Bill Morris. Since Mark Lee retired in 91 we haven't really developed a dominant Ruck ourselves (Ottens being the pick of the litter but was more ruck/kpf) the timings right to actually bite the bullet and develop one ourselves. I'm over preying on other clubs by poaching when so many like Hampson were costly busts. All of Dear, Charles, Simmonds, Maric were handy and had a couple of good years each. Nank has been a good pick up but realistically a lousy ruck. Go through our list since Lee retired for every bandaid ruck who was OK for a couple years there's 5x as many like Naismith, Strawbs Odwyer who were busts.

It would be awesome to have one learn his trade and develop great chemistry with the incoming mids we land in the next 2 - 3 drafts as well as FA's. It would be great to become a dominant clearance team again and teams are getting savvy signing up long term so if we tried to poach a Sean Darcy, Ned Molan you're gonna pay either via picks or salary or both. Time to stop being scabs and develop one ourselves. If he's gone take Whitlock or Gerreyn?

Apparently North knocked back 6 + 20 and Richmond knocked back 2 + F1 for 6 +11. Goes to show how clubs value the top 12-15 players in this year's draft.

I can see the logic in offering 6 + 20 for 2. If we offered 18 instead of 20 then North and Sydney could grab the player Richmond had earmarked in that range. I suspect that it is a tall we are looking at drafting at pick 18.

North may reconsider if they don't get a better offer. We can still trade pick 10 to Port for 13 + 29

Would have trade out at least one of 23,24 or 29 as there is only 7 list spots.

Top 6 nationwide in agility.

3.156 in the 20m, not bad for a 200cm, 100kg bloke

Is dual sided, I can't think of any KPF's like that, maybe Tex Walker, he's 7cm taller than Tex

Can roost a goal from 60m = Gold

Can Ruck

Is a leader and has a bit of mongrel.

This bloke could well be the best player to come out of this draft, the only knock on him is his tank. That can be sorted in a professional environment.

Give me another example of a kid that has this blokes attributes.
My concern with Gerreyn is that he is inclined to take a chest mark. From the footage I have seen he is always taking the ball on the chest. That will not cut it in the AFL. You can have all the attributes of a dominate forward but if you’re not taking the ball out in front, arms extended then most if not all key defenders in the AFL are not letting him touch it.

Kicking and agility looks nice, but chest marks are for rookies. Even when he is open it is a chest mark. That’s the main reason I wouldn’t take him in the 1st round. More of a pick 30’s > rookie type selection.

My concern with Gerreyn is that he is inclined to take a chest mark. From the footage I have seen he is always taking the ball on the chest. That will not cut it in the AFL. You can have all the attributes of a dominate forward but if you’re not taking the ball out in front, arms extended then most if not all key defenders in the AFL are not letting him touch it.

Kicking and agility looks nice, but chest marks are for rookies. Even when he is open it is a chest mark. That’s the main reason I wouldn’t take him in the 1st round. More of a pick 30’s > rookie type selection.

Lance Franklins weakness was his overhead marking.

We don't need heaps of talls. 1 key forward and maybe 1 ruck/forward. That's enough.
At the moment not necessarily. Though we have lost quality talls recently. Most of our key forwards are rookies. Lefau, Grey, Bauer all third tall types. Kozie and Fawcett are the big powerful forwards. Kozie is a stop gap and Fawcett is a rookie (potential no.1 key forward)
That leaves Samson Ryan and Lynch as the other tall forwards. Samson is already 25 and Lynch has a season or 2 left.

Getting a key tall forward with pick 10-11 would be very wise. Armstrong, Shanahan could be a Riewoldt replacement and a Whitlock could be a Lynch replacement. Hypothetically of course lol

Lance Franklins weakness was his overhead marking.
I understand what you’re saying. But comparing the two isn’t fair lol. Lance was a highly rated junior and went pick 5.
I wouldn’t say it was a weakness of Fanklin’s considering he burst onto the scene early days. Though it is an area that can be developed, especially considering what ever key forward we draft will have the chance to develop under the best overhead mark in the comp in Lynch.

But look, Tom Hawkins made a career out of taking chest marks so it is possible for Gerreyn to make it. lol

Apparently North knocked back 6 + 20 and Richmond knocked back 2 + F1 for 6 +11. Goes to show how clubs value the top 12-15 players in this year's draft.

I can see the logic in offering 6 + 20 for 2. If we offered 18 instead of 20 then North and Sydney could grab the player Richmond had earmarked in that range. I suspect that it is a tall we are looking at drafting at pick 18.

North may reconsider if they don't get a better offer. We can still trade pick 10 to Port for 13 + 29

Where was it reported we offered 6 and 20?

I think Whitlock or Faull may be our target at #18
#23 will be traded into 2025 if a good deal is offered otherwise Gerryn/Dodson
#24 we are already talking to Datoli, should he be available at this pick
#6 depends if we get #2 (FOS), otherwise Jagger/Smillie @ #6
#10 & 11 - will contain an Armstrong or Shanahan & Lindsay or Travaglia if we keep both

Who knows if we get pick 2 or trade for futures. I'm coming around to Dodson with either of our last picks. For 60 years the Tigers rucks were considered amongst the finest. Always another gun waiting in the wings. At one point Roy Wright was biding his time behind Bill Morris. Since Mark Lee retired in 91 we haven't really developed a dominant Ruck ourselves (Ottens being the pick of the litter but was more ruck/kpf) the timings right to actually bite the bullet and develop one ourselves. I'm over preying on other clubs by poaching when so many like Hampson were costly busts. All of Dear, Charles, Simmonds, Maric were handy and had a couple of good years each. Nank has been a good pick up but realistically a lousy ruck. Go through our list since Lee retired for every bandaid ruck who was OK for a couple years there's 5x as many like Naismith, Strawbs Odwyer who were busts.

It would be awesome to have one learn his trade and develop great chemistry with the incoming mids we land in the next 2 - 3 drafts as well as FA's. It would be great to become a dominant clearance team again and teams are getting savvy signing up long term so if we tried to poach a Sean Darcy, Ned Molan you're gonna pay either via picks or salary or both. Time to stop being scabs and develop one ourselves. If he's gone take Whitlock or Gerreyn?
Dodson would be a great get. Not only a tap ruckman but gets Fantastic possession numbers.

I think Whitlock or Faull may be our target at #18
#23 will be traded into 2025 if a good deal is offered otherwise Gerryn/Dodson
#24 we are already talking to Datoli, should he be available at this pick
#6 depends if we get #2 (FOS), otherwise Jagger/Smillie @ #6
#10 & 11 - will contain an Armstrong or Shanahan & Lindsay or Travaglia if we keep both
Trainor or Jack Whitlock @ 18
Dodson @ 23

I think if we were desperate for a top end pick, we would have traded Baker and pick 11 to west coast for pick 3. I think we need to keep our early pick to free up picks 23 or 24 for trade for future picks. Let's say we could trade one for Essendon's future 1st. Worst case Essendon win the GF next year (Hey they are delusional enough to believe it) and we break even. Best case Essendon finish bottom four (most likely scenario) and we make a killing. I'm not sure who the other bunny would be. North would be the safest bet but maybe Geelong and Collingwood would be good options as well.

Never heard of him. Does he work for a club or is he in the media?

Said on a podcast he started getting into the AFL draft this year as a way into media, as he reckons it’s a gap in the market. Footy fan but said he didn’t really pay attention until this year when he knew he had to learn it thoroughly to make content on it.

Pretty measured with his takes and analysis, best of the footy YouTube guys

Just throwing them off the top of my head a nice mix

1) Lalor
6) Draper, Jagga, Smillie in that order.
Will most likely be Smillie as the only one available at that point
10) Murphy Reid
11) Armstrong if not available Shanahan
18) Hannaford or Dattoli
20) M Whitlock or Barrat
23) Trade out on our favourable terms for 2025, get late pick for Davidson
24) Oliver

Edit: I do like the look of Gerreyn too I just don’t know where he fits in the picks. Maybe if we don’t go for a KPF at 11 and hope he’s available later on?
I'd love Lalor and Jagga with our first 2 but I cant see it happening - Jagga is too good to slide - I reckon north, carlton, adelaide, melbourne would all take him in a heartbeat if available. Smillie will definitely be avail at 6 but I dont like the Lalor/smillie combo - it feels risky, slow(?), lacking class maybe. I think we need a banker in the mix like Jagga.

If we do snag Jagga I'd add in Cooper Hynes at 20 as a full on bull to compliment the work of Jagga on the inside - instead of Whitlock.

Said on a podcast he started getting into the AFL draft this year as a way into media, has he reckons it’s a gap in the market. Footy fan but said he didn’t really pay attention until this year when he knew he had to learn it thoroughly to make content on it.

Pretty measured with his takes and analysis, best of the footy YouTube guys
Ok thanks. So he’s just a punter.

Yep definitely knows his stuff in terms of the prospects and hes been at the CTL and Championship games.

But in terms of knowing what we’ve offered North, and being sourced in that respect, I’m not as sure. Hasn’t really made out that he is ‘In The Know’, besides saying we offered 6&20, maybe he misread that somewhere

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition