- Mar 25, 2019
- AFL Club
- Carlton
Mentioned on the Dons board we've picked up Snelling?
*NVM Sturt picked him up
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Owies and Fogarty/Cuningham do not play the same role. We won’t be repurposing Williams and Boyd - we have recruited plenty of FP and HFF options.Simples?
Not quite, taking Owies, Fogarty and Cuningham takes three options from one role in one fell swoop. Unless Fantasia is “flying” to go with Motlop, Durds and Cottrell. A combo of Martin, E.Hollands and Moir may mitigate to a degree, but it seems unlikely. I suppose we could repurpose Williams and/or Boyd in the front half as the young defenders come on.
Still think he should be our number one KPD, allowing Weitering to be the number two KPD, rounded out by Gov as the talls down back.
News to meAn AA level ruckman... most of us see TDK graduating to that level this year.
I think we're definitely short one real gun tall backman. We did trade the pick GWS used on Sam Taylor. Someone at that level is really the only gap we have down back. But from what I've seen of Durdin he's just a bit slow for AFL level.
Other gaps: An AA level ruckman... most of us see TDK graduating to that level this year.
Speed in the midfield. Fantasia/Williams should help a little from the flanks but this is still our biggest gap.
I think we're well covered everywhere else.
Based on what?
His 1 game for us where he didn't even finish the game due to injury?
If you're suggesting that he isn't yet that's fair, if obvious. If you're suggesting he can never be, on what basis?Kemp is not a midfielder at AFL level
I just don't want him primarily starting at the centre bounce as I think he tends to hurt us there more than he helps. Happy for him to be more on-ball outside of that because we can restructure accordingly.Just because Walsh is a gun runner, doesn’t mean he’s a wingman.
The wing can be a self sacrificing role at times. We don’t want Walsh sacrificing his game..he’s a Roles Royce.
Kennedy, Young, Owies, Corey Durdin, and Pittonet seem like straight forward choices to me for trading currency at the end of 2024.It's a fair assessment....for the first time for a long time, we'll likely see more players seeking trades elsewhere for more opportunities. It started this year with Fish and Dow, and as our list grows deeper, you'd suspect others will follow.
Just a few points though in response. For mine, I wouldn't trade George for the world - he's played some great footy for us since we got him over, and just built for finals. I reckon Vossy would love him, and not taking up much salary. Kennedy I can see becoming depth and could get shopped around.
I'm also a huge fan of Corey Durdin. Injuries over the past year have held him back, but I still think he's our best small forward. Owies could be the one looking over his shoulder - for mine, his limitations were found out during the finals series to the point where the match committee lost patience with him. Fog was a far better option. Either way, I'd still have Durdin well ahead of both.
I suspect Young may get shopped around, although he's actually decent depth in more than one position. If both of our rucks go down like what happened in the Freo game, he can take on that role. Seemed to lose all confidence down back this year, so not sure where he's placed there. I just don't think we can have both him and Nigel as depth KPD's running around in the magoo's. At some stage we need to bring in a young KPD to develop.
Big Dom is on borrowed time this year - freakish athleticism - but apart from that, nowhere near AFL standard. Unless there's a major turnaround, I can't see him getting promoted to the senior list - so the vacant Cat B rookie spot should be taken by Duffy.
I think end of next year our recruiters will be all about recruiting a top level quick onballer. I think we are a team who is one high grade ready made recruit in this area from becoming a genuine contender. Our Dangerfield moment or another Cerra moment.
A draftee in this area isn't going to be ready in time and at our first pick may not have been the quality we are aiming at so possible why we avoided the onballer and chose more outside players unless we play one of them in the middle.
I think come the end of next season we will see ourselves head hunting that elite quick, hard running mid. Hopefully have the cap space and the picks and there is someone available.
Nice to see us add plenty of pace and two way run the last two seasons in the draft. Camporeale twins coming in next season, we should hopefully have plenty of pace to pick from over the coming seasons.
Williams will add a fair bit. Fantasia will hopefully as well.
DeKoning is just needs to add a bit more consistency with his marking and he jumps a level or two in quality. Hoping that happens with a bit more size and maturity.
I like having a more mobile CHB in Marchbank. He's the same height as May who is an elite key defender. He hasn't had a full preseason in a while. Think there is a lot to look forward to there. He's an intercept marker, he also provides two way overlap run from defence which is rare for a player his size.
Young a Durdin are good backup for Weitering. Not sure who is good backup for Marchbank? McGovern may have to change his role at times to play CHB, we have a bit of backup for McGovern with Cowan. That tall fast defender could be a need for us if we have enough injuries but here is hoping we don't.
Agreed why reward a club who went all in with b grade rejetcs that made multiple prelims. Are the Eagles now going to get the same or even Geelong once they crash in the next 1-2 years? the precedent seems to be had with norf...I'm less concerned with Gold Coast's academy than I am with North's handout.
Every chance that if the Gold Coast (and other Northern) academy wasn't in place, the kids that were drafted wouldn't have been available anyway (playing other sports - rugby, league, basketball, soccer). The AFL is looking to consolidate in the northern states, and if the price we pay for that is that the Suns get a raft of Academy kids, so be it. As the Gold Coast said today, when they lost their two captains (Lynch, May) a few years back, they were told to strengthen their local input. They've done that, and now they get complaints that it's too strong? The go-home factor will always be there for players they recruit from the southern states, so all power to them if they've built a strong local feed - it can only strengthen the competition long term.
Why the media is focusing on the Gold Coast as the compromising factor in this draft is beyond me. The handouts to North were far more compromising, yet there's little to no focus on that at all. Want to fix compromised drafts? (1) Fix free agency compensation. It's a rort. (2) No handouts. I can't see West Coast being a whole lot better in 2024 than they were this year. And this year they equalled the record for the number of 100pt thrashings. In a far worse state then North. If so, you'd think they'd make a fair case for handouts next year.
Mentioned on the Dons board we've picked up Snelling?
*NVM Sturt picked him up
I’m not willing to write Kemp off as a midfielder yet … but he’s shown little at VFL level (and honestly not much at underage level) to suggest he will be a regular and reliable AFL midfielder.If you're suggesting that he isn't yet that's fair, if obvious. If you're suggesting he can never be, on what basis?
I’m not willing to write Kemp off as a midfielder yet … but he’s shown little at VFL level (and honestly not much at underage level) to suggest he will be a regular and reliable AFL midfielder.
I see him as a third tall forward but expect the club see him as a defender and he will continue in that role in 2024.
Good to see someone without blinkers on.
The afl academy system is so good for footy up here in QLD. Plus they don’t get any father sons that vic clubs have access to.
And yes, the afl has got to stop giving handouts to perennially struggling clubs. If they can’t survive by now, cut the umbilical chord and put resources to better measure - Time to stop trying to bait a sinker expecting to catch a fish.
Jumper numbers revealed for season 2024
See which Blues are wearing what numbers next season.www.carltonfc.com.au
They haven't given Duffy a number. I seriously doubt that we listed him.
Is this a premiership side?: Carlton's best 22 ahead of the 2024 AFL season
Carlton's best 22 predicted and analysed ahead of the 2024 AFL season.www.sen.com.au
FB: Nic Newman, Jacob Weitering, Caleb Marchbank
HB: Zac Williams, Mitch McGovern, Adam Saad
C: Blake Acres, Patrick Cripps, Ollie Hollands
HF: Jack Martin, Charlie Curnow, Sam Walsh
FF: Jesse Motlop, Harry McKay, Jack Silvagni
Fol: Tom De Koning, Adam Cerra, George Hewett
INT: Sam Docherty, Jordan Boyd, Lachie Fogarty, Matt Cottrell
EMG: David Cuningham, Matthew Kennedy, Marc Pittonet, Brodie Kemp
We just removed 4 midfielders, arguably 5, and replaced them with 1 or 2.I’m not willing to write Kemp off as a midfielder yet … but he’s shown little at VFL level (and honestly not much at underage level) to suggest he will be a regular and reliable AFL midfielder.
I see him as a third tall forward but expect he club see him as a defender and he will continue in that role in 2024.
This I agree with. But think there’s a few others in line before Kemp.Typical misfire from SEN, but it has some pretty safe bets.
We just removed 4 midfielders, arguably 5, and replaced them with 1 or 2.
Something's going to shift.
Typical misfire from SEN, but it has some pretty safe bets.
We just removed 4 midfielders, arguably 5, and replaced them with 1 or 2.
Something's going to shift.
Apologies. Didn’t clarify what I meant too well. I was meaning it was good for suns as they don’t get father suns.Gold Coast and GWS don’t get Father Sons for obvious reasons, the other 2 clubs (Brissy especially) sure as hell do. Not sure what planet you were on when writing that?
Sad for Duffy - IIRC he was the more highly rated of the Irishmen?Jumper numbers revealed for season 2024
See which Blues are wearing what numbers next season.www.carltonfc.com.au
They haven't given Duffy a number. I seriously doubt that we listed him.
Sad for Duffy - IIRC he was the more highly rated of the Irishmen?
Thought the rugby of Monahan would go alright. Multi-sports as his background & a solid build.Not sure if he was more highly rated but looking at their highlights videos, I feel his attributes would transfer more easily to AFL then Monahan.
Thought the rugby of Monahan would go alright. Multi-sports as his background & a solid build.
I'm right in the middle with this one.Not seeing the 4-5 mids we removed
Flankers - Honey, Philp, Fisher, Plow. Cotts took over the Ed Curnow flanker/wing role
Dow and LOB the only true mids but were well behind the pecking order of AFL standard
Added Wilson and E Hollands, both who I believe will have better output between the arcs
Kemp not playing through the middle anytime soon, IMHO