List Mgmt. 2024 List Management 📃

Has the Duffy listing been clarified?
Duffy is listed, until the club or AFL state otherwise, he is listed.

I know people have put 2 + 2 together, but people need to stop assuming he isn't because it makes more sense to them.

He is contracted, and a reasonable assumption is that part of that contract is the listing. If we didn't list him, them we would have broken that contract

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Try for the most talented free agent available (as opposed to a role player) who we can get for free, trade out our 2024 first rounder for a 2025 first (and a bit more), then do the opposite with our 2025 second round pick - simple! Of course some of that is dependent on whether we have available trade bait or not.

I know people have put 2 + 2 together, but people need to stop assuming he isn't because it makes more sense to them.

He is contracted, and a reasonable assumption is that part of that contract is the listing. If we didn't list him, them we would have broken that contract
You've got this the wrong way around.
There has been no announcement of his listing. Until the the club or AFL state he's been listed, then he's not listed.

We signed him well before he was able to be listed. I don't see how that is breaking a contract.

Maybe explain how we would be able to list 45 players?

Chances of a fresh draftee displacing Newman who was playing close to All Australian level football in the 2nd half of last season?

Still higher than Jimmae including Newman in a best 22... :p

You've got this the wrong way around.
There has been no announcement of his listing. Until the the club or AFL state he's been listed, then he's not listed.

We signed him well before he was able to be listed. I don't see how that is breaking a contract.

Maybe explain how we would be able to list 45 players?
I would say the fact it is reported on the AFL website, he is listed.

Looks like pommy was correct, we have 45

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Spot on

wa caller on guessen (no, I don't) whingeing about academies & freo losing mots cause of the pick 40 cutoff for matching - I cried a little bit
It is a nonsense anyway that Motlop would be attached to an Academy as a son of a prominent past player. Like Hodge’s boy can potentially choose Lions Academy over Father/son. Lizard Blakey gets to Swans rather than Father/son etc etc

Listened to Cochran yesterday regarding Suns academy. Had some great points. 1300 kids they are actually “nurturing” currently. That is a massive undertaking for a club. However, getting exclusive access to a pool that large is scary. So many ex-pat southern families locating here in Qld. Imagine considering relocating if you have a talented 12yo in Vic. Get the kid to an Academy and you can guarantee he will be drafted at “home” if any good (guaranteed at some stage families will be incentivised by a club to do so)

Sydney have rorted the convoluted draft system in AFLW, getting elite VIC girls to nominate NSW draft pool as a choice for “incentives”.

Northern Academy V NGA V Father/son.

The only necessary alteration to the father/son rule is to stop clubs trading up or down to get “bonus” picks in current or subsequent drafts. Though so many have done it previously, we should not be able to conjure an extra first rounder before taking one or both of the Campo boys late in the first round. If a club’s “natural” first rounder falls before a bid, all well and good, but not a contrived pick.

Too many moving parts.

More of guidelines than rules when it suits. Automatic Academy listings as Cat B rookies is a rort as well

It is a nonsense anyway that Motlop would be attached to an Academy as a son of a prominent past player. Like Hodge’s boy can potentially choose Lions Academy over Father/son. Lizard Blakey gets to Swans rather than Father/son etc etc

Listened to Cochran yesterday regarding Suns academy. Had some great points. 1300 kids they are actually “nurturing” currently. That is a massive undertaking for a club. However, getting exclusive access to a pool that large is scary. So many ex-pat southern families locating here in Qld. Imagine considering relocating if you have a talented 12yo in Vic. Get the kid to an Academy and you can guarantee he will be drafted at “home” if any good (guaranteed at some stage families will be incentivised by a club to do so)

Sydney have rorted the convoluted draft system in AFLW, getting elite VIC girls to nominate NSW draft pool as a choice for “incentives”.

Northern Academy V NGA V Father/son.

The only necessary alteration to the father/son rule is to stop clubs trading up or down to get “bonus” picks in current or subsequent drafts. Though so many have done it previously, we should not be able to conjure an extra first rounder before taking one or both of the Campo boys late in the first round. If a club’s “natural” first rounder falls before a bid, all well and good, but not a contrived pick.

Too many moving parts.

More of guidelines than rules when it suits. Automatic Academy listings as Cat B rookies is a rort as well

The solution for draft points is simple.

Cap them as at the conclusion of the trade period.

I hated seeing there be an embargo on pick trading only to open the draft itself with multiple pick trades being announced to improve draft hands as that enabled the Suns to get more points and picks whilst giving up a slightly higher pick.

So cap the points at the end of the trade deadline. What you enter draft night with points wise is what you have to play with.

I also found it suspect that it was Brisbane that helped the Suns out twice. I have no issue with multiple trades between teams but that's a factor that will go the other way in the future when the Lions need GC's help.

(And you know I want the Suns to succeex more than most)

I just hope the AFL doesn't introduce the system that they're "trialling" in the AFLW draft where if you have a father-daughter and other nominations that you need to have a pick in that round to match. Talk about giving teams with late picks (the better teams) a huge advantage that screws usually weaker teams.

Kemp becoming an AFL midfielder is a Carlton board pipe dream...

Kemp may need some work on his defensive craft.
However he's best suited to the interceptor/re-bounder role in defence, who can also pinch hit forward if needed...

As for Big Durds, why does everyone have him as delist every year?
It very rare for a KPP that can comfortably cover at AFL level. Who is just happy to be on an AFL list and play VFL until injury's...

Still think he should be our number one KPD, allowing Weitering to be the number two KPD, rounded out by Gov as the talls down back.

Going back to Elijah Hollands and his 1 year contract, does anyone find it slightly questionable that we reduced the length of his contract based on his court case?

Obviously he has talent, pontential and we wanted to bring him over, but to reduce the contract length possibly seems unnecessary?
If you are punching lines in a casino toilet and leave your wallet in the cubicle, you need a serious wake up and smell the coffee moment. This provides that. No issues with him doing lines, preferable alternative to boozing and fighting, but mate, take some responsibility for the precarious position your career is in.
Struggling to navigate through this is where the issue lies. There are no first prizes for laziness, stupidity or getting your priorities in the wrong order. A one yr contract should help with clarity around that.

I'm less concerned with Gold Coast's academy than I am with North's handout.

Every chance that if the Gold Coast (and other Northern) academy wasn't in place, the kids that were drafted wouldn't have been available anyway (playing other sports - rugby, league, basketball, soccer). The AFL is looking to consolidate in the northern states, and if the price we pay for that is that the Suns get a raft of Academy kids, so be it. As the Gold Coast said today, when they lost their two captains (Lynch, May) a few years back, they were told to strengthen their local input. They've done that, and now they get complaints that it's too strong? The go-home factor will always be there for players they recruit from the southern states, so all power to them if they've built a strong local feed - it can only strengthen the competition long term.

Why the media is focusing on the Gold Coast as the compromising factor in this draft is beyond me. The handouts to North were far more compromising, yet there's little to no focus on that at all. Want to fix compromised drafts? (1) Fix free agency compensation. It's a rort. (2) No handouts. I can't see West Coast being a whole lot better in 2024 than they were this year. And this year they equalled the record for the number of 100pt thrashings. In a far worse state then North. If so, you'd think they'd make a fair case for handouts next year.

Every chance that if the Gold Coast (and other Northern) academy wasn't in place, the kids that were drafted wouldn't have been available anyway (playing other sports - rugby, league, basketball, soccer). The AFL is looking to consolidate in the northern states, and if the price we pay for that is that the Suns get a raft of Academy kids, so be it. As the Gold Coast said today, when they lost their two captains (Lynch, May) a few years back, they were told to strengthen their local input. They've done that, and now they get complaints that it's too strong? The go-home factor will always be there for players they recruit from the southern states, so all power to them if they've built a strong local feed - it can only strengthen the competition long term.

Why the media is focusing on the Gold Coast as the compromising factor in this draft is beyond me. The handouts to North were far more compromising, yet there's little to no focus on that at all. Want to fix compromised drafts? (1) Fix free agency compensation. It's a rort. (2) No handouts. I can't see West Coast being a whole lot better in 2024 than they were this year. And this year they equalled the record for the number of 100pt thrashings. In a far worse state then North. If so, you'd think they'd make a fair case for handouts next year.

100%. Anyone who has been following the draft for a long time would be able to see the impact of the academies on producing afl talent. Prior to 2010 you'd be lucky to get 1-2 players drafted from NSW and QLD per year, despite Sydney and Brisbane being in the comp for over 20 years.

Also, as Cochrane pointed out Goldcoast only got access to 4 1st rounders because they are bad. They have another 4-5 guys coming through in 2 years and if Goldcoast are top 4 they will only get access to 1, meaning they will likely have produced 3-4 top talents for other clubs that otherwise wouldn't have existed. If they are still bad then and get to match bids, it'll probably mean they aren't that advantaged after all.

North Melbourne situation is just making up rules as it suits the AFL. As consequence clubs now know they can roll the dice to chase a flag and be bailed out if it goes pear shaped. The precedent has been set and no doubt in a few years the Eagles will come calling.

Agree with this on Durdin and Motlop. A lot of them look like a flash in the pan without substance until it clicks for them and then it comes together very quickly.

It's never a guarantee to all come together but there are success stories every year. This year it was Bobby Hill (among others) who went from occasional flash in the pan, diamond in the rough, to game breaker when it counted most.

At the same stage I'd argue both Motlop and Durdin had shown as much. Might not happen but if it does it'll come quickly.

I'm not even concerned with the competition for spots. Just makes meritorious selection mean that much more.
Footspeed is the difference.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Good to see someone without blinkers on.

The afl academy system is so good for footy up here in QLD. Plus they don’t get any father sons that vic clubs have access to.

And yes, the afl has got to stop giving handouts to perennially struggling clubs. If they can’t survive by now, cut the umbilical chord and put resources to better measure - Time to stop trying to bait a sinker expecting to catch a fish.

The afl academy system is so good for footy up here in QLD. Plus they don’t get any father sons that vic clubs have access to.

And yes, the afl has got to stop giving handouts to perennially struggling clubs. If they can’t survive by now, cut the umbilical chord and put resources to better measure - Time to stop trying to bait a sinker expecting to catch a fish.
So let’s not get carried away with “they don’t get any father sons…”

Heard the names Ashcroft and Fletcher? Another Ashcroft next year

The Suns don’t have access to father sons, similarly the Giants, but the Lions and Swans get the best of both worlds.

Agreed but Sydney & BL do have access to F/S’s as well.

From I read of Cochrane’s response, pretty spot on for GC. It’s good for footy.

It's a difficult balance

I do agree that we need to nurture AFL in QLD, but the discounts are sizable and at some point a line needs to be drawn before it becomes a tipping point which goes against the AFLs own equalisation measures

Suns also can't complain about struggles with retention, especially when they entice young talent such as a 16 year old Jack Bowes to relocate from Cairns to the Gold Coast, then happily ship him off(with a 1st round pick) in a fire sale due to cap mismanagement

AFL/Suns can still grow the game in the region, still have first access to home developed talent, even if they removed the bid matching discount

Remember, Suns received a priority pick package end of 2019, as well as free access to NT talent that year

Gold Coast has been a basket case since its inception because it is a club with no culture. Players don’t feel an attachment and the lifestyle is far from the AFL bubble.
It’s not an unfamiliar story for Gold Cost teams in other national codes.
I have no problem with their Academy access but the way the AFL has propped the club up with additional on and off field support has been both unfair and an abysmal failure.
Appointing Hardwick and with list development, there’s no excuses now.
They should play finals in 2024 and be a real power in the next decade. Not convinced it will happen.