Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

There is economy of scale though and you just wonder how hard they really are trying.
I think they would make enough solar panels and battery's to bring costs down.
The company's I have bought my gear off have no affiliation with oil, gas or coal.
They are direct competitors so why wouldn't they try ?

I think they would make enough solar panels and battery's to bring costs down.
The company's I have bought my gear off have no affiliation with oil, gas or coal.
They are direct competitors so why wouldn't they try ?
I mean government, not business. Why has a technology that has been around for ages still being subsidised by the government. If fossil fuels are so competitive why do they still need govt financial support. Hasn't big mining been receiving discounted royalties forever.

"The bulk of Western Australian LNG production is subject to little or even zero tax, undermining fossil fuel industry claims that its revenues are critical to the funding of government services.

Analysis produced by The Australia Institute estimates that $27 billion worth of LNG was exported from Western Australia in 2021, but just $430 million was paid to the WA state government in royalties.

This sees LNG royalties making up just 1 per cent of state government revenues and contributing a smaller amount to the government’s income than vehicle registration fees."

Not a level playing field and if discounts and subsidies go anywhere it should all be to cleaner energy not fossil fuels. If they were serious they would take fossil fuels off the test.

yep, 5000 WA people directly earn their livelihood and for their families working for Woodside, probably another 5000+ contractors and as well as many other WA businesses that support them. The state and fed governments make huge dollars off them (660 million in 2022 even before taxes from those individual employees) which pays for our hospitals, roads, dole, middle class welfare, etc.. And we run much of our electricity off their gas to do, well everything including chatting on these websites and charging most of our electric cars at night. It makes such virtue signaling look incredibly hypocritical with few exceptions at worst, or incredibly naive at best. I work in innovation helping a number of companies try to improve the world through new means for 'green' power, as well as try to rid the world of the plastic scourge, and even treat long covid. We've been talking about gas being the necessary transition fuel for 20 years and nothing has changed, regardless of what people rage about on socials for 5 minutes to make them feel like they are making the world a better place before going back to their normal (and using Woodside's gas to do it).
Too Sensible.

Go Away GIF

Well there are a whole bunch of different takes here. I just hope the board go to market, have a competitive tender and decide in line with the best interest of its members (maybe even sending out some polls/reaching out to understand what those interests even are). I think no matter which side of the fence you sit you´d want to know you`re getting the right deal.

I´ve got to reject this strawman being thrown out there that only a minority of fremantle supporters that care about sponsorship. We´re a pretty typical cross section of Australia, a country whose last federal election was literally decided by a large chunk of the liberal party vote splintering into the teal i.e. liberal but with a strong climate change policy.

I don´t think you can link us to Netball Australia as AFL is a different product and is much stronger in terms of viewers and revenue.
Will be interested to see what kind of deal Cricket Australia nets come July.

I'm amazed that some think the club has in the past and would in the future just accept any sponsorship deal, at any price, with any arrangements whatsoever.

Firstly, we don't just have the choice of selecting the companies or businesses that we want. The business has to be in the position to sponsor, and then want to sponsor us, and they need to get what they want from the deal - win/win.

And secondly, of course we would do due diligence on every potential sponsor, we would negotiate to get the best deal for the club AND the sponsor. Any sponsorship arrangement needs to be a win/win for BOTH parties.

Well there are a whole bunch of different takes here. I just hope the board go to market, have a competitive tender and decide in line with the best interest of its members (maybe even sending out some polls/reaching out to understand what those interests even are). I think no matter which side of the fence you sit you´d want to know you`re getting the right deal.

I´ve got to reject this strawman being thrown out there that only a minority of fremantle supporters that care about sponsorship. We´re a pretty typical cross section of Australia, a country whose last federal election was literally decided by a large chunk of the liberal party vote splintering into the teal i.e. liberal but with a strong climate change policy.

I don´t think you can link us to Netball Australia as AFL is a different product and is much stronger in terms of viewers and revenue.
Will be interested to see what kind of deal Cricket Australia nets come July.

Teal are not liberal with climate change. They are labor/green who appealed to the masses who like to pretend they can be climate warriors without changing their comfortable lifestyle, and have no idea what the Greens fantasy land policies would actually mean for that lifestyle.

I can guarantee that the vast majority of Freo supporters would be happy with Woodside as the major sponsor. Polls when this first surfaced were 85-90% in favour of keeping Woodside. Many of those might prefer a "nice" company if that company gave a similar amount of money. But the reality of the world is that you are going to find it hard to find such a company.

Look at the major sponsors out there ... airlines, car companies, banks/insurance, gambling, fast food, alcohol. They all offer services which we consume, but in doing so they are no angels.

If you want to draw a line through Woodside cause of the bad things they do, that's fine if you are willing to cross out the other companies that also do bad things or need the likes of Woodside for their business. But you will find most of these activists are hypocrites of the highest order.

The least offensive sponsor (with money) I can think of would be a company like Coles or Woolworths. But even they rely on the petroleum industry for transport, fertilizers, packaging, etc. Wesfarmers could be another one in the same realm. Maybe they could do it under the banner of Bunnings. Everyone would love that. We could roll out a special Bunnings retro jumper in dark green, red, white and purple and replace the anchor with a giant hammer.

I’ve generally liked cornes in the past as he gives an opinion unlike the channel 7 guys in particular (who just talk ad nauseum about how great the “superstars” are) but lately Cornes has gone full Skip Bayless.
Especially if talking about port and JHF.
Clearly Hutchy is telling him to get as many clicks as possible via hot takes.
He’s gone too far IMO.

Teal are not liberal with climate change. They are labor/green who appealed to the masses who like to pretend they can be climate warriors without changing their comfortable lifestyle, and have no idea what the Greens fantasy land policies would actually mean for that lifestyle.

I can guarantee that the vast majority of Freo supporters would be happy with Woodside as the major sponsor. Polls when this first surfaced were 85-90% in favour of keeping Woodside. Many of those might prefer a "nice" company if that company gave a similar amount of money. But the reality of the world is that you are going to find it hard to find such a company.

Look at the major sponsors out there ... airlines, car companies, banks/insurance, gambling, fast food, alcohol. They all offer services which we consume, but in doing so they are no angels.

If you want to draw a line through Woodside cause of the bad things they do, that's fine if you are willing to cross out the other companies that also do bad things or need the likes of Woodside for their business. But you will find most of these activists are hypocrites of the highest order.

The least offensive sponsor (with money) I can think of would be a company like Coles or Woolworths. But even they rely on the petroleum industry for transport, fertilizers, packaging, etc. Wesfarmers could be another one in the same realm. Maybe they could do it under the banner of Bunnings. Everyone would love that. We could roll out a special Bunnings retro jumper in dark green, red, white and purple and replace the anchor with a giant hammer.

You´ve just made another characterisation of the alternative view as some whacky, hypocritical bunch of greenies when the reality is most are pretty much the same as you, just with a different opinion on one thing.

Not sure if that 90% poll truly exists and it would depend what the question was. "Do you want to keep Woodside" (implies that saying no means you´d prefer to lose their money altogether) or "With similar sponsorships would you prefer Woodside or X as your preferred sponsor". I´m sure most supporters prioritise football performance over personal beliefs.

Re: Woolies/Coles/Bunnings using petroleum for transport, I´d go back to Drago´s great screenshot, just participating in society as it stands doesn´t make you a hypocrite.

I do reckon you´re onto something with the Bunnings jumper, replace the chevrons with some burnt snags. Purple straw hats.

W

Well Bunnings and Woolworths have crushed the independent family shop and gardening centres.
Then they gouged their suppliers ie the dairy farmers to within a cent of bankruptcy..
To run a pro sporting club you are going to have to get in bed with the devil 🤣

There seriously can’t be anything to do with this club that I give less of a f$&k about than jumper designs. Always amazes me how excited people get.
It’s a bit over the top now though. Every second week there’s a new design!

Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread