Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

The hype train has been pushed into overdrive with this bloke.

We have invested so heavily in the midfield with early picks, you simply just can’t keep doing it and neglect all other areas.
Especially when the right talls come along, four key position players in my opinion are there, I'm hoping we grab two of them.

The champs final was the highest quality under 18s game I've seen. Armstrong had a great game and stood up when it counted. Agree on Gerreyn, mongrel, talent, size and athleticism off the charts. Really hoping we find a pick in his range.
I cannot agree, Stevens looked good in that game and held his own in a lot of contests. I dont think he makes it. I think because the overall standard was lower, the draft group just isn’t that great. I think the 4 midfielders will go alright.. Levi obviously a standout in the entire draft.

The champs looked good because the talent pool was closer to average than it was exceptional. You know, when two shit AFL teams play off in a close game, people say “wow what a cracking game of footy”. Just because the game was good to watch doesn’t mean the talent was that good.

Watching Armstrong, he’s awkward and clumsy, doesnt move that well. He is hit or miss. He’ll be a slower burn than Logan McDonald

Mate you might very well take 2. But even Troy Makepeace is saying you love the bloke and will use pick 2 if you have to.

As per the pick swaps. I’ll need to re-listen to it to make sure I heard it correctly.

But Twomey on gettable was saying Richmond knocked you back - so in essence you do want to trade down and you do want a pick around 6/7 for what appears to be Tauru.

The evenness of this draft is why you won’t get hauls from prior years for your pick 2.

Pick 3 got 12&14.
We aren't using pick 2 on Tauru, though I understand why St Kilda would want us to. There are six top tier mids (not counting Ashcroft) and you guys have pick 7. If you guys don't trade up, you miss out.

Maybe we would accept 7+F1 for 2, maybe not. We would want to use your F1 to buy back in and I doubt there will be takers. I think you will need to try and organise a three-way with GWS.

St Kilda 7,8 for 2,16
GWS 15,16 for 8
North 2 for 7,15

I've got this feeling Melbourne are the ones ramping up Tauru to spook us in to either taking him at 2 or manoeuvring themselves for a play at pick 2. I only say this as have mates in coteries there that keep telling me how good Tauru looks. Just outta the blue, random texts. They won't take him at 5, 0.1% chance of that.....but guess there's a chance.
Would probably still leave a Smillie or Reid on the board at 9 for them if they did.
Or it's St Kilda trying to do a deal for pick 2 and creating drama....haven't though that one through though, but there's a few suss Saints supporters with their "ideas" and thoughts.
Only our club would be stupid enough to risk taking Alix T at 2.....we already took a punt on WiPhi, look how that turned out. Take the absolute blue chip blokes with early picks, always. Not late bolters, especially ones that have improved without even playing for a month.
Who was the blue chip in Phillips draft? 😂 i reckon this draft is heading in a similar direction. Not in “who north pick”, just the overall draft top end talent.

I cannot agree, Stevens looked good in that game and held his own in a lot of contests. I dont think he makes it. I think because the overall standard was lower, the draft group just isn’t that great. I think the 4 midfielders will go alright.. Levi obviously a standout in the entire draft.

Watching Armstrong he’s awkward. Really hit or miss. He’ll be a slower burn than Logan McDonald

Those who win their one on one’s off of craft and work rate like Armstrong (and McDonald) are always going to be a slower burn in my opinion. In that, in the step up to the league you’re opponent now almost always matches you for size, strength and athleticism and generally with many years in the league will have you beat for craft and nous. Have to adjust more to the speed of the game. Then you have to factor in the level of ball use they get - Armstrong gets it on a silver platter right now, if he goes to a team full of average kicks under more pressure, how much will he find the ball?

Mate you might very well take 2. But even Troy Makepeace is saying you love the bloke and will use pick 2 if you have to.

As per the pick swaps. I’ll need to re-listen to it to make sure I heard it correctly.

But Twomey on gettable was saying Richmond knocked you back - so in essence you do want to trade down and you do want a pick around 6/7 for what appears to be Tauru.

The evenness of this draft is why you won’t get hauls from prior years for your pick 2.

Pick 3 got 12&14.
This will sound like I’m getting frustrated with you…..I’m not……But I just don’t believe we sell the farm for “reasons” and what every one else is saying? You reckon Richmond would give up pick 1 for pick 5+9 or 7+10? Not a faaaaarrrking chance is what I think.
Granted we don’t have pick 1, but we have the next one.
It’s worth more than the media are crapping on about. Maybe not 6+11, but worth more than 7+18 or whatever.
Richmond are stupid. Too full of themselves.

Or there is already a deal in place.

Saints haven’t had a marquee midfielder for a long long time. Here’s their chance to attain one. They ain’t getting one at pick 7. Won’t happen. They might say, “Can’t believe our guy was there at pick 7, we had him a fair bit higher!”………but they won’t be FOS, Smith or Lalor.
They’ll be a caveat midfielder, with things to work on.
Could work out, but won’t be a blue-chip, rolled-gold mid you could take at 2. Give me FOS over Smillie or Reid, all day every day.

This will sound like I’m getting frustrated with you…..I’m not……But I just don’t believe we sell the farm for “reasons” and what every one else is saying? You reckon Richmond would give up pick 1 for pick 5+9 or 7+10? Not a faaaaarrrking chance is what I think.
It’s worth more than the media are crapping on about. Maybe not 6+11, but worth more than 7+18 or whatever.

Saints haven’t had a marquee midfielder for a long long time. Here’s their chance to attain one. They ain’t getting one at pick 7. Won’t happen. They might say, “Can’t believe our guy was there at pick 7, we had him a fair bit higher!”………but they won’t be FOS, Smith or Lalor.
Could work out, but won’t be a blue-chip, rolled-gold mid you could take at 2. Give me FOS over Smillie or Reid, all day every day.
Mate as I said.

I’m easy either way and no harm or frustration from any of you.

I’m not going to quote everyone but as a general reply - I think us swapping picks and you walking away with a F1 works for both clubs for reasons everyone has mentioned.

My personal belief even though your ITK says otherwise is that where there is smoke there is fire and if multiple people are linking you strongly to a player. It’s likely you want him and are trying to manoeuvre yourself if possible.

But let’s see how it plays out. Again respect for the time you have all taken to chat shit about this. 3 more weeks 😮‍💨

Those who win their one on one’s off of craft and work rate like Armstrong (and McDonald) are always going to be a slower burn in my opinion. In that, in the step up to the league you’re opponent now almost always matches you for size, strength and athleticism and generally with many years in the league will have you beat for craft and nous. Have to adjust more to the speed of the game. Then you have to factor in the level of ball use they get - Armstrong gets it on a silver platter right now, if he goes to a team full of average kicks under more pressure, how much will he find the ball?
This is why Gerreyn is the best KPF prospect in the draft. IMO

Reid brained the competition in every big game he played in while FOS didn't fire a single shot throughout his senior campaign. Massive, MASSIVE red flag unless FOS has updated potential clubs on an undisclosed soft tissue injury.

It will be an interesting watch over the next 5 years imo.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I’ll call it early. My opinion has changed multiple times already but this is where I’ll stand to the draft.

We will take Tauru. For me he has the highest upside of all the KPP and arguably all the players in this draft. His an elite mark and we will try to settle him forward and teach him that craft.
The fear with him is high bust potential but I think his assets aren’t things you can teach.

Reid brained the competition in every big game he played in while FOS didn't fire a single shot throughout his senior campaign. Massive, MASSIVE red flag unless FOS has updated potential clubs on an undisclosed soft tissue injury.

It will be an interesting watch over the next 5 years imo.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Fair call.

I think Draper suits our needs
I know that the more draft knowledgeable posters have questioned it with his height but Draper -or “Don” as I call him- has shown in the last 10 games that he has the ferocity and tenacity in the contest to play as a bounding HB or even a pressure forward.

He looks like George 2.0 ……in a great way

My understanding is that Langford didn’t interview well with us. Made VERY clear that he is a fanatical Tigers man and apparently always will be.
That aside, if we are stuck with pick 2 and we opt for a mid, he would be well behind FOS, Draper, Smith and Smiley. All would suit us better than another Ziebell.
More so than his speed, this is his failing attribute.

Stuff him then (if true).

I can’t believe projected first rounders would say sh*t like this and reduce the pool of vic clubs.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread