Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

But who in the first round would be prepared to trade for our f1?

Maybe Richmond, maybe GWS, maybe Freo… but in all cases it results in us getting a pick in the teens and something later.

We wouldn’t be getting value on the asset and we wouldn’t even be able to guarantee we get a top tier player by trading it out.
Then we keep it and try to trade our F2/F3 later in the draft.

But who in the first round would be prepared to trade for our f1?

Maybe Richmond, maybe GWS, maybe Freo… but in all cases it results in us getting a pick in the teens and something later.

We wouldn’t be getting value on the asset and we wouldn’t even be able to guarantee we get a top tier player by trading it out.
So much of the focus has been on splitting pick 2, which I understand, but there are plenty of scenarios that we could get one or two additional picks this draft. Who knows maybe our F2 gets us a late first round pick or an early second round this year? There are so many options with trading future picks I just don't think we should presume that if we can't split pick 2 and / or trade F1 that means we're done.

It looks like there is no grand plan regarding this list build. We are just putting out spot fires as they come along.

Last year we burned our “assistance package” to get some run and skill onto the list via other teams reject players.

Burned our 2024 draft picks this year to get in some experience with superfund 30+ year olds.

And now, we are probably going to burn our 2025 draft picks to make up for it.

And every step we seem to lose draft capital.
At least we were able to bring in some experience without diluting our draft hand….

Im sorry?

Are Richmond duty-bound to deal with North to split pick 2 for a few of their picks? Picks they are not obliged at all to trade away? They MUST trade them to us because some nuffy came up with a proposed deal?

Delusional.
I don't think it's stretching to say Richmond were the club trying to get pick 2.......it's been in most media stuff ad nauseam.
For it to then be floated that they were "reluctant" to use pick 6 and we trying to do 11 +18 or whatever, you can see how that comes across pretty arrogant.....especially when their supporters are boringly and repeatedly "explaining" the depth of this year's draft and that we are the ones desperate to trade 2.....it's been pretty relentless.
Top that off with Crayons Ralphy's diatribes and it's enough. If they didn't want to do a deal then f**k off and move on.
It's pretty clear they wanted their Bukkake Party to carry over from trade week into the draft discussions, but it's all painted like our desperation because we are meant to bow down to them.

True. And hopefully it is a sign that we are trying to balance the list. But how many mid-sized forwards can you fit in a team? Two is really the max, though one is preferable.
It really depends on how good they are and what else they can do.

Hmmm. Interesting. I'm reading between the lines a bit, but the fact we've opened up another list spot, via delisting Pink, suggests to me we have deal(s) in place.....because that means we now have 4 spots avail, or is it only 3?
3 and a rookie was what I thought we had yesterday.
There are currently 4 x Primary List spots open and 1 x Cat A Rookie spot open.
Kallan Dawson is on this 3rd year as a rookie and the club must decide to either promote him to the primary or delist and re-rookie like they have just done with Pink.
If they upgrade K.Dawson to the primary then that leaves 3 x Primary List spots open and 2 x Cat A or 1 x Cat A & 1 x Cat B spots open.
Someone explain this to me please.

Clubs have to take a minimum of 3 picks in each draft including rookie upgrades. Is there a cap on the maximum number of players a club can draft each year? Richmond are planning on drafting 5 or 6 players right?

Don't we still have round 5 and round 6 draft picks theoretically? I understand that most drafts don't get to that point as most clubs pass by then but surely if a club still has list spots and wants to use them in the draft they can?
The cap is you must have 37 listed players which is made of a 36 x Primary Listed and 1 x Rookie..the bare minimum mandated by the AFL is 3 selections in the draft but must have or used 2 x 1st rounders in a 4 year cycle (dunno what the new rule will be in 25).

It looks like there is no grand plan regarding this list build. We are just putting out spot fires as they come along.

Last year we burned our “assistance package” to get some run and skill onto the list via other teams reject players.

Burned our 2024 draft picks this year to get in some experience with superfund 30+ year olds.

Conveniently ignoring we also were able to draft Hardeman and Dawson as part of those pick laundering trades.

And Ford isn’t much chop.

Curtis and Zurhaar are the only proven options outside of Duursma.
Ford has shown something at the level. Can mark in a pack/contest, can kick, has vision to hit up tagets, not slow and can play up forward and on the wing.

Kallan Dawson is on this 3rd year as a rookie and the club must decide to either promote him to the primary or delist and re-rookie like they have just done with Pink.
If they upgrade K.Dawson to the primary then that leaves 3 x Primary List spots open and 2 x Cat A or 1 x Cat A & 1 x Cat B spots open.

The cap is you must have 37 listed players which is made of a 36 x Primary Listed and 1 x Rookie..the bare minimum mandated by the AFL is 3 selections in the draft but must have or used 2 x 1st rounders in a 4 year cycle (dunno what the new rule will be in 25).
Might of opened the extra spot up just in case Stevens get bid on

Conveniently ignoring we also were able to draft Hardeman and Dawson as part of those pick laundering trades.
Late Night Haters GIF by VH1

Ford has shown something at the level. Can mark in a pack/contest, can kick, has vision to hit up tagets, not slow and can play up forward and on the wing.

Agreed, he isn’t perfect but he had 20d and 3g against the Catters and generally good for a goal a game. They don’t grow on trees. Would be flying in a better team with more inside 50s

The build/blueprint is in line with what the Demons did. After a few years of drafting young kids, with a focus on pairing two elite kids (Oliver/Petracca, Brayshaw/Salem etc. mirrors Sheez/GW and Duurs/Kerch) across a few years, they started to build out the squad depth with leaders like Bernie Vince and Jordan Lewis to teach the young kids the standards required to play in finals. That's what we've done this year as our senior players do not know what it takes to win finals/flags.

The squad of 30 depth was built with trades for Melskham, Langdon and Tomlinson types with a bit more footy left in them whilst still taking Rivers/Fritsch types in the draft. It will be a balancing act the next few years.
This will likely be the phase we are in next year after another batch of 3-4 draftees.
In reality we "burnt" an early 2nd round pick and a 40's pick (weren't going to use with 5 picks inside 30) to get Stephens, Fisher and two 1st round picks in 2023, which we used on Hardemann and Will Dawson.
I'm sure we thought we'd improved so the assistance picks would be taken off us this year if we didn't move them then.

We have 21 players under the age of 24 and will likely add another 3-4 this year and they need development time.
That will be more than half the list under 24 years and those young draftees need some better quality senior players who have been AA & won flags to learn off. I wasn't too thrilled with the Daniel trade cost, but we do have to get better to retain LDU and others who have already committed. At worst these players build out the squad depth and buy us the development time to not throw the young kids to the wolves.

Most of the kids won't have an immediate impact apart from perhaps the elite talent(s).
We can trade two years of futures next year and/or trade players (Phillips? Ford?) to generate more picks next year if that is required and take limited picks when Tassie comes in end of 2027.
I suspect we'll be targeting more mid 20's players in trades as we improve, mixed with a few draftees each year.

I’m well aware of what we can do.

Just not convinced it’s going to work.
I think we should be able to get one of Bombres pick 28/31 with our F2 as that will get absorbed in the Kako bid.
Only someone with a F1 overpaying would beat our F1. Our F2 gives the Bombres another asset to try trade back in with.
But if we can't get in with futures we just take pick 2 and 62 (which will come a bit ealier with bids) to the draft and take River Stevens with the last one or pick up some DFA's. Plenty of options to fill the spots.

Pretty sure Dawson can be done next year. He gets extra time for being a MSD pick.

I know 5 straight rubbish years have obviously taken their toll on some of us and we instantly take the negative point of view, but burned assistance package? That would be us using 5 first round picks? Let's wait and see if that pays off? Burned 2024 picks? pick 24 (likely to be 28ish?) and 40 odd? Is it really worth getting upset about these types of picks? Burned 2025 picks? Let's wait and see what actually happens before we get the pitchforks out I reckon.

Pretty sure Dawson can be done next year. He gets extra time for being a MSD pick.
Yep technically it's 2.5 years on the list given he was added mid 2022, so pretty sure that's another year.
Now rookies who've played less than 10 games will be able to stay for 4.5 yrs in 2024 and 5.5 yrs max from 2025.

Just looked at the current AFL rules under 10.10:
Section C:
A Club may retain a Player drafted in any mid-AFL Season Draft held under Rule6.7 on its Rookie List for a fourth season provided it nominates such Player or Players using Form 32 prior to advising the AFL of its Primary List under Rule6.1(a) and such Player consents to being nominated on the Rookie List for a fourth season.

So we've given Pink the verbal to re-rookie him so that leaves us with only 4 x Primary list spots and 0 x Rookies.

Im sorry?

Are Richmond duty-bound to deal with North to split pick 2 for a few of their picks? Picks they are not obliged at all to trade away? They MUST trade them to us because some nuffy came up with a proposed deal?

Delusional.
What's delusional is them attaching no value to having selection number 2. That is beyond delusional. They are deluded and it appears, at least on face value, that you would take unders for all your assets because it's the only offer. The fact that you don't need to sell, doesn't come into it.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread