Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

It’s pretty much one club saturating the narrative of what this draft depth is like. Gotta hand it to em, they are friggin relentless.
The interesting thing is pick 6 is now back to being mentioned, a lot…..it was “untouchable” less than 48 hours ago.
I seriously think they believe 6 and 20 is acceptable for pick 2, but others form other clubs also back them up. Talk about drowning in the Kool-Aid.
I think we will do a deal, if not already agreed in principle, for what I’ve already stated. Our F1 is the rabbit in someone’s hat though I reckon. It’s going as well.
To be fair, 6+18 is a fair deal.

You get the player you want and you get the extra first rounder in a deep first round.

Trainor doesn’t have a draft night invite.

Usually means if he gets taken it’s 15-25 on the night.

Imagine walking away with Tauru and Trainor.
Can't see that trade getting done then tbh.

Funny that the rhetoric around this potential trade is that Richmond won't trade 6 and Port must get pick 10, whereas the team with the most valuable asset in pick 2 should just take what they can get.
It you end up with multiple picks in the middle/late of the first round - it’s terrible.

The thing I can’t wrap my head around. A club only slides down for a deal when a targets in mind.

7 gets you Tauru.

Unless they offer you 6. Nothing else does.

You get the player you want and you get the extra first rounder in a deep first round.

No offence, but I disagree mate. You’ve drunk the Kool Aid.

6+11 is fair.
6+15 is average to poor
6+18 is beyond poor

One club trying to control the narrative, another club is saying nothing.

No it is not. The second best player in a deep draft. The second best player on our board, and most likely a top of the line midfielder for the next decade at least, for the sixth best player on our board, and some random shot in the dark at #18. People, including you (but more recently) have been underrating the value #2 holds since we finished second last. It's the second best pick in the draft, historically an incredible chance at an incredible player.

I've been watching as Richmond support after Richmond supporter and weirdly some just random Saints supporters come in here and try to tell us that our blue chip pick is worth basically **** all. Sorry that doesn't wash. #6 & #18 is a ****ing deplorable deal for us for #2 and honestly it should be rejected 4 seconds after it's offered every single time Richmond's list manager is stupid enough to propose it.

No it is not. The second best player in a deep draft. The second best player on our board, and most likely a top of the line midfielder for the next decade at least, for the sixth best player on our board, and some random shot in the dark at #18. People, including you (but more recently) have been underrating the value #2 holds since we finished second last. It's the second best pick in the draft, historically an incredible chance at an incredible player.

I've been watching as Richmond support after Richmond supporter and weirdly some just random Saints supporters come in here and try to tell us that our blue chip pick is worth basically **** all. Sorry that doesn't wash. #6 & #18 is a ****ing deplorable deal for us for #2 and honestly it should be rejected 4 seconds after it's offered every single time Richmond's list manager is stupid enough to propose it.
I'm not interest in fair. Fair can FRO.

6 and 11 from TigreFC (The Fighting Fury) or 7+F1 (from the Seaford Saints) will do.

I can't see Saint(as) finishing above 11th with that faschtinkener midfield.

No offence, but I disagree mate. You’ve drunk the Kool Aid.

6+11 is fair.
6+15 is average to poor
6+18 is beyond poor

One club trying to control the narrative, another club is saying nothing.
Gents, the value of a P2 isn’t a standard price.

It will always be determined by the amount of “buyers” - hence the Suns getting an absolute bag last year for p4.

You have 2 buyers. Richmond or us.

My main issue with any offer is, are you getting a pick that lands you the player you want and that’s apparently Tauru.

6 gets you that.

The other issue is that to create the need you need the talent and this is considered a deep and even draft that is lacking the absolute top type of talent.

It was the same issue with West Coast - and they bent over and took the deal.

I’m not telling you to suck eggs here either. It’s what I believe is happening this year.

Clubs all want the even talent. They don’t necessarily want to trade up.

Unless you want the Essendon offer of a future first and an entire bunch of shit.

It will always be determined by the amount of “buyers” - hence the Suns getting an absolute bag last year for p4.

My main issue with any offer is, are you getting a pick that lands you the player you want and that’s apparently Tauru.

6 gets you that.

The other issue is that to create the need you need the talent and this is considered a deep and even draft that is lacking the absolute top type of talent.

I’m not telling you to suck eggs here either. It’s what I believe is happening this year.

Unless you want the Essendon offer of a future first and an entire bunch of shit.
And the answer is you can FRO

6 gets you that.

Firstly you don't know Tauru is the player we want.

Secondly even if Tauru is the player we want, he could be gone before 6. 18 is not a big enough return to take the risk that he is still there.

If it only 6 and 18, then we take whoever is 1 or 2 on our board at 2.

And the answer is you can FRO

Only because 90% of the other teams don't have enough currency to trade for pick 2....did that occur to you or nah?

Firstly you don't know Tauru is the player we want.

Secondly even if Tauru is the player we want, he could be gone before 6. 18 is not a big enough return to take the risk that he is still there.

If it only 6 and 18, then we take whoever is 1 or 2 on our board at 2.
Again, I’m not here to agitate you guys. Purely discussing the options here for you as it does appear from the outside that North does Want/Need/Must split pick 2.

Re Tauru: can only go by reports and the age/Herald Sun/Twomey all talking how much you love him.

If he goes before you at a hypothetical pick 6. Then my club wouldn’t need to trade as we will land a mid we are after.

Well aware of who owns the picks and has the assets to get a deal done - hence why you lack the demand to get an absolute bundle for the pick.

I’ve been thinking about this hypothetical situation for a few days.

I don’t think it’s a bias if I think my clubs reported 7+F1 is the best offer.
It lands you the target.

If it was my club in this situation. That’s the bare minimum. Did we land the target we desperately wanted and we got extra assets?

It you end up with multiple picks in the middle/late of the first round - it’s terrible.

The thing I can’t wrap my head around. A club only slides down for a deal when a targets in mind.

7 gets you Tauru.

Unless they offer you 6. Nothing else does.
Fair play to you man, you are invested!

Having had the opportunity to hear our Draft team talk through how this entire period and how it works at a function I can almost guarantee you stavro#4 that whatever the deal is it’s already finalised and agreed.

There is absolutely no way that North made decisions on list spots like Toby Pinks unless they know what’s the trades are.

Whatever you wanna speculate will happen already has, you just gotta wait to hear it on draft night.

Fair play to you man, you are invested!

Having had the opportunity to hear our Draft team talk through how this entire period and how it works at a function I can almost guarantee you stavro#4 that whatever the deal is it’s already finalised and agreed.

There is absolutely no way that North made decisions on list spots like Toby Pinks unless they know what’s the trades are.

Whatever you wanna speculate will happen already has, you just gotta wait to hear it on draft night.
Yeah mate as I posted above.

I think you are trading the pick.

I’m just not sure I agree with any hypothetical that lands you a bundle of amazing picks.

Which seems to be the basis of what your fans want. I’ve been in and out of here abit in the last few days - I enjoy the hypothetical chat etc.

But I feel like the mindset of the fanbase probably won’t align with the outcome.

You know when you have friends over and they don’t realise they have overstayed their welcome.
This dude is your friend?..

Shocked Jeff Goldblum GIF by First We Feast

I’m just not sure I agree with any hypothetical that lands you a bundle of amazing picks.

Which seems to be the basis of what your fans want. I’ve been in and out of here abit in the last few days - I enjoy the hypothetical chat etc.

But I feel like the mindset of the fanbase probably won’t align with the outcome.
Let’s see lad, I get it, love your energy.

Debating this stuff is fun that’s cool if it wasn’t Big Footy wouldn’t exist. Let’s be honest anyone posting on this forum in November is a footy geek we love it.

My prediction is Saints give pick 7 and F1 for pick 2. North on traded our F1 for collateral in this draft.

Not sure what that is.

But I have no idea on this😂

I’m sticking to the theory the list management “brains trust” have a strong sense LDU will be going next year so we will have a first round compo pick for him so trading ours won’t be such a big deal 😬

Yeah we'll console ourselves with the best young midfield in the game (and Duursma to come), an AA FF and a 25 y/o pick 700, AA ruckman. For the record, what will you use to console yourself? Bradley Hill, GWS discards & Roscoe Lyons?

We don't have to trade shit, if it isn't in our favour we say No. Nyet, Nein, Lor... take another gun mid and get ready to use next years 1st on a gun CHF. It's hardly the 'slash your wrists' position you think it is.

We have so many first rounders that are yet to hit their straps... most of us have seen a few flags, we can wait. What's another few years really?

Again, I’m not here to agitate you guys. Purely discussing the options here for you as it does appear from the outside that North does Want/Need/Must split pick 2.

Re Tauru: can only go by reports and the age/Herald Sun/Twomey all talking how much you love him.

If he goes before you at a hypothetical pick 6. Then my club wouldn’t need to trade as we will land a mid we are after.

Well aware of who owns the picks and has the assets to get a deal done - hence why you lack the demand to get an absolute bundle for the pick.

I’ve been thinking about this hypothetical situation for a few days.

I don’t think it’s a bias if I think my clubs reported 7+F1 is the best offer.
It lands you the target.

If it was my club in this situation. That’s the bare minimum. Did we land the target we desperately wanted and we got extra assets?
If we are trying to use our F1st this year for more picks why would we want to get another F1st for next year. We will want at least 2 picks in this draft for our #2 but will most likely try keeping our #2 and use our F1st first...Brady has said he is only willing to back a couple of spots so pick #7 is to far back..

Yeah we'll console ourselves with the best young midfield in the game (and Duursma to come), an AA FF and a 25 y/o pick 700, AA ruckman. For the record, what will you use to console yourself? Bradley Hill, GWS discards & Roscoe Lyons?

We don't have to trade shit, if it isn't in our favour we say No. Nyet, Nein, Lor... take another gun mid and get ready to use next years 1st on a gun CHF. It's hardly the 'slash your wrists' position you think it is.

We have so many first rounders that are yet to hit their straps... most of us have seen a few flags, we can wait. What's another few years really?
Mate I’m really not having a crack.

I want you to not bend over to the rumoured Richmond offer of a couple of picks 11+ in the draft.

Let’s see lad, I get it, love your energy.

Debating this stuff is fun that’s cool if it wasn’t Big Footy wouldn’t exist. Let’s be honest anyone posting on this forum in November is a footy geek we love it.

My prediction is Saints give pick 7 and F1 for pick 2. North on traded our F1 for collateral in this draft.

Not sure what that is.

But I have no idea on this😂
I think that’s a fair offer.

But i also don’t think it’s a must have pick either.

Let’s see what happens. Just hope you don’t bend over and appease Richmond unless they give you 6

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread