Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Late change of plans this morning better late than never but got to Waverley around 10. Arrived while they were playing the match sim. A couple of observations for the day:

The Wiz looks amazing we have got a ripper here. Can understand all the hype and why the Doggies and Dees were trying their best to get him. His gear changes while running around in general play stopping and starting is turbo like. Give him a yard will be unstoppable especially on the lead. Ball in hand looked confident just takes the game on and will kick the ball casually for fun to a teammate or at the big sticks. In another drill I think they call it bazz ball? when the ball got into the Wizards hands Mitchell just yelled out “speed, do your thing!”. I think he will be given a license to take the game on at every opportunity. He looks like he has smarts too where he will create and assist teammates in a better position by hand or foot. Hard trying to compare him but with the way he moves and plays l liken him to Brent Harvey but with more zip and spring. If he turns out anywhere near BH would be happy with that.

This time last year Newk looked like a beast but with a tiny bit of puppy fat ……. now he looks lean but is still a beast! He is a great trainer where he doesn’t hold back with his don’t argues and tackling which is great for our boys to prepare for match days. Morrison was down for a bit getting some friendly fire when he and Newk both went to tackle McCabe at the same time. Newk also spent a lot of time having shots at goal with Wiz and Ginni with snaps from the boundary line. On the left just inside the boundary fence (over the boundary line!) he nailed 3 in a row and made them know about it. Given the depth of our midfield I can see Newk having more stints resting down forward as he could be that power forward we need in a similar fashion to Dusty, DeGoey, JHF, Reid etc maybe ……. interesting to hear what other people think?

Weddle looks like an athletic stallion. He is a footballer and with his size, running ability etc I am interested to see where the club and Mitch see him playing. I reckon he could play anywhere from wing, midfield down back or forward. Mr Versatility.

Hustwaite did some nice things and standing next to Dear ……. looks similar in height which is amazing given the way he moves and plays as a mid.

Ward and Frenchie looked like they are getting use to the physicality of playing AFL. Both improving in holding the tackle around the hips while raising the arms to get that extra second to dish it off to a team mate. Day was showing this last summer. These two are both very good users of the footy by hand or foot so expecting big things. Frenchie is a really good size for a mid and is looking lean/fit.

McCabe moves well hard to think he is 197cm. Wasn’t involved in all activities but when involved he didn’t hold back. First preseason tells me they don’t want to exhaust him trying to nurse him through the entire season next year.

Dear looked exhausted a lot but pushing himself laid a good tackle stopping a running player towards the end of bazz ball which got a few praises/pats from teammates showing the kids character.

Spoke to Rats said, “Welcome back”. He said “thanks mate”. I said “close but it’s matey”. 😀 Confused the shit out of him. But he looked really happy being back.

Gunners did plenty of repetitive runs along the boundary line and should be back in to everything after Xmas I reckon.

Like the look of Bodie real goer and a good size. Looks like Siss has taken him under his wing and was showing him a few tricks with pushing off and body work before the ball was arriving in to the contest area when they were playing on each other.

Had a great morning but was hard to watch it all with seperate groups over the ground working on different things. Looking good go Hawks!

Notes from training today:
Harry Morrison took a heavy hit in the keeping off drill (7/7) where they use European handball & footies. He went to tackle McCabe with another teammate (who looked to create the clash) and copped a whack to his head - bloodied mouth & look to stagger initially, went for treatment so concussion test no doubt as well as facial injury.
No Impey & BMac was on very light duties. Chol did some of the main drills. Reeves, Gunston, Amon & Mitchell in alternate group.
Had match sim with AFL ump which was broken up with set ups. It was hard to call an A/B team. CJ on wing, Hardwick forward, Massimo half back - kicks look good but missed targets. Ryan did some nice things off half back.

Cheers to all those giving us the training updates now. Very jealous of your time off and ability to use it to watch the lads go around. Very grateful for the updates while I melt in the northern humidity.

Late change of plans this morning better late than never but got to Waverley around 10. Arrived while they were playing the match sim. A couple of observations for the day:

The Wiz looks amazing we have got a ripper here. Can understand all the hype and why the Doggies and Dees were trying their best to get him. His gear changes while running around in general play stopping and starting is turbo like. Give him a yard will be unstoppable especially on the lead. Ball in hand looked confident just takes the game on and will kick the ball casually for fun to a teammate or at the big sticks. In another drill I think they call it bazz ball? when the ball got into the Wizards hands Mitchell just yelled out “speed, do your thing!”. I think he will be given a license to take the game on at every opportunity. He looks like he has smarts too where he will create and assist teammates in a better position by hand or foot. Hard trying to compare him but with the way he moves and plays l liken him to Brent Harvey but with more zip and spring. If he turns out anywhere near BH would be happy with that.

This time last year Newk looked like a beast but with a tiny bit of puppy fat ……. now he looks lean but is still a beast! He is a great trainer where he doesn’t hold back with his don’t argues and tackling which is great for our boys to prepare for match days. Morrison was down for a bit getting some friendly fire when he a Newk both went to tackle McCabe at the same time. Newk also spent a lot of time having shots at goal with Wiz and Ginni with snaps from the boundary line. On the left just inside the boundary fence (over the boundary line!) he nailed 3 in a row and made them know about it. Given the depth of our midfield I can see Newk having more stints resting down forward as he could be that power forward we need in a similar fashion to Dusty, DeGoey, JHF, Reid etc maybe ……. interesting to hear what other people think?

Weddle looks like an athletic stallion. He is a footballer and with his size, running ability etc I am interested to see where the club and Mitch see him playing. I reckon he could play anywhere from wing, midfield down back or forward. Mr Versatility.

Hustwaite did some nice things and standing next to Dear ……. looks similar in height which is amazing given the way he moves and plays as a mid.

Ward and Frenchie looked like they are getting use to the physicality of playing AFL. Both improving in holding the tackle around the hips while raising the arms to get that extra second to dish it off to a team mate. Day was showing this last summer. These two are both very good users of the footy by hand or foot so expecting big things. Frenchie is a really good size for a mid and is looking lean/fit.

McCabe moves well hard to think he is 197cm. Wasn’t involved in all activities but when involved he didn’t hold back. First preseason tells me they don’t want to exhaust him trying to nurse him through the entire season next year.

Dear looked exhausted a lot but pushing himself laid a good tackle stopping a running player towards the end of bazz ball which got a few praises/pats from teammates showing the kids character.

Spoke to Rats said, “Welcome back”. He said “thanks mate”. I said “close but it’s matey”. 😀 Confused the s**t out of him. But he looked really happy being back.

Gunners did plenty of repetitive runs along the boundary line and should be back in to everything after Xmas I reckon.

Like the look of Bodie real goer and a good size. Looks like Siss has taken him under his wing and was showing him a few tricks with pushing off and body work before the ball was arriving in to the contest area when they were playing on each other.

Had a great morning but was hard to watch it all with seperate groups over the ground working on different things. Looking good go Hawks!
Thanks mate…….

I mean matey :D

Cheers to all those giving us the training updates now. Very jealous of your time off and ability to use it to watch the lads go around. Very grateful for the updates while I melt in the northern humidity.
Long service leave has to come in handy and as a school teacher I can take them as singular days

He said “thanks mate”. I said “close but it’s matey”. 😀
day talk GIF

Thanks for the write up matey!

Thanks very much track watchers - appreciate it.

Every year there's always one that comes from the clouds to be a really really good player - one most people weren't expecting for whatever reason.

I reckon this year it could be our Henry.

Hustwaite just has something different about him.

He's very tall (195cm) probably closer to 90kg now - he looks to be slightly slow, but he seems silky in his movements, and has a good footy brain.

2 games - But his 15 disposal 2 Mark, 5 tackles and 2 goals game against Melbourne shows he has got the talent to make it at the highest level.

I guess the problem is where to play him.

He just strikes me as a guy who will get his chance somewhere on-field and slot into it so seamlessly he seems a natural long-term fit.

It has to be either midfield or down back, so it will be interesting to see what Sam decides to do with him in the pre-season game.

I reckon Sam might give him a go down back as the pre-season goes on.

Here's his draft profile:

He's just got something about him.

This time last year Newk looked like a beast but with a tiny bit of puppy fat ……. now he looks lean but is still a beast! He is a great trainer where he doesn’t hold back with his don’t argues and tackling which is great for our boys to prepare for match days. Morrison was down for a bit getting some friendly fire when he and Newk both went to tackle McCabe at the same time. Newk also spent a lot of time having shots at goal with Wiz and Ginni with snaps from the boundary line. On the left just inside the boundary fence (over the boundary line!) he nailed 3 in a row and made them know about it. Given the depth of our midfield I can see Newk having more stints resting down forward as he could be that power forward we need in a similar fashion to Dusty, DeGoey, JHF, Reid etc maybe ……. interesting to hear what other people think?
Most would agree that this is the last step Newc needs to take. He's already a gun, but if he can be a gun that kicks 20+ goals every year then he is truly in the Dusty / DeGoey / Tracc conversation.

Can I say first up, that is terrible for Smith. Just getting into training again and that happens would be shocking for him.

I feel it helps our position though as he wont play for the Dogs at all next year.
It should make it easier for him to leave them and join us.

Shattering news. ACL's suck. Shame we won't see the champ in 2023.

All the best to him for a speedy recovery.

Spoke to Rats said, “Welcome back”. He said “thanks mate”. I said “close but it’s matey”. 😀 Confused the s**t out of him. But he looked really happy being back.

Thanks for the report. Speed kills, so glad the Wiz has it and is encouraged to use it.

Regarding Newk, I think it was against the Saints in '22 that he was tagged by Windhager and he spent some time fwd really effectively - might've kicked 3 goals? So it is definitely something i am keen to see a bit more of if we want to squeeze more players into our midfield rotations.

Hawk Member Exclusive Draft & Trade Wrap-Up Zoom call was tonight. I believe a recording will be sent to all members at some point.

Hosted by Clinton Young. Sam was up first. Didn't really say too much that he hasn't said before. Wasn't giving anything away regarding round 1 selection other than it would be based a lot more on performance in 2024. There will be debuts and games for young players, but they will be harder to come by than in previous years.

Sleepy Mark pushed back his bed time to present on the club's draft strategy. An analysis of draft picks used in both the last 5 and 10 years was bleak for us in each range of the draft (top 10, 20, 30). Hence the focus on bringing in young talent inside the top 30 of the draft over the last few years. From next year we won't be so reliant on drafting. He shared the club's rankings for our first selection adding that it wasn't in order: Watson, O'Sullivan, Curtin, Duursma, McKercher.

Watson, McCabe and Massimo spoke about their experiences in arriving at the club over the past few weeks and the transition from school life to club life, etc. Watson very relaxed and confident way about him. McCabe will follow in his father's footsteps, speaks like someone destined for an executive or board role post-footy. Massimo just thrilled to be at the club. He said as much but you could read it on his face.

Finally Ratten spoke about his return to the club and how he's helping the coaches and even the IT department. Shared some memories about the threepeat. He also answered a question about what he found most challenging as senior coach when facing us last season. He highlighted that our running power was very scary and amazed that it was coming from such a young group. He also called out Ned Reeves' impact. He recalled that going into that game he thought the Hawks would get them on the outside and so they were hoping to get us on the inside. But Reeves dominated giving the Hawks first use and he knew they were in for a long day and ultimately were fortunate not to lose by 12-14 goals instead.

This stood out for me as well. Ratten sounds seriously impressed, hearing him on a podcast recently and also tonight, with our running power. When you think about McKenzie's point about the lack of draft capital we have had (to say the least) and how pedestrian our midfield was a blink of an eye ago, pretty staggering that we can are in this position of having a dynamic, powerful running side.

Geez... that's rough footage for Harry. Hopefully back on the track early in the new year.
Wow didn’t realise it was that bad when it happened 😮. It was in the middle of the ground. McCabe was running with the ball and both Morrison and Newk came in from opposite sides to tackle him ……. I would think that Newk’s forearm/elbow while trying to tackle has accidentally connected 😩

How does Ratten feature w the IT mob. Is he telling them what the coaches want (w greater clarity/authority) or is he meant to 'decipher' the info' they provide better than the rest?

It's, at least, the second time he's mentioned that part of his role; might it mean a greater focus on 'analytics', generally speaking?

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion