Training 2024 Preseason Thread

Havent seen anything about how Curtin or O'Sullivan are going, but having a look at our D50 today we really could regret passing on those guys. Starting to feel like the D50 is going to collapse in a screaming heap this season. Maybe Brayshaw and Hore can bring some stability , but im really concerned having Tomo as the second KPD and May falling off.

I rated Billings today.

That said, I think our list is weaker in 2024 than it was in 2023.

Blokes like Sparrow, Howes and Laurie who should be breaking out look like they arnt going to take the next step in 24.

Then we got Jefferson who can’t even run out a training session and needs loads managed after a year on the list.

Havent seen anything about how Curtin or O'Sullivan are going, but having a look at our D50 today we really could regret passing on those guys. Starting to feel like the D50 is going to collapse in a screaming heap this season. Maybe Brayshaw and Hore can bring some stability , but im really concerned having Tomo as the second KPD and May falling off.

We are ****ed when it comes to premium talls once May and Gawn retire.

We will go back to the days of struggling to take 1 contested mark per quarter like the Dawes/Watts years.

We are ****ed when it comes to premium talls once May and Gawn retire.
Im still aboard the JVR train, but yes, depth is very much a concern. Petty may need to go back in defense again, if hes able to remain healthy.

I rate JvR but Freo will come knocking sooner or later.

We will trade him out for picks which we then piss away for free for a 3 pick upgrade (Freo 2023 2nd rounder) or a skinny tall who can’t run out a training session.

Petty is off for Adelaide so we may as well start hoping they lose now as we will probably just get there 1st rounder wherever that lands.

did tholstrup play in the B team? if he did how did he go?

I remember a month ago all the talk was on him and it’s seemed to have flipped to windsor now
Was fairly quiet for the first qtr and a bit and as soon as I said to my mate that he wasn’t getting much of it, he got a bunch of good touches. Gave a goal assist then kicked one himself inside 30 seconds at one point.

I liked what I saw although he’s smaller than I expected and I can’t put my finger on what type of player he is going to be. I think he’s an ANB type but a bit more damaging with his neat work in the forward half.

Interested to hear what you guys think Tholstrup will be - is he a midfielder in the making or a high half forward?

Is his weapon neatness, or will he be an attacking type - or maybe a defensive forward?

Interested to hear what you guys think Tholstrup will be - is he a midfielder in the making or a high half forward?

Is his weapon neatness, or will he be an attacking type - or maybe a defensive forward?
I don't think he'll play mid more likely to be playing in the forward line. Personally I think he'll come a good player but still very early to tell.

He reminds me of Zac Bailey - maybe a little less explosive, but very agile (won the agility testing at combine?), good overhead, can kick goals and set them up and a good runner.

Forgive the intrusion but just on old mate Sparrow.

If the Dee's let him go I believe you'd find every other club lining up to add him to their list. May not pay a fortune but everyone would find a spot for him.

Blokes 23, shown steady improvement, able to step up in big moments and has a pretty complete game.

Some of the criticism in here reminds me if Saints fans with Billings. Most were hyper critical because he wasn't the Bont. Instead of appreciating the good player we had.

If the Dee's let him go I believe you'd find every other club lining up to add him to their list. May not pay a fortune but everyone would find a spot for him.

Blokes 23, shown steady improvement, able to step up in big moments and has a pretty complete game.

Some of the criticism in here reminds me if Saints fans with Billings. Most were hyper critical because he wasn't the Bont. Instead of appreciating the good player we had.

Would you be happy seeing one of your mids get 0 clearances from 25 CBAs against the opponents B team midfield?

He's not a good player and hasn't really stepped up in big moments.
You can have him for a first rounder he's all yours

He's not a good player and hasn't really stepped up in big moments.
You can have him for a first rounder he's all yours
This is an example of where fans get silly.

"He's no good"
And
"You can have him for a first rounder"

Don't align.

I didn't say he was a star. Just that he us worthy a space on any AFL list.

If you accept what he is- a good role player that isn't taking a huge salary. You might appreciate him more. Yes he's unlikely to ever be a star but not every player on your list gets to be.

And at 23 years old he has upside

This is an example of where fans get silly.

"He's no good"
And
"You can have him for a first rounder"

Don't align.

I didn't say he was a star. Just that he us worthy a space on any AFL list.

If you accept what he is- a good role player that isn't taking a huge salary. You might appreciate him more. Yes he's unlikely to ever be a star but not every player on your list gets to be.

And at 23 years old he has upside
Don't tell me how I should view sparrow when I've watched every game of his career mate.

Also brush up on your sarcasm lessons. You can have him for a 3rd round pick for all I care but seeing as you rate him you can cough up

Sparrow is fine but would be better off somewhere else. Hes just excess on what we already have. Im sure there will be teams lining up to sign him at the end of the season if we dont extend him, that doesnt mean we should be scared about losing him. Also, upside? What upside? Hes had a 28 year old's body for 3 years now and is still exactly the same player he was 3 years ago. Even when he got extra midfield minutes with Oliver out last year he didnt look any different. Fully expect us to re-sign him coz Goody loves him. Think the money would be better off spent elsewhere though.

It's just a lazy attitude that anyone who's under 25 has upside.

One of the lines you reach for when you've got nothing of substance.

Hey, no worries, wasn't trying to stir the pot or anything.

Totally get where you're coming from with Sparrow. He's not Oliver or Trac level, but who is? What I'm saying is the guy has been solid for a couple of years now, and this season is going be a big one for him to see if he can step up.

It's all about what you get for what you pay, considering the cap space he would occupy, Sparrow's doing his bit and then some. He's got that knack for showing up when you need him in big games and at worst, adds depth.

Writing off his potential at 23 seems a bit quick. Players hit their stride between 25 and 30, so who's to say he won't step it up?

Teams need those reliable guys as much as the stars.

Hey, no worries, wasn't trying to stir the pot or anything.

Totally get where you're coming from with Sparrow. He's not Oliver or Trac level, but who is? What I'm saying is the guy has been solid for a couple of years now, and this season is going be a big one for him to see if he can step up.

It's all about what you get for what you pay, considering the cap space he would occupy, Sparrow's doing his bit and then some. He's got that knack for showing up when you need him in big games and at worst, adds depth.

Writing off his potential at 23 seems a bit quick. Players hit their stride between 25 and 30, so who's to say he won't step it up?

Teams need those reliable guys as much as the stars.
He's occupying a spot in one of the worst forward lines in the league and he has almost no impact on the game as a forward. He's an inside mid, we have Oliver, Viney, Trac already which is easily enough for blokes who win their own footy. We have stuff all blokes who prefer to play forward or who can get on the outside and chain together play. Sparrow doesn't do either.

Of all the blokes in our 22 he is the most disposable right now because he doesn't improve our side one iota.

He's occupying a spot in one of the worst forward lines in the league and he has almost no impact on the game as a forward. He's an inside mid, we have Oliver, Viney, Trac already which is easily enough for blokes who win their own footy. We have stuff all blokes who prefer to play forward or who can get on the outside and chain together play. Sparrow doesn't do either.

Of all the blokes in our 22 he is the most disposable right now because he doesn't improve our side one iota.
Genuine questions, I'm not picking an argument I just find this an interesting topic.

Does Sparrows existence allow Trac and the others to spend more time forward and do they make the forward line more dangerous?

If Sparrow is next in line, does Oliver's potential issues and Vineys age make him less disposable?

I'd have agreed with you before James Jordan left but after Sparrow who is depth for you as an inside mid?