2024 Rolling ALL-Australian Team

Yeah I feel like I’m okay with Heeney forward. I only see every other Sydney game but he seems to float forward throughout games - it’s more of a secondary position for him.. but at least he spends time there…

Doesn’t start there and it’s a big kick in the you know what’s to genuine half forwards. I’d rather them name players in their positions and if that means your 7th mid misses out of the year so be it. So watch the selectors be as lazy as anything and pick mids forward and 4 on the bench as they are as lazy as anything usually. Last year thankfully was heaps better

That’s a lie, you can’t name 12 players who tagged him this season
Would I call them a hard tag? Probably not... But thats mainly because Cripps doesn't really get tagged post stoppage due to his make up as a player, his damage is done in close winning the ball, not streaming forward and slicing up teams via foot. In all of these games however, he absolutely had these players playing defensive roles on him and doing everything in their power to stop him getting first hands on the pill.

Dunkley - Rd 0
Young - Rd 4
Green - Rd 6
Crisp+Schultz - Rd 8
Rowbottom - Rd 10
Rowell - Rd 11
Drew - Rd 12
Durham - Rd 13
Bedford for the 2nd half - Rd 17
Drew - Rd 20
Pendlebury - Rd 21
Nash - Rd 22

WCE game it sounded like Reid or Yeo was sent to stop him according to Schofield but both completely disregarded his instructions and just ran around like headless chooks instead.

Why does Merrett on the wing make sense but Heeney can’t play forward??
If you’re naming them both out of position - at least Heeney actually goes forward at times. Merrett always plays in the middle he’s never on a wing
Positionally doesn’t make sense but since Merrett is one of the best outside mids in the comp and wins the most uncontested ball - I can see why they will put him on a wing as do I in my team

Would I call them a hard tag? Probably not... But thats mainly because Cripps doesn't really get tagged post stoppage due to his make up as a player, his damage is done in close winning the ball, not streaming forward and slicing up teams via foot. In all of these games however, he absolutely had these players playing defensive roles on him and doing everything in their power to stop him getting first hands on the pill.

Dunkley - Rd 0
Young - Rd 4
Green - Rd 6
Crisp+Schultz - Rd 8
Rowbottom - Rd 10
Rowell - Rd 11
Drew - Rd 12
Durham - Rd 13
Bedford for the 2nd half - Rd 17
Drew - Rd 20
Pendlebury - Rd 21
Nash - Rd 22

WCE game it sounded like Reid or Yeo was sent to stop him according to Schofield but both completely disregarded his instructions and just ran around like headless chooks instead.
Wouldn’t waste your breathe responding to some people on here. His team Adelaide would throw the kitchen sink at Cripps if he was available to illeviate the amount of mediocrity in their current midfield.

Don't know what the Sydney supporter in this forum is talking about either when you see Gulden run past three players and then proceeds to hack the ball inside 50 every 3 touches (he averages 30 a game).

Although I’m taking the piss and think Gulden is a gun, is it really hard to acknowledge Cripps is a champion of the game?

Positionally doesn’t make sense but since Merrett is one of the best outside mids in the comp and wins the most uncontested ball - I can see why they will put him on a wing as do I in my team
It is just do disrespectful to what is one of the most specialist roles we have in the game. The amount of unrewarded running they do is crazy. The committee needs to add a former specialist winger to it so he can go in to bat for them because they are so disrespected.

If we are not going to pick actual wingmen why do we need to try and stick to other 'traditional' positions? Why not just pick 5 key forwards or 4 ruckmen or whatever.

Surely the number 1 defence gets a player in the back 6 having missed their number 1 CHB cox for half the season and our captain and fb Pearce for a quarter of the season
I'm petitioning for you to simply change all of your posts to:

"Freo heave ho! Freao heave ho!"

Because it's all the same white noise.

Longmuir has the lowest scoring games full stop. Points against is a function of tactics more than individual defensive brilliance.

I'm petitioning for you to simply change all of your posts to:

"Freo heave ho! Freao heave ho!"

Because it's all the same white noise.
Not a lot of people watch or care about the anchors and might not realise they have the number 1 defence.
Notice how I’m not championing for a freo fwd to be in the team

Not a lot of people watch or care about the anchors and might not realise they have the number 1 defence.
Notice how I’m not championing for a freo fwd to be in the team
A lot also watch plenty of them, myself included. Plenty have mentioned Clark and a few have Ryan in their teams, although he has mixed reviews overall. So what more do you want?

Fremantle have the 5th highest %, which is a better reflection of how the defensive set up functions. You could argue otherwise if Fremantle's forward line was awful and its midfield gave terrible supply - but neither is true. Points against as a standalone thing otherwise sums up tactical cautiousness as much as anything.

Your posts do come across as repetitive demands to see Serong, Brayshaw, Young, Jackson, Clark and Ryan to be showered with praise. Maybe that's not what you intend but it's certainly how it seems. There's 18 clubs, including 8 above Fremantle right now. There's a lot of players to consider.

A lot also watch plenty of them, myself included. Plenty have mentioned Clark and a few have Ryan in their teams, although he has mixed reviews overall. So what more do you want?

Fremantle have the 5th highest %, which is a better reflection of how the defensive set up functions. You could argue otherwise if Fremantle's forward line was awful and its midfield gave terrible supply - but neither is true. Points against as a standalone thing otherwise sums up tactical cautiousness as much as anything.

Your posts do come across as repetitive demands to see Serong, Brayshaw, Young, Jackson, Clark and Ryan to be showered with praise. Maybe that's not what you intend but it's certainly how it seems. There's 18 clubs, including 8 above Fremantle right now. There's a lot of players to consider.
A little think there Mr.
If you take such offence to my positivity please block me.
Maybe next year I’ll turn heel and just pot other teams players like some and you will value my opinion more.
I’ve brainstormed a few
Chippy la la
Stat paddler
Worst defender I’ve ever seen
Zero impact

A little think there Mr.
If you take such offence to my positivity please block me.
Maybe next year I’ll turn heel and just pot other teams players like some and you will value my opinion more.
I’ve brainstormed a few
Chippy la la
Stat paddler
Worst defender I’ve ever seen
Zero impact
I wish I could say I was surprised by this childish and petulant response, but I'm not really.

"Chip on the shoulder" is the most apt way to describe your entire main board posting history. Which is fine, but it's not compatible with discussion in good faith.

So I guess I'll let you cheer "What about Freo" into the void another 3000 times and wish you all the best.

Dylan Moore should be in but no doubt a mid takes his spot.

Chippy La La Ryan embodies the Anchors to a tee. They switch the ball to him to open up the fat side of the field, only for him to turn back around the other way, kick it 20m to a team mate, then run another 20m to get the ball back and do the same thing again.

He's literally an anchor to his own team despite his great intercepting work

Chippy La La Ryan embodies the Anchors to a tee. They switch the ball to him to open up the fat side of the field, only for him to turn back around the other way, kick it 20m to a team mate, then run another 20m to get the ball back and do the same thing again.

He's literally an anchor to his own team despite his great intercepting work
And yet he's second amongst defenders of score launches despite Freo being one of the lowest scoring teams in the league.

Are some people still getting worked up on whether a player is named on field or on bench? I can guarantee that none of the players care as long as they are named. Have never see a player referred to as a 3 time AA bench player for example....
I didn't know it was a thing either until I saw the series of complaints about it in these threads.

Not this year he hasn't been
It's pretty close.

Greene averages more:

-Coaches votes
-Goals (about twice as many)
-Effective kicks
-Inside 50s
-Marks
-Contested marks

Daniels averages more:

-Disposals
-Contested possessions
-Clearances
-Goal assists
-Tackles
-Pressure acts

Productive score involvements, if you take out behinds (Greene has more shots and more misses) are exactly the same.

Daniels has less turnovers and more score involvements per disposal.

Greene being less amazing while Daniels has stepped up a level makes the "momentum choice" sit with the latter. Really Daniels has just bridged the gap and they offer things that are complimentary to each other.

Daniher, Beale and McCluggage are the reason Brisbane turned the year around.
Are you forgetting their main man, Lachie Neale ?

edit: it was a typo... Beale... WTF was I thinking? :D Anyhoo...

Brisbane were 13th on the ladder after they were belted by the Giants in Round 7
2 wins, 5 losses, 94.2%

13 games later, the Lions had climbed all the way to 2nd on the ladder
11 wins, 1 loss, 1 draw, 142.6%

After a slowish start to the season by his own high standards, Neale polled 72 votes in 9 of the 13 games 😲
He was BOG (or next best) in 7 of 13 games

He received 4 coaches' votes in the Lions' loss to Hawthorn, but I thought he was close to BOG in that game too. Wouldn't surprise me if the umps gave him 2 or 3 Brownlow votes. He single-handedly dragged the Lions back into the contest with a dominant 3rd quarter and was a class above everyone else on the ground.

______________________ Disp__AFLCA
Rd 08 (H) v Gold W 34…. 34…. 2 votes
Rd 09 (A) v AdelDrew…_ 25
Rd 10 (H)v RichW 119.. 3610 votes
Rd 11 (A) v Haw.… L 25….. 29.… 4 votes
Rd 13 (A) v W.B…. W 43.… 38 10 votes
Rd 14 (H)v St K W 20…. 20
Rd 15 (A) v Port…. W 79.… 37…. 8 votes
Rd 16 (H) v Melb W 5…._ 29
Rd 17 (H) v Adel W 11…. 36 10 votes
Rd 18 (A)v WCE W 13…. 34 10 votes
Rd 19 (H) v Syd…. W 2…._ 18