As a forward, averages:
Less goals
Less score involvements
Less score assists
Less inside 50s
Less tackles inside 50
Less contested marks

Have I missed something?

13 of the 22 selected played the majority of their minutes in the midfield in 2024, time to stop calling it a 'team' and just pick the best 22 players of the year.

Lame Kornes even admits they pick players based on stats and reputation rather than position anyway

Turned out pretty close. 18/22.
  • Swap Whitfield with Blakey on the bench and it was the exact back 6.
  • Missed on Serong - I stand by JHF. I think he provides the team more flexibility as he can go forward and beast. As good a season as Serong had, the selectors need to be bolder in leaving out some gun mids. They put Daicos on the wing to accomodate Serong and Daicos would barley have played there all year if at all.
  • Missed on Treloar - I went with the extra small in Stengle. Once again when you’ve already got Bontempelli, Cripps, Daicos, Gulden, Serong, Butters, Neale, Warner, Heeney- why do they select another mid? Great season by Treloar but surely for balance they go the small.
  • Missed on Waterman - I stand by Curnow being the better option. Feel like his late season form carrying the injury stuck in selectors heads. He still kicked more goals despite being a little down and getting double teamed each week. Every club in the comp would choose Curnow over Waterman and that’s no knock on him as he’s also a great player.
  • Missed on J. Cameron - I stand by Daniher as the better choice to be the chop out ruck. Who gives Gawn a chop out in the AA team? Cripps?

Honestly I like my team better than what was selected.
re: Daniher vs Cameron. Firstly I don't think Cameron should have made the final 22, in the end he got 9 goals vs an easybeat and the selectors couldn't look past it. However I don't think Daniher would be a better option because of the ruck thing, he averaged 2 hitouts per game. Personally would have put Curnow in Camerons spot and f****d Waterman off for Stengle

Isn't Blakey notorious for having bags kicked on him? I would take him out.

Hard to argue with the rest of the team. Would've liked to see Dale in there but getting dropped to sub at one point probably cost him (despite it being the rocket for the rest of his seasons form).

Curnow probably finds his way onto a bench too.
I’d have Dale and Whitfield on the hbfs …. **** Zorko off too

I had Dylan Moore on a HFF with Warner. Just seemed realistic that way.
They couldnt resist stuffing one of Bont or Heeney onto a HFF simply because they hit the scoreboard hard. Heeney should have been on ball.
Also had Blakey on HBF opposite Zorko.
19/22 Didnt have Whitfield Weitering or Ryan.

Midfield was
C: Gulden Cripps Daicos
Foll: Gawn Bontempelli Heeney

Bench: Serong Treloar Butters Neale

I still prefer that.

They named a pretty good team though. No complaints.

Sheezel was rated ahead of Whitfield at the halfway point of the season AND lead the league in disposals.

Poor reasoning.

Whitfield was a stone cold moral as the back pocket at the halfway point. He had a lull in the middle, and his last month was elite. He had 16-18 elite AA games in his season. Sheezel had a good year it wasn’t as good as Whitfield. Just maybe if your coach didn’t waste 1/3 of the season him collecting possessions in the backline

Realistically, if we're chosing the BEST possible team then Moore doesn't make the side as we'd just pick the best available midfielder who can also kick goals.

I don't agree with that for the purposes of the AA side, but if you're picking the best possible team to play then I'd almost certainly pick A midfielder who can also kick goals. Same goes for the wing. Daicos is better than Massimo. For defenders it might be different at least for Houston who could easily be a midfielder but with elite kicking he's suited to the half back.

I'd like to see the AFL do a second AA Side because we're always fighting about the guys who missed out.

Realistically, if we're chosing the BEST possible team then Moore doesn't make the side as we'd just pick the best available midfielder who can also kick goals.

I don't agree with that for the purposes of the AA side, but if you're picking the best possible team to play then I'd almost certainly pick A midfielder who can also kick goals. Same goes for the wing. Daicos is better than Massimo. For defenders it might be different at least for Houston who could easily be a midfielder but with elite kicking he's suited to the half back.

I'd like to see the AFL do a second AA Side because we're always fighting about the guys who missed out.
Being a small forward is a specialised role, same as being an inside mid or winger.

Inside mids wouldn’t perform as well as Moore playing his role and vice versa.

It’s the same with the defence only picking offensive players and ignoring the ones actually doing the defending.

Daicos is like Adam Gilchrist in the Australian side before Ian Healy retired.
Really weird option to bring up

Adam Gilchrists Test debut. This is also the Test match that Ian Healy thought would be his farewell game
Ian Healy's final Test

Never played a Test together, and there are just the 5 away ODIs where both were in the team. So these are probably more to do with a batsman being injured and Gilchrist being one of the limited replacement options on tour. Since he was already there to replace an injured Healy in a couple games beforehand these.

I remember hearing Dwayne Russell talk about this at some point in the year. Someone was criticising him for wasting time watching every game and telling him to get a life. He was saying its literally my job to watch every game every week. How else can you be be paid to talk about football if you dont watch it. Even if he is working or out over a game he has to find the time before the start of the week to finish every game

Sadly its clear that a few watch only the few games they care about and then spend more time focused on the drama
When you have a FT job as an alleged analyst it's not that much of an ask

The funny thing about this view is that often mids than transition forward (later in their career or otherwise) are often not that great at it but mids that transition to the half back flank are often dominant in that role (so if anything I would argue the exact opposite you have).

Also, here is what the second team would look like:

B: J. Sicily, S. Collins, J. Clark
HB: B. Dale, H. Andrews, M. Holmes
C: M. D'Ambrosio, A.Brayshaw, H. Young
HF: J. Horne-Francis, H.McKay, H. Sheezel
F: J. Daniher, C. Curnow, T. Stengle
R: T. Xerri, N. Anderson, Z. Merrett
I: B. Daniels, J. Sinclair, D. Cameron, C.Rayner

Just to further my above point with some examples...

Here are some players in the 2000's that began as great midfielders that were also dominant when transitioned to a half back flank: Andrew McLeod, Nigel Lappin, Matthew Boyd, Luke Hodge, Sam Mitchell (1 season on a half back flank in his 30's when he injured his shoulder and was AA), Scott Pendlebury, now Dayne Zorko and heaps more. If you were to pick the team of the 2000's, you might have 2 former midfielders sitting on the halfback flanks (McLeod and Hodge).

Now try and make a list of all the players in the 2000's that started as out and out mids and transitioned to be elite forwards. THe list is very short - Toby Greene is one (though he moved very young) - who else? Not Dusty (he was always a mid/fwd that maintained the same approximate ratio throughout - never permanently moving forward or kicking 40 goals in a year). Not Robbie Gray who started as a fwd. You'd probably have to go back to Jarman in the 90's to find another good example.

On the evidence, you'd be confident picking the gun mids at half back and assuming an upgrade. Not so much for a forward pocket.

Here are some players in the 2000's that began as great midfielders that were also dominant when transitioned to a half back flank: Andrew McLeod, Nigel Lappin, Matthew Boyd, Luke Hodge, Sam Mitchell (1 season on a half back flank in his 30's when he injured his shoulder and was AA), Scott Pendlebury, now Dayne Zorko and heaps more. If you were to pick the team of the 2000's, you might have 2 former midfielders sitting on the halfback flanks (McLeod and Hodge).

Now try and make a list of all the players in the 2000's that started as out and out mids and transitioned to be elite forwards. THe list is very short - Toby Greene is one (though he moved very young) - who else? Not Dusty (he was always a mid/fwd that maintained the same approximate ratio throughout - never permanently moving forward or kicking 40 goals in a year). Not Robbie Gray who started as a fwd. You'd probably have to go back to Jarman in the 90's to find another good example.

On the evidence, you'd be confident picking the gun mids at half back and assuming an upgrade. Not so much for a forward pocket.
Ben Keays! Sort of joking but he actually was close to elite this year as a forward. What was Nathan Browns transition like? was it forward to mid to forward, I can not remember? Ryan Okeefe?
Brad Johnson and Akermanis from 2000's but they were midfielders in the 90's early 2000's

When I heard Bucks and conesy say one morning they don’t watch every game I was shocked.
Odd comment mate. Given these guys commentate footy through out the weekend which would result in a lot of commute time, flights, hotels. Then add in panel shows and instances where games overlap each other I don't think there'd be a single AA selector that would watch every game.

People that it’s their profession should
Not sure how you were raised but if I was payed $1mil to talk football I’d watched every game by replay before Monday other wise I wouldn’t be doing my job properly.
Most white colllars on that money are pumping out 60-70hrs a week for 48 weeks not 30 weeks
It’s about 20hrs of tv a week to watch 9 replays.

If you are working for Fox there aren't in flights. I can understand not watching all games by Monday but if you want to be a selector by the end of the week they should have watched at least 7 if not all of them. Should never go 2 weeks in a row without watching a team

Do NBA analysts watch all 81 games for 30 teams? What about MLB and 30 X 161 games?

I reckon the % they watch would still be quite high and more than the average public. 100% is unrealistic.

Imagine trying to sit through a Ross Lyon coached replay. You'd rip your own eyes out by hand.

Rozee and Butters would be 40 goal forwards if they played exclusively in fwd 50

Going even further, would you play a very good key forward as ruck if depth was extremely strong? For the best side, I would but for the AA team it might be a bit unfair.

Glad he made it, so I'm nitpicking, but Dylan Moore being named in a forward pocket due to being the only small selected doesn't really make sense either.

He's the best high half forward flanker in the game. Should have been reflected by being chosen there.

Glad he made it, so I'm nitpicking, but Dylan Moore being named in a forward pocket due to being the only small selected doesn't really make sense either.

He's the best high half forward flanker in the game. Should have been reflected by being chosen there.

Agree, Moore half forward, Stengle forward pocket is what I think they should have done.

But picking Ryan was worse.

2024 Rolling ALL-Australian Team