List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

I’d be all on board for Ugle Hagan, I agree with Cornes… reckon he would be a great fit for us (footy wise).

He’s got 10 different rumours about his personal life, if he’s not doing Tarryn Thomas type stuff then get him down.

Crouch, Stengle, Hogan are a few that have gone alright after some issues. I wonder what his trade value would be? We should at least ask the question, maybe being in an environment with a few more indigenous boys will do him good.

I see where Cornes is coming from, an inclusive coach, a club aspiring to be the best place for indigenous players etc, but maybe the problems he has at the WB and in Melbourne would be manifest. Probably better interstate.

However if WB would take a 3rd rounder for him, I would have a crack. Or we walk him to the PSD, after all the WB got him for free as an NGA.

Or desperate single mums that would take any man that might be able to bring a second Centrelink cheque into the house?

It was interesting to read that Adrian Cole after doing a preseason with the NM VFL side, is lining up to play with the Dandenong Stingrays as an over ager. I wonder if he wasnt offerred a position in Norths VFL roster. Cole was also listed as a likely prospect for the MSD?

"Adrian Cole has joined the Stingrays after being overlooked at Sandringham Dragons last season but remains tied to St Kilda’s NGA, as is bottom-ager Kaie Sullivan."

Plus the number of NGA's playing for Sandringham Dragons -

"There are also a stack of St Kilda NGA prospects on the Dragons’ list, headlined by Vic Metro member Kye Fincher.

Fellow top-age players James Mikhael, Rio Barry and Keanu Nadji are also linked to the Saints, along with bottom-age prospects Rowan Mackenzie and Quentin Hofmann."

Geelong people reckon Lenny Hoffman is a future gun. Might be worth keeping an eye on little bro. Cam's little brother too.

I’d be all on board for Ugle Hagan, I agree with Cornes… reckon he would be a great fit for us (footy wise).

He’s got 10 different rumours about his personal life, if he’s not doing Tarryn Thomas type stuff then get him down.

Crouch, Stengle, Hogan are a few that have gone alright after some issues. I wonder what his trade value would be? We should at least ask the question, maybe being in an environment with a few more indigenous boys will do him good.
There would need to be a stack of due diligence.

The pretty persistant and multiply verified rumours are pretty alarming.

At the moment he just doesnt seem like he wants to play footy or even be around a footy club.

We have created a great environment especially for the indigenous players but it blowing up as it could would be really really damaging.

Yeah its funny how people forget its a professional sport where the players have demanded more capacity to pick and choose how their careers develop.

Clubs know it, players know it.

The only surprising thing is that anybody would believe that Hawthorn is actually a "Family Club" and is only interested in the welfare of its players.

Naive to think that Hawthorn (like any other club) wouldn't jump at the chance of trading Battle (or any other player) if they believed it was in the best interests in the club.

They are excellent at spinning and controlling a narrative. They have an aura because of decades of success. We have a stain due to years of self inflicted damage. The last time we had an aura and a strong brand was under GT and Lyon 1.0. To reset ourselves we need to start playing regular finals and making ourselves a side that no-one wants to take lightly.

Until we can produce what looks like success or inevitable progression, we'll struggle with our image. The AFL is rebranding as exciting and young. There is huge opportunity to make ourselves part of the surge. At the moment they forgot we existed in advertising. We have to make them stand up and notice then kick them back on their arses. That's all done by winning games of footy.

Eddie Maguire was actually very good in the early 2000s at promoting the young Saints like they were an inevitable force full of youthful talent that would burst out at some point. It created a sense of momentum for the fans and the footy world. People hated us for pooling kids.

Cripps hates being the guy who wears the pressure by the look of it. He seems like someone with the weight of the world on his shoulders. He's a gun but has a vibe like someone who has been crushed under the weight of expectation.
He has carried that club for a decade and is its most highly paid. He doesn't wilt and Carlton as a big club has heap more expectations on the players.
When did players need a safe space to speak their truth? When was competitiveness a dirty word in professional sport?
A BS false narrative.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I wouldn't want to go to a small club and be the one everyone pins hopes on while taking mega money. I remember how hard we were on Brad Hill. He didn't do anything wrong, he was a terrible fit for the side he was playing in and wore the anger for our disappointment.

Even Dougal Howard, people get shitty with him but if he was just some guy drafted and playing every game he probably has a completely different image with fans.

Imagine being a 21 year old mid playing in an ordinary side getting paid the most money in the AFL and unable to make a big difference to the side's fortunes. You'd have to be crazy to want that.

The kind of fame that spotlights your every move and has you under constant critical observation wouldn't appeal to many well adjusted people.

All they have to do is stay off the socials - surely it's not that hard. We are turning the current generation into a group of prima donnas.

Nah this one would need to be an RTB special.

Think Walters at Freo.

To be fair, nearly every one of Rosco's off the rail youth didn't have happy outcomes. I'd probably rather steer clear to be honest. We are a pretty clean skin environment at the moment. Wood giving the kids nutrition advice and paternal guidance compared to the Dogs who have lost a star and another on the block after a bit too much permissiveness set in.

I’ve been exposed to some of JUH carry on through associates. Not the worst we’ve seen but suspect being out and about the night before a must win final broke the trust of the group and club.
To my knowledge, he himself wasn’t on the piss but those around him were definitely getting caught up in behaviours not to be endorsed

All they have to do is stay off the socials - surely it's not that hard. We are turning the current generation into a group of prima donnas.

Easier said that done for kids these days.

I’ve been exposed to some of JUH carry on through associates. Not the worst we’ve seen but suspect being out and about the night before a must win final broke the trust of the group and club.
To my knowledge, he himself wasn’t on the piss but those around him were definitely getting caught up in behaviours not to be endorsed

Sounds a bit more serious than that.

JUH to do what troubled folk used to do on Neighbours, or when they wanted to write someone out of the show, you know it, move to Queensland. 🤓

Hello Dopey Joe replacement at the Brian's. Or even to the Suns as a Ben King replacement when Ben joins the Saints.

To be fair, nearly every one of Rosco's off the rail youth didn't have happy outcomes. I'd probably rather steer clear to be honest. We are a pretty clean skin environment at the moment. Wood giving the kids nutrition advice and paternal guidance compared to the Dogs who have lost a star and another on the block after a bit too much permissiveness set in.
Don’t let the outcomes all fall on Ross.

Balic came home. He wasn’t with Ross at the end.

Yarran had a plethora of issues.

Now JUH has a lot of issues but the kid can’t even get himself to training consistently. He needs someone to help him seize the moment the opportunities.

From Walter’s perspective:
"I got on well with Ross because he sent me back and I realised that he was the one who gave me that drive to get back and play AFL footy," Walters told ABC Perth.

"It was more based around my own mindset where I don't want to let anyone dictate my career. Doing that, I used Ross as the fuel for me to get back and play AFL footy.

"Ross was one of those guys for all the players where you can walk up to, you can feel comfortable talking to him about anything. With a young group, that's what everyone really needs

And more things in this interview.

He has carried that club for a decade and is its most highly paid. He doesn't wilt and Carlton as a big club has heap more expectations on the players.
When did players need a safe space to speak their truth? When was competitiveness a dirty word in professional sport?
A BS false narrative.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

You might not like it but it's only a very small cohort that want the external pressure that comes with fame and a big paycheque. Someone like Phillipou looks like he'd genuinely love to be the biggest star player in footy. But you look at Windhager and see a guy who looks like he's a reserved, quiet, humble kid that thinks that the media is necessary evil.

Sydney has always had an appeal to guys that love playing footy but hate the lifestyle of fame. Dusty looked like he would have been happy playing ammos and going out 6 nights a week. He was as competitive as they come. I would never want to be famous. You lose all freedom and are under constant scrutiny. Being a royal or a major actor would be absolutely shit IMO. The money isn't enough payoff.

If it's a packet of chips, then well sure.

But surely the Bulldogs are going to fight for every bit of value after losing Bailey Smith for unders in a similar situation.
Well 12 months ago he was 2-3 first rounders (depending on what they were).

Hard to argue he is worth anymore than a late first right now. Longer he doesn’t play that surely drops - like any stock that doesn’t perform. The value tanks.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Write your reply...