List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Ratts did and didn't underperform. His on-field performance was fine but he was less great at the interpersonal stuff and his vision wasn't long term. He was a good game day coach and maximised what he had. He had better lists than Richo who was beige in every facet and left every little legacy.

To me the best part of Lyon was that he is an all encompassing force of nature. He was the architect of the footy department we have now. The club was told what they needed to give him and the club listened. Richo and Ratts were happy to keep their heads down and keep their jobs. You can't use austerity to improve your finances in a performance environment.
Never change your dp Gringo, there's something about it which is just ineffably comforting, bless

I think we should be eyeing of finals this year. Once we get through the first half of the season we should have a pretty good idea of where we sit. It's a soft year and I reckon there is a flag to win if we could get our shit together. Dogs and the Baby Bombers did it from where we are. We should set our sights at the absolute pinnacle, not look for a goldilocks time to rise.

The whole idea of a "planned Premiership " is bullshit.
Just try to get yourself in a position where its possible to fluke one.
If you're languishing in the bottom 8 year after year that won't happen.

Alright time to change tact and looking forward to the draft

Jevan Phillipou has had a good start to 2025 in the SANFL U18 Comp as captain of Woodville-West Torrens Eagles

3 Rounds played thus far and he has gone

R1 v Sturt (loss) - 31D / 0.1 / 9M / 5T / 6Cl
R2 v Glenelg (win) - 22D / 0.2 / 7M / 3T / 4Cl
R3 v Centrals (win) - 25D / 1.0 / 5M / 3T / 6Cl

Also Scouting Notes from R1 v Sturt :handpointdown:

#25 Jevan Phillipou | Midfielder
Stats:
31 disposals, 9 marks, 6 clearances

Phillipou dominated proceedings alongside Cook, leading from the front as Woodville-West Torrens’ captain. The brother of Mattaes has some notable weapons, mostly in his athletic profile with powerful lateral movement and a springy leap to impact overhead. He utilised both assets to build on his high volume of possessions both at the coalface and around the ground. Phillipou was sometimes guilty of unloading the ball long and could have been more impactful by foot, but waxed well with his teammates and will be a threat in the front half as the year goes on. He shook off a big hit in term three to continue pushing his side forward.

Of course not a given that we are interested but he is a watch given he is the brother of Mattaes

He's the one I've been wanting. I think it would help lock our Phillipou in too. Last year he was tracking as a forward but looks like he's getting more midfield time this season. Looks like he's got some similar swagger to his brother too. I love the confidence they play with.

I got a sneaky trade target for us. Henry hustwaite. Saints supporter, stingrays boy. 38 touches and 12 clearances in the weekend for box hill. Pretty far down the pecking order at the hawks

Him and Erasmus both look like players that could be I our best 22 every week. Those guys that are dominating at state level is where you find bargains. Flanders was there for a long time.

He asked for the next "Cyril" our genius recruiters grabbed Ben Long out of the VFL.
Now if he'd actually got the next Cyril when he asked for it , he might have had a better team to coach.
Probably also asked for gun mids, and freak full forwards.

When Shai Bolton was the obvious Cyril in the draft. Trout could go fishing in a a trout farm and pull up a gumboot.

The only thing Carlton get will be the Band 1 compensation pick.
They should grab it with both hands since they don’t have a first rounder anyway 🤣

It would be good if they got the first pick after their second rounder just for the laughs.

We had gone a long way away from that for a long time. Some clown there thought that a selling point for the club was that no-one gave a shit so it was a relaxed environment. Imagine telling Ross Lyon that. Sharman again qualified that "cuddly Ross" was more a media persona and that he doesn't leave anything to chance. Reviewed very hard after Adelaide and still reviewed hard after last week's win. As you would hope.
What was also interesting was that he is obviously giving Enright etc a lot of responsibility but when things don’t go to plan they gave it back to the boss to handle.

Appears that he is really empowering his team and nuturing future senior coaches. Excellent development - not only of players, but of coaching staff. Keeps mentioning a growth mindset.

Seems most likely if, as it’s been reported, that he is keen to stay at the Blues.

So you would leave up to 3.5 to 4 million on the table over 7 years?
The amount is so far above Carlton can offer it is just too good to decline.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

If he is keen to stay at the Blues with the direction their team appears to be going, then I’m not sure he’s the guy for us. Their window is closing.

Ambition, good judgement and drive for success is a little questionable.

No matter what people say about Ratten he totally transformed the team - got rid of players who were ever going to take us anywhere and brought in some fresh blood with experience and we actually started to draft quality players - Phillipou , Keeler , Owens , Windhager , Nas , Higgins , Sharman and since Ratten been moved on (most probably for the better due to him being not tough enough on the players-imo) we have continued to draft quality with kids like Wilson and a lot of kids that show heaps of potential - Hastie , Schoemaker , Garcia , Collard and this years draft picks.
Lyon has strengthened the core and a lot of players who couldn't handle the heat bailed out - Billings , Gresham are fine examples and brought in a few rejects from other clubs were were overlooked or delisted like Hammer , Stocker , Hall.

Teams don't realize how strong this team is - Marshall , Macrae , Steele , Sinclair , Wilkie , Hill , Wood are all quality players and Owens , Windhager , Nas , Sharman , King , Higgins , Henry , Phillipou , Hammer are all at the age were they could explode and take us to another level.

If we can keep Marshall , Macrae , Steele , Marshall , Sinclair on the park and in form we will easily play finals.
Probably your best post yet Premo.

If he is keen to stay at the Blues with the direction their team appears to be going, then I’m not sure he’s the guy for us. Their window is closing.

Ambition, good judgement and drive for success is a little questionable.

He could just feel loyalty to a place he has been at for a while. I can understand the inclination to stay. I don't like it when players rule us out as a destination on spec.

Him and Erasmus both look like players that could be I our best 22 every week. Those guys that are dominating at state level is where you find bargains. Flanders was there for a long time.
Both 'look' like the prototype midfielder, but neither has set the world on fire, Hustwaite in a rebuilding Hawthorn, or Erasmus in a rebuilding Freo
Both teams are now competitively looking at finals and even flags, while both struggle to get a game.
I do agree with you this is the type player, good size, in the system for 3 or 4 preseasons, not getting a good run in the seniors, that we need to target.
Max Hall is a good example, 22, mature, in the system (at VFL) gor 3 or 4 years, knows his game. Good pickup. Apparently Hawks were keen and we got in before them.
If we went for either Erasmus or Hustwaite, I would back the recruiters, they have been pretty good lately.

You've left a lot of players out of that pool.

Phillipou also came with Keeler, Caminiti and Stocker. Hammer looks set to play a lot of high level footy. Also got McLennan who probably struggles but still there too.

Wilson also came with Collard who right now looks like he will make at least a solid player. Hastie and Garcia who both look really high end, Shoenmaker who again has huge high end potential and also picked up O'Connell who looks likely to be be at least solid depth if not a good Webster replacement.

Trav/Tauru came with Barrat, Dodson, Said and Boxshall. All of them look promising. Also Carroll and Armstrong.

Even Nas, Chito, Windy's draft we got Sharman as well.

Not all will make the grade but you'd reckon we end up with around 6 high end players and a few GOPs out of that.

Before hand our list was predominantly GOPs.

Nas, Windy and Chito already look like they sit comfortably inside out top 10 this year. Nas in our top few. Phillipou looked ready to take on the comp at the end of last year and while Wilson is slightly down this season he looks absolutely blue chip off last year.

Ratts did and didn't underperform. His on-field performance was fine but he was less great at the interpersonal stuff and his vision wasn't long term. He was a good game day coach and maximised what he had. He had better lists than Richo who was beige in every facet and left every little legacy.

To me the best part of Lyon was that he is an all encompassing force of nature. He was the architect of the footy department we have now. The club was told what they needed to give him and the club listened. Richo and Ratts were happy to keep their heads down and keep their jobs. You can't use austerity to improve your finances in a performance environment.
I wasn’t being specific about the players. I Was outlining the 4 drafts.

Ultimately and I posted this in the morning. It seems like wires were crossed when scrappy posted it.

Bassat did say that the 4 drafts were building blokes and important to the outcome we are building towards. But he also made clear that it’s a process that started at Ross’s appointment and that’s why he extended because they believe it should come full circle by 2027 (paraphrasing here).

I’ve taken that to mean premiership window. Not to mean that’s when we will play finals as it’s clear they want to and expect to now if we can maintain pace until everyone gets back from injury.

What was also interesting was that he is obviously giving Enright etc a lot of responsibility but when things don’t go to plan they gave it back to the boss to handle.

Appears that he is really empowering his team and nuturing future senior coaches. Excellent development - not only of players, but of coaching staff. Keeps mentioning a growth mindset.
I got from that exchange is that Enright knows his current limitations and hadn't got a huge ego telling him he can fix everything wrong.
He seems clear eyed about responsibility and when it is right for the boss to take it hands on.
Sounds like a good lieutenant who will get promoted once ready, but is willing to be a sponge and learn from the general.

He could just feel loyalty to a place he has been at for a while. I can understand the inclination to stay. I don't like it when players rule us out as a destination on spec.
He could.
But loyalty appears to be becoming a thing of the past.
Got to be very loyal to turn down that type of payday. It’s commendable, don’t get me wrong, but if you’re in a competitive sport, surely winning should also be the lure.

He could.
But loyalty appears to be becoming a thing of the past.
Got to be very loyal to turn down that type of payday. It’s commendable, don’t get me wrong, but if you’re in a competitive sport, surely winning should also be the lure.
Elite players are loyal in a pretty definable pattern:
1. Premiership chances 70%
2. Money 20%
3. Club/culture 10%

GOP's and old timer's who've got a Premiership are more like:
1. Money 90%
2. Club/culture 10%
3. Premiership chances 0%

In the first case from a club standpoint, 2 & 3 come part and parcel of 1. So if we can't firstly satisfy criteria we're just pissing into the wind.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion