Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion

Absolutely. Very pleased to have him at the Hawks. Think he's going to add a lot both on and off field. I'm pleased for Blanck that he'll get to learn from him too.
Second to having the flexibility of Sicily and Weddle moving further up the ground, the benefit to the development of Blanck, Serong and even Battle cannot be understated.

Second to having the flexibility of Sicily and Weddle moving further up the ground, the benefit to the development of Blank, Serong and even Battle cannot be understated.

Where does your soft spot for the Hawks come from? A sibling supporter or are you still in awe of the '91 and '15 GF displays?

Like us, I admire the way your club ruthlessly goes about winning flags each decade and plays good, hard footy. No eternal mid table middling bullshit like the drug rats over at Essendon, whom I despise. I’ve also got a strong Tasmanian connection and despite the Hawks being paid handsomely for it I’ll always be grateful for their football and economic investment in the state over the last 20 or so years. Tassie may not have got their team without it.

Plus I f**king hate the Cats.

Pinoy Hawk

I know it's been said before but again, thanks so much for the detailed reports.

Not only do you do a write-up, but you take and share pics and upload video footage.

It's great in this selfish day and age that someone does this on a regular basis for absolutely no reward except the thanks of fellow supporters.

It's really appreciated, so thanks so much Pinoy!

Like us, I admire the way your club ruthlessly goes about winning flags each decade and plays good, hard footy. No eternal mid table middling bullshit like the drug rats over at Essendon, whom I despise. I’ve also got a strong Tasmanian connection and despite the Hawks being paid handsomely for it I’ll always be grateful for their football and economic investment in the state over the last 20 or so years. Tassie may not have got their team without it.

If you despise Essendon and Geelong, you're half Hawthorn anyway.

good man (or woman) 👍

You’re welcome here anytime after this post.

I’m sure eaglevision would add Sydney to their list too.
I really don’t know any eagles supporters with a liking for Syd
Spot on. They are absolutely the final team on the podium with the other two. Paul Roos destroyed football in the 2000s with his negative flooding and ugly stoppage approach and I’ve never forgotten it. Unlike the other two, I do however respect them as a well run football club that keeps their business in house and are perennial contenders. Although both your club and mine probably would be too if we’d been able to pick up a Heeney, Mills, Gulden etc for a packet of chips every year despite finishing top 4.

Went to training yesterday, Barrass was doing some repeat sprinting by himself. Saw me walking up and he made the effort to say hello, seems like a great person. Massive unit too, very excited to see what he can do for us.

Ginni and Watson doing modified programs mostly just cardio.

No real match sim unfortunately.

Stand outs were CJ, Day, Newcombe, Mraz, Battle, Croc, Sicily and Nash.

Nashy looked great, just keeps improving. Fast hands but also got himself out of trouble through smart movement and pure strength at times.

CJ’s touch looks a lot better at the moment, was a bit worried that he’d lost it but confidence looks higher again and I think he’ll be a weapon like he looked a few years ago.

Mraz has something, he’s already a great size but has the skills to go with it. Really excited to see what he can do and wouldn’t be all that surprised if he forces himself into the 22/23 at some point.

Day silky as ever. Was working on his goal kicking routine, looks like they are aware of his issue infront of the sticks and want to fix this. When he was deployed there last year he looked dangerous all but when he was having a shot at goal, happy they’re addressing it.

Newk looks in ripper shape as others have said. Think it’s gonna be a massive year for him.

Battle and Sicily, just ooze class and understanding of what they need to do. A few of Sic’s across body kicks were wild.

Croc, like a few year I think he’s about to explode. Looking fast, strong and skilled.

Watched a lot of Lewis and Blanck doing repeat runs too. Blancky was struggling but Mitch looks in the best shape I’ve seen him. They were doing a bit of kick to kick at one point, switching between delivery styles - when they started doing high kicks and Lewis was jumping for the mark my heart was in my mouth but he seemed to handle it fine.

That’s all from me.

Went to training yesterday, Barrass was doing some repeat sprinting by himself. Saw me walking up and he made the effort to say hello, seems like a great person. Massive unit too, very excited to see what he can do for us.

Ginni and Watson doing modified programs mostly just cardio.

No real match sim unfortunately.

Stand outs were CJ, Day, Newcombe, Mraz, Battle, Croc, Sicily and Nash.

Nashy looked great, just keeps improving. Fast hands but also got himself out of trouble through smart movement and pure strength at times.

CJ’s touch looks a lot better at the moment, was a bit worried that he’d lost it but confidence looks higher again and I think he’ll be a weapon like he looked a few years ago.

Mraz has something, he’s already a great size but has the skills to go with it. Really excited to see what he can do and wouldn’t be all that surprised if he forces himself into the 22/23 at some point.

Day silky as ever. Was working on his goal kicking routine, looks like they are aware of his issue infront of the sticks and want to fix this. When he was deployed there last year he looked dangerous all but when he was having a shot at goal, happy they’re addressing it.

Newk looks in ripper shape as others have said. Think it’s gonna be a massive year for him.

Battle and Sicily, just ooze class and understanding of what they need to do. A few of Sic’s across body kicks were wild.

Croc, like a few year I think he’s about to explode. Looking fast, strong and skilled.

Watched a lot of Lewis and Blanck doing repeat runs too. Blancky was struggling but Mitch looks in the best shape I’ve seen him. They were doing a bit of kick to kick at one point, switching between delivery styles - when they started doing high kicks and Lewis was jumping for the mark my heart was in my mouth but he seemed to handle it fine.

That’s all from me.
Thanks for sharing. Nash needs some of that forward coaching day is getting too. As good as Nashy is I have a nightmare of us needing him to kick a goal in a final. At the moment he just isn't a threat at all in the forward 50. Doesn't need to be great, just needs to know what to do if it falls in his lap and take his chances.

Also glad to hear Lewis is jumping now. Someone mentioned previously he was doing light change of direction running the other day and Jumping is the step that goes along with that stage of the ACL rehab.

On Pixel 9 Pro XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

Thanks for sharing. Nash needs some of that forward coaching day is getting too. As good as Nashy is I have a nightmare of us needing him to kick a goal in a final. At the moment he just isn't a threat at all in the forward 50. Doesn't need to be great, just needs to know what to do if it falls in his lap and take his chances.

Also glad to hear Lewis is jumping now. Someone mentioned previously he was doing light change of direction running the other day and Jumping is the step that goes along with that stage of the ACL rehab.

Would be great! But honestly I think Nashy is the grunt we need, everyone should be a threat but Day (and Newcombe) more the one we could just sit at full forward to turn the game on its head.

Yep, him and Blanck were doing small change of direction - running in an arc essentially!

The one day I have this preseason to get down to training will be Friday 31st Jan... does anyone know if the boys usually train on Fridays, especially given it's a funny week with the long weekend earlier.

Thanks!
Yep, take your surfboard.

1736718018243.png

Nash will be a threat in the forward half if and when he can get his overhead marking up to scratch. His kicking is steadily improving and he hits targets pretty reliably. However, his overhead marking is nowhere near AFL standard. Fix that and at 198cm he could be a menace resting in the forward half.

Just another example of a versatile and unique player on our list

heck yeah 2025

Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion