2025 Pre-Season chat

He's going to be a very good player, but he's far from ready. Still needs to add a lot of size to be a KPD at AFL level.

The club typically gives it's promising talls (SDK, Neale) a three-year apprenticeship in the twos before they get a decent run in the seniors.
Saw a little bit of him in the VFL - looked very good at times but lacked core strength to hold his ground in contests he lost.
That will come and when it does I think we will all be very pleased.

He's AFL ready NOW, perhaps not KPD but he will be a permanent member of side at some stage 2025. This kid is just too good a footballer not to be in our senior side, even NOW!
Crow's supporters were banging on about the same with Dan Curtain throughout the season. Only a couple of picks between him and COS so will be interesting to see how the crows unleash DC or they temper his growth.

SDK didn't have a 3 year apprenticeship:
  • drafted in 2019
  • 2020 was a write-off due to covid
  • played 6 VFL games in 2021 before the season was abandoned, and also made his senior debut
  • 2022 he was straight in the deep end, slotting into the seniors from round 1

Sam barely had a 2 year apprenticeship due to how interrupted his first two years were

I don't think we necessarily have a "typical" approach to the development of talls, instead each player goes through their own journey to the senior team

That’s pretty close to a 3-year apprenticeship for mine.

He's AFL ready NOW, perhaps not KPD but he will be a permanent member of side at some stage 2025. This kid is just too good a footballer not to be in our senior side, even NOW!
I'm a COS fan, and you might very well be right, but the issue will be how we set up IMO, and how well stocked we are in his position(s) at any given time.

If the backline is placed like this, it's pretty hard to see where he fits in:

FB: Zuthrie - De Koning - Kolodjashnij
HB: Stewart - J Henry - Humphries

I/C: likely 2-3 of Blicavs, Bowes, Mullin, & Duncan as part-timers.

It's pretty hard to see him replacing SDK or Jenry as a tall, or Kolo or Zuthrie as an interceptor.

It could potentially open up for him if SDK is played up the ground, but that could also just lead to Blicavs in defence like we saw in the latter stages of this year.

It all depends on where the coaches are intent on playing him, and they've flirted with the midfield/wing experiment with him before, and maybe it continues to get him some games?

I see him a little like Jack Henry in his second year. He's probably good enough to play most weeks, but Jack needed Taylor and Henderson missing the first 3 months of the season to both get his chance, and then eventually cement his spot.

There's a world out there where those two never get injured, and Henry is drip-fed games here and there for another 18 months rather than playing as early as he did.

That would be my one concern on your premise, but it's certainly possible.

I have to say I love the Cats media getting these interviews from the younger ones each day

Gotta say that Ollie Dempsey is developing a great build to be a top AFL player, obviously he's put a lot of hard work in and it's now starting to pay dividends, as the kid already has got heaps of natural talent. Ollie should, along with a few other younger Cats have an entertaining, progressive and ripper season.

That’s pretty close to a 3-year apprenticeship for mine.

Is it really?

Sure, he got to go through the paces of his first preseason, after though things were hit & miss for two seasons including minimal access to the clubs training facilities from March 2020 for the remainder of the season and a total of 7 games across that period

That seems pretty far from a 3 year apprenticeship, especially as you'd be hoping to see more than 7 VFL games from a first year developing draftee

SDK's apprenticeship seems more in line with what we saw from the likes of Ratugolea or Jack Henry - spent their first season after being drafted in the VFL, followed by senior debuts in round 1 & 2 come their 2nd season, and spots they pretty much held from there

For SDK you scratch his first season which was a write-off, it's his second season which we got to first see him in the hoops at any level and then took off from there

Maybe we'll see similar from O'Sullivan next season

I'm a COS fan, and you might very well be right, but the issue will be how we set up IMO, and how well stocked we are in his position(s) at any given time.

If the backline is placed like this, it's pretty hard to see where he fits in:

FB: Zuthrie - De Koning - Kolodjashnij
HB: Stewart - J Henry - Humphries

I/C: likely 2-3 of Blicavs, Bowes, Mullin, & Duncan as part-timers.

It's pretty hard to see him replacing SDK or Jenry as a tall, or Kolo or Zuthrie as an interceptor.

It could potentially open up for him if SDK is played up the ground, but that could also just lead to Blicavs in defence like we saw in the latter stages of this year.

It all depends on where the coaches are intent on playing him, and they've flirted with the midfield/wing experiment with him before, and maybe it continues to get him some games?

I see him a little like Jack Henry in his second year. He's probably good enough to play most weeks, but Jack needed Taylor and Henderson missing the first 3 months of the season to both get his chance, and then eventually cement his spot.

There's a world out there where those two never get injured, and Henry is drip-fed games here and there for another 18 months rather than playing as early as he did.

That would be my one concern on your premise, but it's certainly possible.

I did make mention earlier on I'm not sure how he fits into the side for the excellent reasons you have stated KG but what I do know he's too good a footballer to have another year in the ressies. He will be a permanent fixture in the side at some point in 2025 and he'll make a great MCG, finals player but how it works at this point I'm not sure and I certainly understand your concerns as to how to get him in the side in the infancy of his career.

beast mode for sure... just hope the pilates and stretching is as much a component of it. Not much use pushing that much tin if you cant turn and adjust as well.

I was pushing Neale from day 1 and backing him in and he's a monster now fitness wise... just hope its all around training.

But on the eye test only.... looks outrageous.

GO Catters

Gotta say that Ollie Dempsey is developing a great build to be a top AFL player, obviously he's put a lot of hard work in and it's now starting to pay dividends, as the kid already has got heaps of natural talent. Ollie should, along with a few other younger Cats have an entertaining, progressive and ripper season.

When you watch him play, you can be tricked into thinking he's a small forward but at 188cm, it's why he could develop into a terrific midfielder. A two-way juggernaut like we see from Jezza.

Almost a similar type to Stevie Johnson. Phenomenal natural talent who later became an elite midfielder in his own right.

I reckon he puts in a subpar year of footy and I'm not even sure Geelong would be interested if he was available for almost nothing. Going on 28, 29 years of age and is now past his use by date in a similar way Jack Steven was for us.

Too many footballers today are ultra-professionals when they enter the AFL and are fanatical with their bodies.
Oliver's been into the drugs and the party life for a few years and it's all caught up to him fairly quickly.
I agree. And i think heads will roll at Melbourne at the end of the year. Another year where Max is a year old. Petracca will be careful with his body.

Oliver will be traded at the end of the year at a severe discount. Probably to us as we have created a connection now. And it will be for something like a round 2 and they take on some of his salary.

I agree. And i think heads will roll at Melbourne at the end of the year. Another year where Max is a year old. Petracca will be careful with his body.

Oliver will be traded at the end of the year at a severe discount. Probably to us as we have created a connection now. And it will be for something like a round 2 and they take on some of his salary.
I reckon we could get a juicy future first from Melbourne for taking him

He's going to be a very good player, but he's far from ready. Still needs to add a lot of size to be a KPD at AFL level.

The club typically gives it's promising talls (SDK, Neale) a three-year apprenticeship in the twos before they get a decent run in the seniors.
His running and skills may allow him to play earlier as a third or even up on a wing

Not sure if this is the right thread but it looks like the new jumper numbers will be announced shortly. The video features 31, 41, 37, 27, 25, 23, 20, 2, 19 and 3, in that order. Seems like Hawkins's 26 is getting the Selwood treatment while Jeka's 43 also won't be in use next year with 25 and 27 making their returns.

Think it's pretty much locked in that Smith has 3 and Martin has 19. I'm guessing Burke will inherit 2 from Tuohy and then the rest of the numbers shown in the video were listed in the reverse order that we drafted them, which would mean Pike 31, Retschko 41, Ivisic 37, Matofai-Forbes 27, Hofmann 25, Molier 23 and Polkinghorne 20.

Not sure if this is the right thread but it looks like the new jumper numbers will be announced shortly. The video features 31, 41, 37, 27, 25, 23, 20, 2, 19 and 3, in that order. Seems like Hawkins's 26 is getting the Selwood treatment while Jeka's 43 also won't be in use next year with 25 and 27 making their returns.

Think it's pretty much locked in that Smith has 3 and Martin has 19. I'm guessing Burke will inherit 2 from Tuohy and then the rest of the numbers shown in the video were listed in the reverse order that we drafted them, which would mean Pike 31, Retschko 41, Ivisic 37, Matofai-Forbes 27, Hofmann 25, Molier 23 and Polkinghorne 20.
So Burke wearing #2?

I did see in one of the training vids that Polkinghorne was wearing the number 2. Not sure how much to trust but was the same session as Smith #3. Also think I saw 27 either on Retschko or Ivisic in one of the clips but again not 100%

So Burke wearing #2?
Would be a nice touch to inherit Zac's number.
Cillian looks like a unit and a half already , he looks like granite - one of those you used to play against and whenever they made contact you came out bruised and battered..........looking forward to tracking his progress.

2025 Pre-Season chat