Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

Moving well. Fitting in fine. Has zero key defender attributes in my view. We are still a man down there. Young was dreadful today.
Thanks mate for the info and reports. Question, who's looked most likely to take the second KPD position behind Weiters so far this preseason? I'm worried about this with Kemp forward.

Notes:
  • cinc missing completely (Ramsay was wearing his number). So too S Durdin.
  • fantasia was there and did nothing at all
  • TDK out of the rehab group
  • Acres, MCG, Charlie, SOS, Cotts and little Durds largely rehab group. All ran heaps and strongly. Rehab for conservative reasons only. Okeefe also joined them for the most part. Was running fine. He has put on nice size as i said previously.

Jagga got beaten repeatedly (predictably) by Walshy in one on ones. Walsh was a beast today. Trained fully and awesome. Jagga was otherwise good. I am looking forward to a proper match sim.

Cerra, Walsh, Cripps and George are all FLYING. In great nick and ready to rumble.

Denver Granger Barrass moved really well. Caught my eye with his kicking too. Looks weak one on one though. But def looks good otherwise.

Motlop smashed them (along with Billy Wilson) in shuttle sprints and may have been my pick of the session with his movement through traffic in drills. Saad looked top speed too.

Cowan and Ollie great today.

One to note and watch was Matt Carroll. I need to pay more attention to him in future. Has a strong build, power, pretty clean. He impressed me today but I need to really focus on him - looks to be aiming for a back flank role.

Kemp endurance running looks career best now. Ready for that repeat running third tall forward role.

Moir running looked solid. He looks to be improving.

Ben C kicking was uhm...... His brother showed his leap on a couple of occasions with some nice marks.

HOF 2 years away at best. Lord kicking could do with some more punch. Tends to float them too much. Looked good otherwise.

Nothing much else to report. Happy to take questions.
Legend! Thank you

Sounds like Walshy is taking on the role of toughening up Jagga and bringing him up closer to AFL level.
Massive leap from where he came from getting 42 possessions against the amateurs.
Would have no idea of the pressure he'll be facing in the Big league against the Big Boys ... so the more Walshy dishes out the better off Jagga will be when jumping in the deep end.

Thanks mate for the info and reports. Question, who's looked most likely to take the second KPD position behind Weiters so far this preseason? I'm worried about this with Kemp forward.
They are clearly going with Weiters as the sole anchor with MCG and Heynes as dual third talls. They have no other option.

Going to be interesting. Definately looking light back there.Who we give that SPP spot to is starting to look like a really important decision.

Still no sign of SOS training defence?

Seems to be the modern way now. I like it. We can bring in Young or someone else if match ups suit but I reckon most weeks we will line up this. More mobility

Whether we pick up Durdin or Phillips or DGB it will purely be as depth for Weitering IMO

Moving well. Fitting in fine. Has zero key defender attributes in my view. We are still a man down there. Young was dreadful today.
Thanks Windows and agree. Would love to see JSOS put on a bit of size and train as second key defender across a pre season.

Slightly undersized but I could see him being a similar type to Murphy at Collingwood before he retired.

Going to be interesting. Definately looking light back there.Who we give that SPP spot to is starting to look like a really important decision.

Still no sign of SOS training defence?

It's why I think we will pick Durdin if he proves his fitness. He is the only one of them that I would class as a Weitering type (not as good) with big body, strong and calm. As Windows said that anchor type.

I like Sam Durdin but his body is as reliable as Marchbanks.

If I go back a bit, I suspect our fortunes back in the 2010-13 era may have been better had Michael Jamisons body held up. Not sure why we have had so many injury prone key position players.

I like Sam Durdin but his body is as reliable as Marchbanks.

If I go back a bit, I suspect our fortunes back in the 2010-13 era may have been better had Michael Jamisons body held up. Not sure why we have had so many injury prone key position players.
Jamison was under rated gun - but yep his body let him down.

Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc