Preview 2025 Rd 3 Carlton vs Western Bulldogs Friday 28th March 7:40PM AEDT @ Marvel Stadium

We need to double team Darcy and badly. Kid’s a freak and I’m expecting him to do very bad things to us.
Someone’s gonna cop a beating trying to cut him off.

Agree absolute gun, but hopefully our boys can regroup and reset. The next two games are crucial Blues Vs Dogs & Pies) will reveal our reality in the first half of the season.
If both games are lost then reckon a thorough review of coaching, recruitment and footy ops is warranted.

I think a slight rejig of the gameplan and personnel should get us back on track. Voss will probably have to kill some darlings to make that happen though, it may also include blooding some youngsters who ideally would have longer in the twos. It's clear we need to inject some speed and kicking skills into the back half and middle, along with more forward pressure.

After watching a lot of footy this weekend I noticed we are far from alone with the hack bomb coming out of defensive 50 - nearly every team does a similar thing. The difference is we have been lacking a tall to make a contest and hopefully take the contested mark. I think this has been largely down to not having Harry & Charlie in the same team - hopefully if they can both get out there this weekend against an undermanned Bulldogs defence we can get better quality defensive clearances

I just don't get the O Hollands at HB thing.

He's not overly quick off the mark, he's mediocre overhead and has slow/iffy decision making and disposal.

And historically, has had a bit of trouble sticking a tackle on the senior AFL bigger bodies.

Other than that, an inspired move...

Granted he has plenty of ticker and runs hard all day.... however!

Beyond Darcy (who will be a nightmare match up for all teams moving forward), we also need to keep a close check on Dale and Richards, both of which are excellent ball users and key to their transition game, which as we know is Carlton’s kryptonite.

Given Dale will be stationed predominantly at half back, I’d send Cottrell to him to mitigate his influence. Can’t let Dale set up the play from half back under minimal pressure as he’ll move the ball quickly through the middle and we’ll be cactus against the fast break.

Richards’ spread from centre bounce and other stoppages is a real concern. None of our midfielders can keep up with him once the ball leaves the initial contest. Would have been a job for Cincotta if fit. Can see him being a real thorn in our side.

Beyond Darcy (who will be a nightmare match up for all teams moving forward), we also need to keep a close check on Dale and Richards, both of which are excellent ball users and key to their transition game, which as we know is Carlton’s kryptonite.

Given Dale will be stationed predominantly at half back, I’d send Cottrell to him to mitigate his influence. Can’t let Dale set up the play from half back under minimal pressure as he’ll move the ball quickly through the middle and we’ll be cactus against the fast break.

Richards’ spread from centre bounce and other stoppages is a real concern. None of our midfielders can keep up with him once the ball leaves the initial contest. Would have been a job for Cincotta if fit. Can see him being a real thorn in our side.
Hewett to Richards - Cottrell to Dale?

Dog's only scored 70 points, even with Superdooper superstar Darcy up forward, we kept Hawthorn to 80 points which I thought was a reasonable effort, especially given our last meeting with them where they scored at will. I also think we got royally screwed by the officials on and off the ground - completely different game if we go into half time with a 16 point buffer.

Would be good to see the forward line up as intended, I could be wrong but we have gotten about 5 goals from key forwards this year so far - JSOS x2, Kemp x 2 and Harry x1 - we had gotten 14 goals from McKay / Curnow after two games last year

Boyd for Haynes - McKay for Young. Does Camporeale play some VFL after a few games and we get a look at White. If we manage the forward entries properly we will win. TDK to jump all over English and make him look like a damm fool

Hewett might be the best bet but I’m not sure he can keep up with Richards on the spread. Need to try something though and this might be the best we’ve got without a guy like Cincotta.
Could set Walsh a task - wouldn't do it every weekend but at 0-2 and him having probably the best skill set to match Richards run it might be a standard setting move to have him sacrifice his game for the team

Out Kemp, Fogarty, Motlop, Doc

In Harry, Moir, White, Boyd ( most based on their hitout tomorrow)

Williams on notice
Not sure that quartet would be the first out for me... maybe Kemp and Doc on thin ice. Agree we need changes though. At least a few unforced. I'd be sending Charlie back to the rehab group until he's actually fit. Absolutely embarassing to watch him plod around on Thursday.

I thought Motlop - while not perfect - played one of his best games for the club. They're really pushing him to play more of an EH role, pinch hitting in the middle. He's 100% not a centre square mid but got involved and was better/faster than Round 1's disaster.

I’m not sure it matters who we pick. For years we have played to the level of the opposition week in week out. Be it Richmond one week or Hawthorn the next. The players get comfortable with the flow of the game especially when they get in front but there is is no killer instinct to drive harder when things get easier or harder. They’ve been mollycoddled all their careers and it shows in the standard they seek to achieve which is mediocrity. Outside of beating up the Eagles who have been VFL team standard we’ve rarely thrashed sides. Bont/no Bont it doesn’t matter. We will play to the level and never aspire to go up a gear. I expect we’ll be in the game for periods only for another 3-4 goal loss.
Perfect summation. It’s why honourable losses have been our thing for a decade and I think that’s our level this season: bottom 6 with plenty of honourable losses like the Hawks game.