Retired #21: Dyson Heppell - Goodnight, sweet prince. What a legend! 🤙 - 24/8

I think Alex Browne looks to be the real keeper here.

Looks really composed, nice frame, looks to have an engine to build upon and makes great decisions. Oh, he's a nice kick too. In fact, he's got a bit of the Ben Cousins about him with the way he moves.

Could be the best pick of the kids we drafted.

Looks really composed, nice frame, looks to have an engine to build upon and makes great decisions. Oh, he's a nice kick too. In fact, he's got a bit of the Ben Cousins about him with the way he moves.

Maybe not Benny C , i thought he was a bit like scott p but they are both pretty big calls hopefully one can come true:D. I don't reckon Melky hasn't gotten enough love for his game. He was in and under but also looking to create also looked a bit bigger. Final one was Sammy thought he was just a bull in the game against saints hopefully he can prove himself this year.

And with Heppell good game if he didn't shank those kicks it probably would have been rated a lot better but hey thats life and his first game on the big stage. I doubt he is going to kick the ground before the ball to many times! I remember last year watching coyler thinking this guy can't hit the side of a barn he came good enough:D still has an off kick here or there but i'm sure heppell will be the same.

I agree, didn't exactly blow my skirt up either. Was very impressed by Polec though.

I've been surprised a little by the acclaim for polec. showed enough, especially in his running goal, to suggest he'll be a very good player, but hardly touched the footy across two games. 7 or 8 possies in total i reckon, though i didn't pay much attention to the saints/lions match.

heppell would have had around the same in his single game. a couple of fluffed kicks, but otherwise also looked likely.

both sides should be happy, but it's still only a couple of half-arsed matches into their careers.

I think with the young players what you need to look for is their movement and ability to find the ball, not so much execution of skills. That's due to inexperience on the big stage (for them) and first game nerves. Both Heppell and Polec moved beautifully, they're both gonna be stars - I think Heppell will be a higher posession player than Polec, but Polec seems to have x factor. That's not to say Heppell hasn't, just basing it on the game.

I've been surprised a little by the acclaim for polec. showed enough, especially in his running goal, to suggest he'll be a very good player, but hardly touched the footy across two games. 7 or 8 possies in total i reckon, though i didn't pay much attention to the saints/lions match.

heppell would have had around the same in his single game. a couple of fluffed kicks, but otherwise also looked likely.

both sides should be happy, but it's still only a couple of half-arsed matches into their careers.
Wasn't so much impressed by Polec's ball winning ability, but by that goal that he kicked in the second half where he ran for 30 meters, stepped around a bomber and drilled it from about 45. Thought it smacked of class. Im looking forward to seeing that glimpse of class from Heppell.

Heppell will be a star.
he got 20 touches in the last 1/2 vs Vic metro, he got 9 poss in his nab cup game against the lions, did not play saints.
he can get many touches in very quick time, watch out for him getting forward every now and then, loves a goal and gets heaps of assists.
I have seen him kick some of the most beautiful passes, strange to see a few shanks the other night.

I rate Heppell as high as Hurley, it is just they are dif types of players.
Heppell will be in our top 3 players in the next few years. Mark my words.
if not I will be amazed.

Everybody seems to be impressed by his games, so I'll take their word on it.

I wasnt jumping for joy impressed. I think if a player is naturally a good kick, they will kick well 9 times out of 10. Looks to me like he will be a similar kick to Dyson, sometimes perfect, sometimes shanks.

Thought the same with the Cousins thing, moves and kicks like him but looks taller.

On a another note, Hank played very very well in the first game.
Make that "all the defenders". Funny what happens when there's a) some pressure upfield and b) something to kick to!!! I've said that all the last couple of years... all of our defenders were crucified both ways.

Heppell showed heaps. Lots of follow-up work, 2 or 3 times he turned a touch on half-back into a run all the way down the field. Has a great idea of who's where. Shanked 1 or 2 kicks, meh.

From what i've seen, Heppell will instinctively attempt speering passes of great difficulty. the odd one won't come off. he did it in last weeks intra as well.

the one that he tumbled along the ground on friday was such an attempt to fire the ball in low. I like the fact that he's willing to try it.

I thought he looked excellent.

In particular, his natural ability to find position.

By all reports he's better overhead than what he showed on Friday so I all looks extremely positive.

I thought he looked excellent.

In particular, his natural ability to find position.

By all reports he's better overhead than what he showed on Friday so I all looks extremely positive.

Yeah thats what impressed me, seemed to find his way into space - and thats not something easily taught.

Heppell looked good, as good as you can guage from this format.

Agree on Browne as well, I have a feeling. Was smoking some peyote the other night and had a vision. A wierd naked Indian told me the Essendon Football club would be led to much glory by a child from the loins of their enemy......He is the chosen one.

I cant believe the critics on Heppell in regards to his kicking, pretty harsh for a kid playing his first PRE SEASON game. Sure a couple of his kicks didn't hit his team-mates on the t*t but some of his kicks were quickly drilled into team orientated danger spots which created instant pressure on the opposition, oh and plus it was his first game.

People should douse their expectations here do they remember Jobe's first AFL game, he's now our captain? Pendlebury for the pies I think played a couple of late matches in his first season and his claim to fame at the time was a smother.

Reece Conca was a ghost for richmond, Heppell showed us he can get the ball and in years to come im sure he is going to one of our most valuable players.

Similar type to Irons from Port [pushing it?]
Will only every be half the calibre of Goldstein, Whitecross, Greenwood, or even our very own Silverloch.

... But I think that it may be a little early to pass judgements on him one way or another. Looks to have the skills required to make it, had a few first game jitters, but overall looked quite good.
Having said that, both he and Polec made me pretty excited about the future of AFL!

Retired #21: Dyson Heppell - Goodnight, sweet prince. What a legend! 🤙 - 24/8