Player Watch #21: Noah Balta - Signed Until 2032

The weird part about this is:

Who the hell is the mentally twisted dick(s) who saw or was told about this and then decide THE DWEEB THAT NEEDS TO KNOW ABOUT THIS AND INFORM THE WORLD IS MITCH CLEARY?

When did Mitch Cleary decide that scummy low rent (biased?), hyped off field, salacious headlines was the best way to earn his income?

I have expected to see this as the domain of the gossip columnist. Ethics Mitch.

Like it or not of course it’s a big story. AFL player who just signed a 7-year deal is arrested and charged with assault with the victim hospitalised. Of course we need to wait for all the facts in regards to circumstances etc… but with the actual facts we have at hand it’s a huge story.

yeah, why is he in Syndey during pre-season?
He wasn't in Sydney just over the boarder from me. And he has family there was visiting. The fact he chose a club for a visit well that was a bad choice most family's gather at ones homes. If what the locals are saying is true if it was one off us we would be looking at 2 years but been a celebrity of sorts you know how it ends up, brown bags will exchange hands the judge will give him a warning and all is well. PS a lot of people from my town that club is a go too place but like i said only reporting what they are talking about. My town been a rfc town is sure talking about it.

2 years lmao. There's Sudanese roaming the streets with 85 charges, most involving being a little stabby stabby with good old machetes that have never seen a day behind bars.

Yeah, we aren’t using this as an excuse to be raciat

free legal aid for your defence? 2 years.
Expensive KCs, he'll spend no time in jail.

IF the AFL believe that he needs to be charged, suspended etc - then the AFL & the PA need to get together to have it written into every contract as "League Standard" that a player in this situation's contract is either allowed to be terminated without pay, or 100% of their salary while suspended or in custody to the state is forfeited & removed from the salary cap.

To me, it makes no sense that the AFL has the power to have a player removed for the short or longterm for actions outside of the footy field, yet cannot mandate rules that at least protect the clubs from being financially & contractually committed to that player for those actions. Just make it the standard. If you go out and get yourself into legal trouble that results in the AFL suspending you etc - your pay is forfeited until the matter is resolved. If it is resolved via reversal of charge, then your payments are back-paid by the AFL, not the club, as why should the club have to pay for a player who did not play due to the AFL's incorrect ruling? If the AFL are going to jump into these things -then they have to use their power to protect the clubs, but also be prepared to pay for it to "be fixed" if the charges are later dropped, reversed, etc.

I mean, look at the GWS situation. 6 players suspended for a combined 13 games for wearing the wrong costumes in the off-season. Lets say instead of it being 6 lower players - its 6 top liners on $800k+ a year. They are paid $35,000+ per game. That means that IF the AFL has suspended these players "with pay", the AFL's ruling has lead to GWS having to pay out nearly $500,000 in wages for games their players cant even play, based on the AFL;s own rules and standards. So why can't the AFL then just make all players suspended are, without compromise, fined their income pro-rata to the games etc? The clubs can't really negotiate these hard lined contracts due to Free Agency being a hyper competitive market. Take a player like De Goey for example - if he was available on the FA market, does Collingwood have any hope of being able to add in that level of accountability if the Saints are offering more guaranteed money with no penalty etc? Strong leadership would take ownership of these matters as, ultimately, its the AFLS brand that is being protected first and foremost.

There needs to be black and white rules for the league on this stuff - not the clubs building it into contracts as free agency has cut the balls off the clubs being able to offer "safe & accountable" contracts. If Balta is found guilty, stood down, or suspended - then the club should not have any financial obligation to him. My opinion anyway.

In regards to Balta's situation - really really poor on his behalf, no matter what the circumstances. During the pre-season i made several post that Balta is now our most important current senior player & asset - and we are not even at round 1 and this is where we are at. I can't see Yze turning this shit around, he has no hope. This guy should be in frame to be Captain or Vice & he is in handcuffs even before the preseason has began, all be it with a huge crop of young players coming into the club. Couldn't be a worse start to "the new era" tbh

Yes but they are young boys playing from terrible backgrounds we need to love and cherish them and tell them mother Australia cares for them. Me on the other hand European born came as a kid worked hard own my own place now 63 someone call me go back home African I snap glass him straight into pent rich where they can't find the old key so spend 3 years of 2 year term than departed back to Greece lol

IF the AFL believe that he needs to be charged, suspended etc - then the AFL & the PA need to get together to have it written into every contract as "League Standard" that a player in this situation's contract is either allowed to be terminated without pay, or 100% of their salary while suspended or in custody to the state is forfeited & removed from the salary cap.

To me, it makes no sense that the AFL has the power to have a player removed for the short or longterm for actions outside of the footy field, yet cannot mandate rules that at least protect the clubs from being financially & contractually committed to that player for those actions. Just make it the standard. If you go out and get yourself into legal trouble that results in the AFL suspending you etc - your pay is forfeited until the matter is resolved. If it is resolved via reversal of charge, then your payments are back-paid by the AFL, not the club, as why should the club have to pay for a player who did not play due to the AFL's incorrect ruling? If the AFL are going to jump into these things -then they have to use their power to protect the clubs, but also be prepared to pay for it to "be fixed" if the charges are later dropped, reversed, etc.

I mean, look at the GWS situation. 6 players suspended for a combined 13 games for wearing the wrong costumes in the off-season. Lets say instead of it being 6 lower players - its 6 top liners on $800k+ a year. They are paid $35,000+ per game. That means that IF the AFL has suspended these players "with pay", the AFL's ruling has lead to GWS having to pay out nearly $500,000 in wages for games their players cant even play, based on the AFL;s own rules and standards. So why can't the AFL then just make all players suspended are, without compromise, fined their income pro-rata to the games etc? The clubs can't really negotiate these hard lined contracts due to Free Agency being a hyper competitive market. Take a player like De Goey for example - if he was available on the FA market, does Collingwood have any hope of being able to add in that level of accountability if the Saints are offering more guaranteed money with no penalty etc? Strong leadership would take ownership of these matters as, ultimately, its the AFLS brand that is being protected first and foremost.

There needs to be black and white rules for the league on this stuff - not the clubs building it into contracts as free agency has cut the balls off the clubs being able to offer "safe & accountable" contracts. If Balta is found guilty, stood down, or suspended - then the club should not have any financial obligation to him. My opinion anyway.

In regards to Balta's situation - really really poor on his behalf, no matter what the circumstances. During the pre-season i made several post that Balta is now our most important current senior player & asset - and we are not even at round 1 and this is where we are at. I can't see Yze turning this shit around, he has no hope. This guy should be in frame to be Captain or Vice & he is in handcuffs even before the preseason has began, all be it with a huge crop of young players coming into the club. Couldn't be a worse start to "the new era" tbh

I think you’ll find in every AFL approved contract there will be terms like “bringing the game into disrepute” Off field behaviour and standards 100% falls under the remit of the AFL and the terms of their contracts. They absolutely have jurisdiction on a players life and their behaviours. The AFL are primarily funded by TV deals. Like it or not players are always in the scope and they literally have training and seminars surrounding behaviours etc… Noah unless the circumstances were beyond provocation should have made a different choice. I do say this without any knowledge of the details.

You would expect the AFL to impose a fine which will be in effect a potential loss of income. Now Noah would be on Salary and not match payments so the hit is singular. For a player on Match payments the fine + Suspension would mean the player isn’t being paid (a part from base).
The AFL rules are fairly black and white in this instance. The penalties would be predetermined and he would know what he’s in for.

I understand your point about protecting the club but where and when does that stop? If a player gets a 8 week suspension for a dog act on the field, what right does a club have for salary cap retribution. You’re not going to not pay a player over this time. They have to live as well. Not sure where and when the idea of not paying a player and club getting retribution starts and stops. Legally it would be a minefield

This story has such a familiar ring to me. About 20 years ago I was up at Mulwala for a bucks weekend, and was walking into the Mulwala Golf Club with a mate who at the time was a very well known AFL player - won't say his name as it's not important, but he was very recognisable and a bit of a "love to hate" player for those who didn't know him.

As we were entering through the glass doors, my AFL mate held them open for a couple of random blokes who were leaving ... probably both in their 40's, not really young fellas. As they left, one says to the other "glad we're leaving now when this flog is just arriving", clearly talking about my AFL mate. His buddy said "yeah, they'll let any weak c*** in here now".

It was just unnecessary and a lesser bloke than my mate might've had a go back at them. He was actually holding the door open for them. I asked him if he had to put up with that often and he said he copped it all the time, and was reluctant to go out at all in public or even come away with us blokes for that weekend, as he often got targeted by heroes that wanted to get him into a punch on.

So curious to who your mate was now. I've had mates who played who copped similar albeit not as negative. Worst one was a bloke bagging one of the boys for his fantasy score.

This story has such a familiar ring to me. About 20 years ago I was up at Mulwala for a bucks weekend, and was walking into the Mulwala Golf Club with a mate who at the time was a very well known AFL player - won't say his name as it's not important, but he was very recognisable and a bit of a "love to hate" player for those who didn't know him.

As we were entering through the glass doors, my AFL mate held them open for a couple of random blokes who were leaving ... probably both in their 40's, not really young fellas. As they left, one says to the other "glad we're leaving now when this flog is just arriving", clearly talking about my AFL mate. His buddy said "yeah, they'll let any weak c*** in here now".

It was just unnecessary and a lesser bloke than my mate might've had a go back at them. He was actually holding the door open for them. I asked him if he had to put up with that often and he said he copped it all the time, and was reluctant to go out at all in public or even come away with us blokes for that weekend, as he often got targeted by heroes that wanted to get him into a punch on.
One of em could be the same bloke Balta clocked.

Noah Balta: yeah i probably should have controlled my self a bit better
Reuben Ginbey: Hold my beer
View attachment 2198631

yawn.

A pissed 20 year old took a piss at a music festival and then panicked while shit faced when the cops caught him with his dick in his hand, probably because he knows he is a nobody which will likelly lead the AFL to making an example out of him and giving him 20 weeks for going to a music festival and not peeing beforehand

Like it or not of course it’s a big story. AFL player who just signed a 7-year deal is arrested and charged with assault with the victim hospitalised. Of course we need to wait for all the facts in regards to circumstances etc… but with the actual facts we have at hand it’s a huge story.

Hospitalised means admitted, i'm betting that's not the case

He’ll be okay…Pretty sure it will come out as self-defence…The two issues are:
1. What the hell is he doing there then…?
2. Did he monster him to negate the self-defence bit…?
I’m most worried about 2, but it’s usually one word against the other in Corowa…Even if the “victim” wants to go on with it, I’d be surprised if it goes further than Jan 30…
Hopefully there’s cctv and it helps rather than hinders , yea if it’s a haymaker in self defense prob ok , if he goes after a bloke retreating then it won’t look good , no idea , injuries sound only superficial, no reconstructive surgery required , I suspect the clubs handling will be harsher than what the court determines, reckon he might get 2-3w on sidelines club imposed

I couldn’t see an Aussie court giving a 2y sentence for this kinda assault charge unless the offender used a brick and life changing injuries were sustained. , on what’s been reported doesnt sound anything like that ,

Player Watch #21: Noah Balta - Signed Until 2032