Past #23: Ben McKay - gone to * as RFA - NMFC awarded Band 1 pick #3 compo

I don't get the McKay forward calls at all.

I just think there's a chance, a slim chance, the Noble tries him up forward. He's big, he's quick. He's got his confidence up a bit I think (do we mess with it?). We've also recruited a couple of defenders so we'll definitely be playing around wiht out defensive back 6.

Not for me there isn't.

He's a dead set defender imo as not a good kick or mark for his size. His attributes have led him to make it as a defender.

(if goes fwd and kills it then no worries!)

I'd actually say Lachie Hansen a better mark.

He was a horrible forward and didn't make it, so I don't know why people think McKay would.

I'd actually say Lachie Hansen a better mark.

He was a horrible forward and didn't make it, so I don't know why people think McKay would.

Nah he is a good mark Chop, we just haven’t seen it translate to AFL level yet. Was clear this year his number 1 focus this year was locking down his man, so hopefully we should see him go for more intercept marks in coming years as his confidence grows.

I’m 100% in the keep him back camp FWIW.

Well as per psicosis comment hopefully we start seeing it. He spoils when in a position to mark - maybe under instruction and I get he's still young

Hopefully the marking comes. It was a strength in the VFL. Maybe he’s just trying to keep it really simple initially. When the confidence is there, maybe he adds the marking.

That's fine and no worries. I'm just not sure he reads it as quickly in flight like say, McGovern does. But again he may have it up his sleeve and great if so

Nah he is a good mark Chop, we just haven’t seen it translate to AFL level yet. Was clear this year his number 1 focus this year was locking down his man, so hopefully we should see him go for more intercept marks in coming years as his confidence grows.

I’m 100% in the keep him back camp FWIW.

If Tarrant wasn’t rising 32, it might be an idea. But we’re planning for life beyond 2023 so we need him down back.

Mate with our new midfield I'd suggest we don't plan on the ball going down back. I reckon Tarrant has a few years left in him due to missing his first 150 games.
And we 've Walker= the pronunciation.

He maybe be easy to drink but he's a shite forward. And McKay has only just started and his marking is his elite skillset. But again I'm fine if he don't get a shot fwd. Just who's partnering Larkey? Xerri aka Hymie. He does move like Hymie.

1609056287245.png 1609056323456.png

He's at the stage in his development where he's just shadowing the opposition KPF and killing the ball.

I'd compare Ben with Tazz in 2015 when he really had his first full time season in defence, but remember that Tazz was still a couple of years older.

He wasn't that far behind Andrews in a lot of categories in 2020, even though he is giving up a year and ~100 games of experience.

He's at the stage in his development where he's just shadowing the opposition KPF and killing the ball.

I'd compare Ben with Tazz in 2015 when he really had his first full time season in defence, but remember than Tazz was still a couple of years older.

He's wasn't that far behind Andrews in a lot of categories in 2020, even though he is giving up a year and ~100 games of experience.

Good comparison. Both building confidence at this stage of their careers for different reasons - and trying to keep it simple.

I've seen Ben go for the ball at VFL level and just barge through blokes like a train, losing no momentum. He also never had any probs with his kicking until playing seniors.

I think this will improve a lot the more games he gets under his belt.This guy could have a big future.

I've seen Ben go for the ball at VFL level and just barge through blokes like a train, losing no momentum. He also never had any probs with his kicking until playing seniors.

I reckon that's more structural/game plan related. It takes a while for it to become second nature.

I think this will improve a lot the more games he gets under his belt.This guy could have a big future.

Agree, and I am beyond bullish about him. He's already shown that he's up to the grade as a Gorilla stopper. His offensive rebound needs to grow now.

His last 4-5 games of 2020 are now his base point for 2021.

If he improves on that then he could very well be elite by as soon as the end of 2021. Consistency is his mantra now.

Mate with our new midfield I'd suggest we don't plan on the ball going down back. I reckon Tarrant has a few years left in him due to missing his first 150 games.

He maybe be easy to drink but he's a sh*te forward. And McKay has only just started and his marking is his elite skillset. But again I'm fine if he don't get a shot fwd. Just who's partnering Larkey? Xerri aka Hymie. He does move like Hymie.

View attachment 1033059View attachment 1033060

I'm guessing Xerri to share ruck duties as Ive stated previously. Not only to learn ruck from Goldy but I get a sense that we may go a little smaller forward???

Walker playing a swing man role forward and back pending game needs.

Comben coming on early would complicate things too!

He maybe be easy to drink but he's a sh*te forward. And McKay has only just started and his marking is his elite skillset. But again I'm fine if he don't get a shot fwd. Just who's partnering Larkey? Xerri aka Hymie. He does move like Hymie.

View attachment 1033059View attachment 1033060
Hymie was a unit too tho.

Past #23: Ben McKay - gone to * as RFA - NMFC awarded Band 1 pick #3 compo