Player Watch #23 Bernie Vince - Retired - Thanks Bernie

Is Bernie cooked? Getting ultra low disposals these days and is ok defensively but nothing to write home about.

Needs to be phased out over the rest of the year. Lays some good bumps and tackles and his field kicking is much better than last year but he's just too damn old and slow to be sitting down back there with Lewis. We need Hunt and possibly Salem (or someone else, I do like Salem pushing forward) filling those two roles.

Hunt is injured.

We can't play him and Lewis in the same team any more I don't think. But I keep going back and forth as to who's offering more at the moment. They both bring some good things to the table but together they're just too slow, especially without Frost and Hunt.

Lewis has been comfortably better this year imo. Wrote him off pretty early but he has made me look silly.

He plays a tag or doesn’t play at all for me.

Given that our 3 delists and 1 or 2 traded players should start to become clearer very soon, I would not mind the club offering him 1 more at minimum wage. He could be a handy player in a finals series.

He plays a tag or doesn’t play at all for me.

Given that our 3 delists and 1 or 2 traded players should start to become clearer very soon, I would not mind the club offering him 1 more at minimum wage. He could be a handy player in a finals series.
I agree about the tagging. That should be his only role. He shouldn't be in a back 6 already exposed for lack of pace. He does the lock down job very well, so I'm surprised they put him back in defence.

Hunt is injured.
Hunt has also been just about useless at footballing since about this time last year.

Lightning quick. Had a great patch of form last year no doubt.

But my gut says he’ll go the way of the dodo pretty quickly. And by dodo, I mean Sam Blease.

Don't understand why when we were having inside 50 after inside 50 we didn't allow him to get closer to goal.
Off topic, momentarily:

Remember earlier in the year, when our press was outrageously aggressive (high)? Despite getting scored on over the back too easily, the press was super effective at doing what a press is supposed to do - a la locking the ball in our attacking third and generating repeat 50 entries.

You yourself at that time pointed out that our high inside 50 numbers were deceiving because we were just getting shallow entries due to the ball ping ponging between 40-60.

The hysteria over Friday nights i50 disparity and the fact that we didn’t dominate the score board is unjustified for the exact same reason. All that stat really shows is that we played a really effective press and kept the ball locked in our attacking third for significant periods of the game.

Back in topic:

I’m torn with Bernie and Lewis. I reckon both are still best 22. But, I agree having both in the same half of the ground (whichever it is) is definitely too detrimental to our ability to benefit from leg speed.

Additionally, with development of the current 20th-25th players, they both should be outside the best 22 in the next 12 months.

Should. We’ll see though, relies on the Hunts, Salems, Harmeses, Balics, Buggs, AVBs, Maynards, etc. coming on and developing a consistent, reliable game.

Off topic, momentarily:

Remember earlier in the year, when our press was outrageously aggressive (high)? Despite getting scored on over the back too easily, the press was super effective at doing what a press is supposed to do - a la locking the ball in our attacking third and generating repeat 50 entries.

You yourself at that time pointed out that our high inside 50 numbers were deceiving because we were just getting shallow entries due to the ball ping ponging between 40-60.

The hysteria over Friday nights i50 disparity and the fact that we didn’t dominate the score board is unjustified for the exact same reason. All that stat really shows is that we played a really effective press and kept the ball locked in our attacking third for significant periods of the game.

Back in topic:

I’m torn with Bernie and Lewis. I reckon both are still best 22. But, I agree having both in the same half of the ground (whichever it is) is definitely too detrimental to our ability to benefit from leg speed.

Additionally, with development of the current 20th-25th players, they both should be outside the best 22 in the next 12 months.

Should. We’ll see though, relies on the Hunts, Salems, Harmeses, Balics, Buggs, AVBs, Maynards, etc. coming on and developing a consistent, reliable game.

I agree in isolation the I50s count isn't a huge concern, what is though is our ability to generate quality inside 50s when we get repeats.
What was also concerning is if before the game you had said we would press well, win contested footy and clearances goody would have said beauty how much did we win by.

Game was played exactly how we wanted it. Concerning that we struggle to score from it.

Warning signs were there against the dogs, they were just shit at kicking it so turned it over.

I agree in isolation the I50s count isn't a huge concern, what is though is our ability to generate quality inside 50s when we get repeats.
What was also concerning is if before the game you had said we would press well, win contested footy and clearances goody would have said beauty how much did we win by.

Game was played exactly how we wanted it. Concerning that we struggle to score from it.

Warning signs were there against the dogs, they were just shit at kicking it so turned it over.
Yeah, but (here I go again) we struggled to score in the last quarter.

The same quarter in which port was paid 9 free kicks to our 1. Ports pressure was very good, but they were constantly taking us out of contests illegally or preventing our spread again illegally. If we’d been paid 2 or 3 of the frees we should have in our f50, and if port hadn’t had such an armchair ride at the other end, we’d have kicked a couple, they’d have kicked one or two less, and we’d have won by 1-3 goals. And everybody would be saying what a great game it was and how good it is to finally win a tight game against another top 4 hopeful!

Yeah, but (here I go again) we struggled to score in the last quarter.

The same quarter in which port was paid 9 free kicks to our 1. Ports pressure was very good, but they were constantly taking us out of contests illegally or preventing our spread again illegally. If we’d been paid 2 or 3 of the frees we should have in our f50, and if port hadn’t had such an armchair ride at the other end, we’d have kicked a couple, they’d have kicked one or two less, and we’d have won by 1-3 goals. And everybody would be saying what a great game it was and how good it is to finally win a tight game against another top 4 hopeful!

Agree to disagree mate.

I didn't think he was noticeably bad on Friday. But he is on his last legs. Get him to 100 games.

Still we got way more than we bargained for when we traded for Vince, Great servant of the club

For mine, when the pressure has been really on us the last two weeks Lewis has looked more shaky than Vince particularly with ball in hand.

I reckon Lewis has been more composed, but looks slower than Vince

Thought the opposite - Lewis been good by foot recently. He did have it a lot more than Vince though, so still would've made more errors.

With Bernie getting towards the end of what has been a magnificent career, I hope he gets a few more matches in the back half of the season. I love Bernie. He plays football how I wished I could have played. He has the spirit of an Anzac. I can totally see him in a slouch hat with a cigarette dangling out of his mouth and a grin on his dial. Bernie plays football with gusto, a genuinely cavalier spirit. There are so many instances where he has been in a position where most players would take a half step which wouldn't have even been noticed but Bernie has just accelerated and welcomed the hit. I love that. His team mates would love that too. i think he's been massive in the turnaround of our club. We were a meek, shy and apologetic football team when he arrived. He is the polar opposite of all of those things. Personally I reckon he'd of made a much better captain than Nate Jones but he was never going to get that chance being new to the club and with Jones having done the hard yards for so long.
Thanks Bernie for choosing to continue your career with us when there wasn't a lot of obvious positives about coming here, and in particular for giving the MFC its mojo back. You're a star and if I ever see you out I'm going to be that annoying guy that comes over and says hello and tries to buy you a beer.

i think he is geing played out of position. He was never a good backman.

Should be playing as a run with midfielder

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Player Watch #23 Bernie Vince - Retired - Thanks Bernie