Past #24: Levi Greenwood - officially traded to Collingwood FC for pick 25 (2014) - retires rd16 2021 due to concussion symptoms - go well Pig

True, we need inside mids more than you do. North have too many plodders. Youre only genuine speedster is 36 years old.
Ok Timmy from Thomastown , now it kinda feels like you are being a 5star flog.....amIRight?
Just because North aren't on FTA 18-19 rounds of the year, at least do us the courtesy, whilst on our board, to know a ****ing little bit about our side mate. Heard of Attley? Luke MacDonald? Aaron Mullet? The 36 year old bullshit is just that, bullshit. Yeah we are full of plodders, fluked the Prelim because all other sides were sleepy.

Don't have any bitterness towards Levi but spare me the sympathy shown by some regarding his supposed financial predicament. These are 20 something year olds who basically get paid $100,000 to $150,000 for apprenticeships, then start making money that allows them a lifestyle few of their age can enjoy. Being able to have an agent do your dirty work and knocking back $350,000 a year are the luxuries that represent the ugly side of footy to me. And this argument about a footballers career being short as a justification for being mercenary is crap too. Most people are on one year contracts these days and don't have any where near the job security of AFL footballers. The only sympathy I would have for Levi is if he genuinely has a case that he has been shafted by Brad and the match committee over the previous couple of years. But if it is about 'financial security' or being upset about initial contract offers being insulting, then sorry Levi, off you go to the FIGJAM. My sympathy will be reserved for the *.

#SufferingOfTheRich

I think what some people are missing here is this guys only had one good year. We've put seven years into this guy and he's repaid us with one good year, then as soon as he's been offered 300K extra over 3 years suddenly I have to feel sorry for the guy and cut him some slack.

**** that shit I say. We drafted the guy, gave him his chance at a good career, persisted with his average contribution to our team for six years and then he goes a plays like he should have 3 years ago and burns us for 300K.

Sorry I dont want guys like that and he can go to the ferals because he'll fit right in there. I can see the ferals saying at the end of next year, why did we buy this bloke, this bloke has got to be one of the worst buys ever.

How long does it take to work out a deal for Greenwood. Why haven't we heard about what player the club might be interested in or what picks might be likely to be thrown up? Understand that they only have pick 30 free at the moment but i'd be happy with pick 30 and a half decent player. I hope the club isn't playing into the ferals hands by letting them delay this.

The club seems to be leaving it in Pies hands waiting on outcomes of the Beams and PLG trades. Rather frustrating i must say. Picks wise im down to something like this now.

21 + swap of 3rds

23+25 we give 36

25+30 we give our 3rd

But god knows where it will end up. Disappointed that we seem very passive with this one.

Stuff all this "have you ever knocked back a better paying job blah blah blah"

Apples and oranges as far as I'm concerned. It's football for Christ sake not a shitty office job.

If he goes he can suck a lemon

If he stays I'll go back and edit all my comments and act like I always had faith.

search
how-to-draw-mr-hankey.htm

Hi everybody.
full_100_0679.jpg

Don't have any bitterness towards Levi but spare me the sympathy shown by some regarding his supposed financial predicament. These are 20 something year olds who basically get paid $100,000 to $150,000 for apprenticeships, then start making money that allows them a lifestyle few of their age can enjoy. Being able to have an agent do your dirty work and knocking back $350,000 a year are the luxuries that represent the ugly side of footy to me. And this argument about a footballers career being short as a justification for being mercenary is crap too. Most people are on one year contracts these days and don't have any where near the job security of AFL footballers. The only sympathy I would have for Levi is if he genuinely has a case that he has been shafted by Brad and the match committee over the previous couple of years. But if it is about 'financial security' or being upset about initial contract offers being insulting, then sorry Levi, off you go to the FIGJAM. My sympathy will be reserved for the *.

#SufferingOfTheRich

Mate, as far as I am concerned, this is not an argument about whether or not players are paid too much; it is about the potential difference in gross terms between the two offers.

Please do not try to tell me that:

(a) if you had to advise someone as to which offer to take out of one that is offering that person potentially an extra $750000 in gross terms, you would advise that person to take the lesser offer; and

(b) if you were that someone in the position of having to accept either of those two offers that you would take the lesser offer.

You have yourself said that most people these days are on one year contracts. Then why in god's name would anyone, thinking rationally and from the head accept the lesser offer. That footballers may be overpaid these days, does not alter the fact that Levi has the opportunity in accepting what is tantamount to a wonderful financial free kick, if he accepts the offer from the Pies. In all probability he will never ever again get the opportunity to earn the equivalent of that sort of dough for the rest of his life.

I'd have him back in a heartbeat. Those of you burning all bridges, imagine that none of these negotiations were public? And after all of this crap (that none of us knew about) Levi re-signed.

Everyone would be happy and no one would know.

Now how often do you think that DOES happen? Guarantee this has happened with some of our favs.

So let's cut the guy some slack.

No, I don't think id be happy. Unless he was particularly stoic, couldn't see him resigning with us for less than the collingwood offer. Yes he's a good player, but on that coin we have a few others that play a similar role only better. Let's not lose sight of the fact his standing in the syd barker was somewhat inflated by injuries to other key players. He knows that, so does the club. If its about money well done Levi, hope we get something decent from the pies. Otherwise happy for him to stay and accept norths offer as many have and continue to do over the years,

And I will add to that, the majority of people who are entering retirement these days, are still relying heavily on the Age Pension as the primary source of retirement income and for some their only source of retirement income.

In this year's federal budget the government introduced a range of tough measures, which will over time reduce the level of Age pension benefits that people will receive in retirement. It is not good news for many retirees and many others who are facing the prospect of retirement in the years ahead. You need to make every post a winner and while clearly the last thing on the minds of young footballers is how they will fund their retirement in 50 or so years time, anything they do now will better place them when those years elapse.

And I will add to that, the majority of people who are entering retirement these days, are still relying heavily on the Age Pension as the primary source of retirement income and for some their only source of retirement income.

In this year's federal budget the government introduced a range of tough measures, which will over time reduce the level of Age pension benefits that people will receive in retirement. It is not good news for many retirees and many others who are facing the prospect of retirement in the years ahead. You need to make every post a winner and while clearly the last thing on the minds of young footballers is how they will fund their retirement in 50 or so years time, anything they do now will better place them when those years elapse.
You aren't a financial planner for CBA by any chance are you?

As our song starts "Hearts to Hearts"
He's shown where his heart lies and its not with North.........Nick off and go elsewhere...:mad:
Maybe he was inspired by hertiers departing speech, and collingwoods values of "side by side",,,,delivered by such a great departing orator perhaps Levi somehow was led to believe that side by side is better than hearts to hearts. Sadly misguided.

I'm serious.

For me at the end of the day it is about NMFC.

TBH I don't want a draft pick, the chance of getting a player at 25 or whatever the hell it is touted as being is probably ok, I trust our recruiting blokes to get one.

The chances of getting a player at that pick that could slot in and make a difference in the next 2 years, the 2 years we are and have been priming for what are the odds on that?? very low to extremely low?
I'm personally for a draft pick. Reckon comp for a starting 22 spot already v hot, and need room to pay cunners, Ats, ziebell, lmac, brown etc etc, their dues in future. Best available talent at draft ship em in.

You aren't a financial planner for CBA by any chance are you?

Heaven forbid. The people who work for the CBA were not even in nappies when I started out and unfortunately for many of the people who have chosen to seek advice from them and similar institutions, those planners would appear to provide advice as though they were still in nappies.

Unfortunately those types give the industry a bad name.

Mate, as far as I am concerned, this is not an argument about whether or not players are paid too much; it is about the potential difference in gross terms between the two offers.

Please do not try to tell me that:

(a) if you had to advise someone as to which offer to take out of one that is offering that person potentially an extra $750000 in gross terms, you would advise that person to take the lesser offer; and

(b) if you were that someone in the position of having to accept either of those two offers that you would take the lesser offer.

You have yourself said that most people these days are on one year contracts. Then why in god's name would anyone, thinking rationally and from the head accept the lesser offer. That footballers may be overpaid these days, does not alter the fact that Levi has the opportunity in accepting what is tantamount to a wonderful financial free kick, if he accepts the offer from the Pies. In all probability he will never ever again get the opportunity to earn the equivalent of that sort of dough for the rest of his life.
Yeah but that's purely financial. By law even a financial advisor supposedly has to consider their client's objectives. If the clients objectives are somewhere along the lines of "to play in a successful team", "to win a premiership", "to play with my mates", "to earn good coin" etc.....then objectives need to be prioritized, and client advice should be made on the basis of meeting clients needs. Consider for example the number of players coming out with some form of mental illness, depression etc. moving them from a supportive environment, where they are happy playing with mates to one in which they feel pressured to perform as a big recruit should be criminally negligent for managers. Not saying that's the case with Levi but the best bit of career advice anyone could possibly give is do what you enjoy.

Past #24: Levi Greenwood - officially traded to Collingwood FC for pick 25 (2014) - retires rd16 2021 due to concussion symptoms - go well Pig