Past #26: Ben McKinley - acquired for pick 86 in trade with WC - delisted at end of 2012 season

It's hard enough taking the step up from VFL to AFL standard at a new club without having dero 'supporters' mouthing off all game.

Shame on you to be honest.

I agree, but let's not derail the thread. We have just witnessed one of the worst games ever played in a North Melbourne jumper.

Marstermind might have a record of a worse one. I don't recall it off the top.

Looked out of his depth, not up to the pace of the game. Looks like he's just another of those blokes too good for VFL but not good enough for AFL and stuck in no mans land.

was he played in his natural position?? No!! which brings me to my question why was he selected in the 1st place. I think selection commitee outsmarted themselves on this one. McKinley´s isn´t to blame here move on.

It's hard enough taking the step up from VFL to AFL standard at a new club without having dero 'supporters' mouthing off all game.

Shame on you to be honest.

Don't call me a ****ing dero mate. I'm entitled to say what ever I want at the footy.

I'll preface this by saying that I only saw the final quarter, but his first three must have been something to behold for crapness.

How the bloke was supposed to get a kick in the final term with 32 players inside the forward 50 and the ball being continually bombed in is beyond me.

Is not what we need as a half forward and does not fit unless Edwards is out. I will be surprised if we see him play seniors again.

All you McKinley bagger's pull your heads it.

He has only played 2 games, yes not great games but some of the stuff on like worst games ever played by a player is utter BS.

Give the guy a break, I'm sure there is plenty of other players who havent done much in their first 2 games for a club.

ES

watched him fairly closely at the game.....borderline witches hat.

One thing really took me over the edge in the last quarter though. St Kilda were flooding our backline and we needed to get it in quickly. We got a free on the forward flank/wing (i think for out on the full) and i swear he deliberately threw the ball to the boundary line fence, then slowly picked it up and threw it metres away from the North player with the kick. By which time the forward line was chockers and St Kilda got the defensive mark.

That one small 10sec piece was enough for me. 10pts down and North making a push towards leading and then that. Someone on this thread said he was a smart guy???

Useless all day and then cant even help out his team when it matters most. Not to play again for North.

was he played in his natural position?? No!! which brings me to my question why was he selected in the 1st place. I think selection commitee outsmarted themselves on this one. McKinley´s isn´t to blame here move on.
He was brought in as a forward to kick goals. He played forward but got nowhere near it. That play where he attempted to mark the ball on his chest while standing stationary, with the defender closing in and fisting it away, was woeful. That is not the decision of a bloke who is up to AFL football.

All you McKinley bagger's pull your heads it.

He has only played 2 games, yes not great games but some of the stuff on like worst games ever played by a player is utter BS.

Give the guy a break, I'm sure there is plenty of other players who havent done much in their first 2 games for a club.

ES
Irrelevant that it's his second game for our club. He was on the Eagles list for 6 years but doesn't seem to be up to AFL standard with his decision making. In hindsight it's looking like we got ripped off in that trade!

Don't call me a ****ing dero mate. I'm entitled to say what ever I want at the footy.

OK gutless dero as I bet you wouldn't repeat your abuse to his face. Going to the footy doesn't give you the right to descend to the level of dumb beasts (or Essendon supporters).

Back on topic he played an absolute shocker and I never want to see him play for North Melbourne again; unfortunately he's just not up to it.

Irrelevant that it's his second game for our club. He was on the Eagles list for 6 years but doesn't seem to be up to AFL standard with his decision making. In hindsight it's looking like we got ripped off in that trade!
We gave them pick 7000 and they didn't even use it from memory.

Wrong game to bring McKinley into IMO.
Two teams fighting it out for a finals spot and we threw him into a high pressure high stakes game?
His first attempt at a mark looked ordinary and lazy.
Then when he beat the zone managed to **** it up.
I dont think he commincates or uses his voice which would make him as useless as any one of us so if its in between the ears or not he was bad selection in the first place but AFL is a ruthless game and business. Your one or two chances might be the only ones and Ben knows he should makes the most of em. He hasnt so i guess hes surplus to our needs.

F*ck off idiot. Pick 79 is worth 2 cheeseburgers and a bag of soggy fries.

I'd be way more concerned about wasting number 4 pick.

what?

personally i think McKinley can only play if Edwards/Pederson are out of the team. obviously, both those players are going much better than Ben is so his only chance would be if they got injured.

his chasing/pressure was always going to be exposed in a game like today.

i think his only real role is a stay at home FF and that position is just about extinct these days.

he's going to have to redefine himself in order to save his career. sadly i dont quite think he has the agility/fitness to become a midfielder at AFL level, he also tends to get a bit lost at times.

hope he gets his shit together, he can be great when it's all going for him.

Past #26: Ben McKinley - acquired for pick 86 in trade with WC - delisted at end of 2012 season