Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - 18 week suspension confirmed; ineligible to play in '24 season; NMFC has officially sacked Tarryn.

What a waste.

No winners here, not the victims, not North and supporters and not TT.

Prodigious talent but he doesn't deserve to play footy again, he had more than enough chances.

But the only things we should see from tarryn are him helping communities and playing lower leagues

If he wants a way back in it is not an unknown pathway.

1) stop doing the stupid shit that got you where you are
2) Rehabilitate your image by doing charitable shit that you are not paid for (for him this would probably need to be centred around behind the scenes stuff for women's shelter type places)
3) play at lower leagues while doing step 2. I mean really be committed at that level. Make your team mates better regardless of the disparity in talent that there would be.
4) complete the above for a significant amount of time relative to the reason you were released in the first place.

It is a pretty generic redemption type arch and completely achievable if he has the capability and desire to actually do the work.

There is nothing to really indicate that he has a desire to do anything other than lip service to the idea that he wants back in.

Its the main thing holding him back, maybe I'm being too readily to accept his change 🤷‍♂️...

But completely agree

no matter what, I hope the club sends him a photo of the guys holding the premiership cup when it happens

Maybe it’s just me but after actually losing his job and all, it has actually sunk in what it cost…
But the only things we should see from tarryn are him helping communities and playing lower leagues
I hope so. It is never too late to become a better person, and that should be his aim, rather than getting back into professional footy.

What a waste.

No winners here, not the victims, not North and supporters and not TT.

Prodigious talent but he doesn't deserve to play footy again, he had more than enough chances.
Spot on. There are no winners. He's given away the right to play AFL football. A few screw ups and then another after he'd been suspended. This guy needs to get his life in order before contemplating any level of a football career.

So do a lot of the other blokes on lists.

Read: Clayton Oliver.

The entire WC midfield of the early 2000’s.

If you’re good enough, they’re overlooked rightly or wrongly.
Yes your right, but times have changed dramatically in the last few years, behaviour against women has really been put out their as well as other things, one only has to look at Melbourne's Joel Smith, a few years ago would have got one more chance and then maybe a 6 to 12 month ban, now not covered up and his career is over with a 4 year and 3 month ban. The spotlight have been directed at AFL headquarters and they want to be seen as doing everything in their power to helping the game/players and teams clean up their act.

Nah the Joel Smith one is totally different. He was mainly ****ed by the positive match day drug test that left him open to the ban of up to 4 years.

The mountain of evidence around the drug use all but guaranteed ASADA would look to give him the max punishment.

I reckon his only shot at redemption is trying to convince us to give him another go.
The AFLW team are about to win the GF. Who do you think are more important to the clubs future - some loser that can't get his life together or an entire team of powerful women? Please. His time is done at NMFC.

Supporter backlash will most likely see him not recruited. Shame as a brilliant footballer when he put his mind to it.

I’d argue that his inability to make meaningful change in behaviour will be the biggest hurdle.

Even in say 2026 you just wouldn't trust him to go through the whole pre-season without f***ing around.
And then the moment he stuffs up he's embarrassed the club and himself again and out he goes.

He's finished in the AFL.

Okay, so this may or may not come as a surprise for many, but I just about dropped my drink when I saw taryn on one of my in laws Instagram page. I have blocked out the name, but, tarryn has just beat his charges and is training in SYDNEY looking for a new club. PM me is fine, but not saying anymore on this public forum. Could be something, could be nothing.

Attachments

• IMG_7414.jpg
    IMG_7414.jpg
    246.2 KB · Views: 154
Can't see a Melbourne team picking him after the backlash to St Kilda and Essendon rumors but I can believe a team out of Melbourne would. Probably a fair bit less blowback out of the footy bubble down here.
Easily NSW or QLD, certainly not an AFL majority state
Okay, so this may or may not come as a surprise for many, but I just about dropped my drink when I saw taryn on one of my in laws Instagram page. I have blocked out the name, but, tarryn has just beat his charges and is training in SYDNEY looking for a new club. PM me is fine, but not saying anymore on this public forum. Could be something, could be nothing.
Wouldn’t be too concerned, doubt a AFL team will pick him before 2026, VFL/NSW team would be suitable
Even think he’s a chance to crossing over to League

Can't see a Melbourne team picking him after the backlash to St Kilda and Essendon rumors but I can believe a team out of Melbourne would. Probably a fair bit less blowback out of the footy bubble down here.
Maybe Bris with the Fagan / Tassie connection.

Although I'm not sure Fages would be keen on his character.

Perhaps if Tarryn can manage to keep his nose clean for the next few years, Tassie might be willing to offer him a rookie spot and the opportunity of a redemption arc.
TT’s chance to redeem himself should only be off the field. No more abusing women, treat them with respect and just try and be a decent human being. If he does that, then than can be his redemption in life.

He has been given numerous opportunities, and abused them time and time again. Another AFL contract sends the wrong message to other players who want to head down his path. A shocking waste of talent to his team and himself.

Perhaps if Tarryn can manage to keep his nose clean for the next few years, Tassie might be willing to offer him a rookie spot and the opportunity of a redemption arc.
I think the window is almost closed.

Let's say he sorts out his alleged character values and becomes a non-factor on that front. His PR has been cleaned up and a new club takes him on unencumbered.

You still have him at best at best reentering the system at 26yo with no full AFL preseason for at least 2 years and no full AFL in-season conditioning for almost 3 years.

Throw in his lifestyle leanings towards socials over sprints and remember this guy ain't exactly Shane Crawford or Brent Harvey in his own time and you have a player who'll probably need 12 dedicated months in the system just to get up to par.

It's not impossible and he can get away with lower end of spectrum AFL conditioning because of his high talent, but odds are against it imo.

The AFL knocked him playing in the AFL next year on the head after a couple of clubs seemed interested a while back. He’ll have to play local footy, maybe state level is a chance, but I doubt it.

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - 18 week suspension confirmed; ineligible to play in '24 season; NMFC has officially sacked Tarryn.