Past #26: Tarryn Thomas - Roo until end '24

I did wonder if he got a head knock, or the wind knocked out of him, or something else happened during the prolonged tussle with a Richmond player (Cotchin?) that was noted on the broadcast a few minutes prior to half time.

He has no issue standing up to physicality usually. Maybe it being a bit more of a team targeting thing was an issue, so it was more prolonged and from unexpected angles at time. Not sure it was really that much of an issue in retrospect after checking the stats, he still had 22 disposals and 4 tackles which is fine. More than fine, really, though he was noticeably down in terms of offensive effectiveness.

An absolute joy to see what a player he has grown into this year. We would have been jizzing our pants if he had Saturday's statline in any of the games in previous years or the first 6 weeks of this season.

How good is it to have someone who just cuts the opposition to shreds with ball in hand.

What a joy.

Some good news on our rebuild . One of my sons who is almost 20 and hasn’t seen a lot of North success said and I “quote he is one of the best players I have seen” . I like this . Maybe Tarryn will be our marquee player . Although I keep saying I reckon we are going to have a number sprinkled throughout the team in the upcoming yrs .

Jaidyn Stephenson, Tarryn Thomas and Luke Davies-Uniacke have been recognised for their brilliant individual campaigns this season, with all three being nominated for the AFLPA’s 22under22 squad.

After an injury-interrupted 2020 where he only played six games, Thomas has taken his game to another level this season and, like Stephenson, has been nominated for both the midfield and forward categories.

Playing 19 games so far this season, he’s averaged 17.8 disposals, 3.3 tackles, 2,7 clearances and 1.2 goals per game, increasing his inside midfield time as the season has progressed.

He kicked a career-high 4 goals against the Blues in Round 17 and has more consistency to his game in 2021.

CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR TARRYN

This clipping is from the August 14 issue of The Herald Sun Digital Edition. To subscribe, visit https://www.heraldsun.com.au/.

ON THE BOIL
Herald Sun - Saturday, 14 Aug 2021 - Page 72

Tarryn Thomas’s early career form is whetting the appetite of North Melbourne fans

DON’T ever expect to see Tarryn Thomas on MasterChef.

The Kangaroos’ rising star is cooking up a promising football career, but admits that off the field he still relies a bit too much on Port Melbourne’s eateries.

Under Aaron Hall’s and his partner Sophia’s tutelage, Thomas’ kitchen skills have diversified beyond twominute noodles, especially since he moved out of the veteran Roo’s home in November.

McDonald’s is now just an occasional post-match treat rather than a often-consumed guilty sin.

The arrow is trending up in all areas for Thomas, a key piece of North Melbourne’s suddenly bright present and future.

He arrived at Arden St from Tasmania familiar with the Kangaroos as one of their Next Generation Academy crop, but still with plenty to learn as a prodigiously talented but raw 18-year-old .

Enter Hall and his family. Changing Thomas’ eating habits was a priority.

“I’ve matured heaps, especially from living with Hally,” Thomas said.

“I was pretty bad growing up with what I ate – Maccas and all that stuff. I still have it sometimes, but that’s after the game.

“I’ve learnt a lot about what to eat, what carbs to eat and just how to prepare for games and be professional, in that sense.”

Being a prominent member of the so-called “Super Draft” in 2018 and hailed as a top prospect years beforehand meant expectations were, and are, sky high on Thomas.

He is widely considered the most promising of a talent-rich group of North Melbourne young guns that includes Luke Davies-Uniacke , Jaidyn Stephenson, Jy Simpkin, Nick Larkey and Will Phillips.

The graceful Thomas was the No.8 pick in his draft, after Adelaide unsuccessfully placed a bid on him.

Carlton midfielder Sam Walsh was dux of that class, the towering King twins – Max and Ben – were up there too, and hard-running Western Bulldog Bailey Smith also went in the top

Each of those players has taken a significant step this season, with Thomas’s 23 disposals and four goals in an upset win over the Blues a few weeks ago his finest performance yet.

“It’s good to be a part of that, but I don’t know if it was a super draft,” Thomas said with a laugh.

“No one really cares if you’re No.1 or 10 (pick) – you come to the club and just do your job for the team.”

The early glimpses from Thomas that tantalised observers and convinced them he was a star-in-themaking failed to sate his own appetite.

He wanted to win over those most important to him: his teammates and coaches.

“I always knew I belonged but I didn’t fully believe in myself and I didn’t think my teammates believed in me,” Thomas said.

“I was just getting 10 to 12 touches a game and not doing as much as I wanted, so I was still helping my teammates, but wasn’t ‘there, there’ .

“I wanted to get more out of myself, give more to my teammates and play more in the midfield, where there are more eyes on me.”

An ankle syndesmosis injury

suffered in round 6 last year that required surgery and prematurely ended his second season didn’t help that cause.

Thomas was still recovering this past pre-season , so he took time to get going.

Since receiving limited on-ball minutes in the first six rounds, new coach David Noble – Thomas’ third mentor in as many seasons – has released the shackles and made him a significant part of North’s midfield.

“It’s probably taken him the first half of the year just for us to push him along, in regards to (the required) level of intensity and workrate,” Noble said.

“We’ve given him the opportunity to come in and learn the midfield craft, and there’s no one better to learn from than Ben (Cunnington) and Jy, who have taken him under their wing.

“The other aspect is he’s still quite a dangerous forward … we’ve been extremely pleased with what he’s done.”

Three of the Kangaroos’ four wins this season, plus a draw, have come in the past two months, transforming the external view of the club’s rebuild.

That increased competitiveness hasn’t been lost on Thomas, whose contract expires next year.

The 21-year-old plans to recommit long before that happens and is optimistic about where North is heading.

“I’m proud of the boys; seeing where we’ve come from the start of pre-season to where we are now,” Thomas said.

“We want to be up there with the finals teams and the top-four sides. We’re playing good footy against them, so I’m excited and keen for what the future holds.”

marc.mcgowan@news.com.au

Copyright © 2021 News Pty Limited

1628891180118.png

Sent from my iPad

This clipping is from the August 14 issue of The Herald Sun Digital Edition. To subscribe, visit https://www.heraldsun.com.au/.

ON THE BOIL

Tarryn Thomas’s early career form is whetting the appetite of North Melbourne fans

The Kangaroos’ rising star is cooking up a promising football career, but admits that off the field he still relies a bit too much on Port Melbourne’s eateries.

Under Aaron Hall’s and his partner Sophia’s tutelage, Thomas’ kitchen skills have diversified beyond twominute noodles, especially since he moved out of the veteran Roo’s home in November.

McDonald’s is now just an occasional post-match treat rather than a often-consumed guilty sin.

The arrow is trending up in all areas for Thomas, a key piece of North Melbourne’s suddenly bright present and future.

He arrived at Arden St from Tasmania familiar with the Kangaroos as one of their Next Generation Academy crop, but still with plenty to learn as a prodigiously talented but raw 18-year-old .

“I was pretty bad growing up with what I ate – Maccas and all that stuff. I still have it sometimes, but that’s after the game.

“I’ve learnt a lot about what to eat, what carbs to eat and just how to prepare for games and be professional, in that sense.”

Being a prominent member of the so-called “Super Draft” in 2018 and hailed as a top prospect years beforehand meant expectations were, and are, sky high on Thomas.

He is widely considered the most promising of a talent-rich group of North Melbourne young guns that includes Luke Davies-Uniacke , Jaidyn Stephenson, Jy Simpkin, Nick Larkey and Will Phillips.

The graceful Thomas was the No.8 pick in his draft, after Adelaide unsuccessfully placed a bid on him.

Carlton midfielder Sam Walsh was dux of that class, the towering King twins – Max and Ben – were up there too, and hard-running Western Bulldog Bailey Smith also went in the top

Each of those players has taken a significant step this season, with Thomas’s 23 disposals and four goals in an upset win over the Blues a few weeks ago his finest performance yet.

“It’s good to be a part of that, but I don’t know if it was a super draft,” Thomas said with a laugh.

“No one really cares if you’re No.1 or 10 (pick) – you come to the club and just do your job for the team.”

The early glimpses from Thomas that tantalised observers and convinced them he was a star-in-themaking failed to sate his own appetite.

“I always knew I belonged but I didn’t fully believe in myself and I didn’t think my teammates believed in me,” Thomas said.

“I was just getting 10 to 12 touches a game and not doing as much as I wanted, so I was still helping my teammates, but wasn’t ‘there, there’ .

“I wanted to get more out of myself, give more to my teammates and play more in the midfield, where there are more eyes on me.”

suffered in round 6 last year that required surgery and prematurely ended his second season didn’t help that cause.

Thomas was still recovering this past pre-season , so he took time to get going.

Since receiving limited on-ball minutes in the first six rounds, new coach David Noble – Thomas’ third mentor in as many seasons – has released the shackles and made him a significant part of North’s midfield.

“It’s probably taken him the first half of the year just for us to push him along, in regards to (the required) level of intensity and workrate,” Noble said.

“We’ve given him the opportunity to come in and learn the midfield craft, and there’s no one better to learn from than Ben (Cunnington) and Jy, who have taken him under their wing.

“The other aspect is he’s still quite a dangerous forward … we’ve been extremely pleased with what he’s done.”

Three of the Kangaroos’ four wins this season, plus a draw, have come in the past two months, transforming the external view of the club’s rebuild.

That increased competitiveness hasn’t been lost on Thomas, whose contract expires next year.

The 21-year-old plans to recommit long before that happens and is optimistic about where North is heading.

“I’m proud of the boys; seeing where we’ve come from the start of pre-season to where we are now,” Thomas said.

“We want to be up there with the finals teams and the top-four sides. We’re playing good footy against them, so I’m excited and keen for what the future holds.”

marc.mcgowan@news.com.au

View attachment 1205340

Sent from my iPad
I understand the maccas pain. Cutting fast food out is hard.

ON THE BOIL

marc.mcgowan@news.com.au

View attachment 1205340

Sent from my iPad

People should not underestimate the impact that the Hall family has had on TT's on and off field growth. They're a beautiful family and wonderful people.

The last two weeks have probably shown more than the Carlton game. He's been tagged and targeted physically both weeks (without Cunnington), yet has still returned 40 touches and a goal. Importantly, he's not starting hot and fading as he has done previously, but he is working through games - last night his third quarter was really special after not getting near it for the first half.

Once he has played another 30-40 games in the middle it's going to be a scary prospect.

giphy.gif

Averaged 18 disposals 2.7 clearances and a goal this season. If you take into account those numbers are somewhat skewed due to the early part of the year where we played him primarily in the HF black hole those are fantastic numbers for a 3rd year player. Kid is going to be a freak in a few years time.